Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2

The Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 is a Summer Trackday and Competition tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2
79%[average]
Dry Grip
97%
Wet Grip
61%
Road Feedback
92%
Progressiveness
92%
Wear
57%
Comfort
72%
Buy Again
81%

Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Reviews

92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Track for 500 Spirited miles

Mazda RX8

Bought these Michelin Pilot Sport Cup2 tyres after reading and watching several very positive reviews. Used these on my road legal track day toy (Mazda RX8). On dry roads, these offer excellent control and feedback, very similar to other UHP tyres I have had. Not driven with these in the wet (and not planning to!), but I would expect them to struggle in the rain, given the tread pattern and depth. On track, these are truly excellent. I ran a same-day direct comparison with Goodyear Eagle F1 Supersports and the Cup2s provided a small but noticeable improvement in grip and felt very sure-footed and confidence inspiring. Highly recommended, especially for on-track.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards)

I put Cup 2 on my Mazda MX-5 ND (2017), I already had coilovers and sway bar upgraded (also power upgrade to about 190hp and brake of course), until now I drove on Michelin Pilot Sport 4 which have great grip in the dry and wet also in compare to stock Bridgestone tires (S001 really do not recommend them!), they was just little "spongy" in terms of precise of steering (they have very soft sidewalls) but they are still great tires and I like it, but with Cup 2 it's on another lvl! Steering is very tight, precise, very stable at high speeds in compare to Pilot Sport 4 also grip, absolutely amazing on my upgraded suspension, car is fast as f*ck! :D I can push it really really hard, I mostly drive on back roads (I have them a lot around with minimum of traffic so I can push it) Absolutely fullfill my curent setup what I want from car. They need some warm up in at beginning but nothing terrible, I drove them only in dry, I rarely drive in the wet (I love that car and had it just for my pleasure) so I can't tell anything about wet driving.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Track for 8,000 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo 156 GTA (with Q2)

Drove it on 3 different tracks during 2019, including Nurburgring and Spa, in all kinds of conditions.
Impressive grip in the dry, very good resistance to overheating and completely linear performance in the wet.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Average miles

Nissan GT R

Phenominal grip ,
The gtr is a heavy motor but the cup sport 2 makes it feel a lot lighter and agile
Poke it into a bend and its in and out no problem, wet however , standing water on motorways lends it to be a bit twitchy
Read the weather before you push it to hard in the wet and you will be fine, will encourage slower driving in the wet which is not a bad thing

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
49%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,500 Average miles

Ford Falcon XR6 Ute

Pricey and really not worth the money.

6 months and 20,000 kilometres and they are finished.

Interesting I had equal wear over all 4 tires without rotation. Not so sure footed in the wet or in cold weather. Noisey, actually very noisy tires especially when wearing low to 4mm down to 2mm tree depth.

10% increase in fuel consumption driving the same roads I have driven, same vehicle with previous tires that lasted 45,000 kilometres. No real sense of better anything really

Now changed to Bridgestone RE003

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 10,000 Average miles

Audi S3

I crashed my car because it aquaplaning

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,500 Spirited miles

Renault Megane RS250 CUP

In the dry probably the best tyre I have ever had, but for maximum grip it needs to be hot. Have them on Megane rs250 in 235/35/19 and 235/40/18. On wet drive normally and no problems. Be aware of aquaplaning.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 4,800 Spirited miles

BMW M3

The most balanced extreme performance tyre!
Tyre feedback is the best amongst these extreme performance tyres.
Dry performance is very good with not bad wet handling.
Wear on these tyres are insane.....you expect it to last only for around 12000km or a year.....and it's not cheap

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 4,800 Spirited miles

BMW M3

Der ausgeglichenste Extremleistungsreifen!
Das Reifenfeedback ist das Beste unter diesen Extremleistungsreifen.
Die Trockenleistung ist sehr gut mit nicht schlechtem Nasshandling.
Tragen Sie auf diesen Reifen sind verrückt ..... Sie erwarten, dass es nur für rund 12000km oder ein Jahr dauert ..... und es ist nicht billig

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 4,800 Spirited miles

BMW M3

Le pneu extrême performance le plus équilibré!
Le retour des pneus est le meilleur parmi ces pneus de performance extrême.
La performance à sec est très bonne avec une manipulation sans mauvaise manipulation.
L'usure de ces pneus est folle ..... on s'attend à ce qu'elle ne dure que 12 000 km ou un an ... et ce n'est pas bon marché

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.