Bridgestone Potenza RE050A

The Bridgestone Potenza RE050A is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Bridgestone Potenza RE050A
69%[average]
Dry Grip
83%
Wet Grip
70%
Road Feedback
75%
Progressiveness
72%
Wear
66%
Comfort
60%
Buy Again
58%

Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Reviews

83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 40,000 Spirited miles

MG ZS

Driven for more than 5 years all i can say is one of the best sport summer tire u can fit
Dry/wet almost same grip very high limits and handling specially when they are pushed on the limit
A bit hard compound but its a performance tire not comfy for everyday use.
They lasted about 35000-40k with good grip,last 10k a bit more slippery but ok
Would buy them again if not so expensive ..

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-V
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 21,700 Spirited miles

Nissan 370Z

Tyres came as standard on my car. Done about 35k before it got replaced with Michelin PS2, which is quite good for performance tyres, in fact they were the longest lasting set for the car. Dry grip was there but I found I had to drive it hard to extract the grip from these tyres. In wet, these tyres were terrible when compared to other like PS2, PSS and V105 tyres I had, there was no confidence in cornering in wet and often ended in massive understeer. The RE050A were quiet though, they were less harsh than the Michelins I had probably because the Michelins had 98 and 100 loadings instead of the bridgestone's 96. They were not cheap hence I would recommend other tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-35-19-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

Subaru Levorg 1.6 gt s

Comes standard with the car and provide superb feel and handling in both dry and wet. Tire is harsh and transmit all bumps and road irregularity into the cabin, likely due to the low profile ratio. Tire wears off very fast, and less than 10K km it is at 50% or less.

LIkely buy again, as the tires matches the car performance - almost no drama (read: boring) drive across mountainous winding road... no screeching, no sign of losing grip...

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-V
33%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 1
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

BMW Z4 35i

I purchased a BMW Z4 from a family relative and it was fitted with the Bridgestone Potenza RA050A run flats. The first thing I noticed was the disturbing tendency to tram line, the car was constantly fidgeting on the road. The second issue was very serious, the car would effectively slalom when pulling in after an overtake. It was terrifying! The Potenza’s fitted to the rear were new (1400 miles use) on the front they were worn with the front offside down to the legal limit.
I took the decision to fit Goodyear F1 Asymmetric 5 tyres all round and at the same time I had a 4 wheel alignment performed. Whilst some settings were out of spec the maximum was 0.21 degrees too little camber on the left rear tyre so I don’t think this had any impact on the handling.
The car on F1s has, quite simply, transformed. It is calming, smooth and predictable. One Z4 owner described the fitting of Bridgestone Potenza RA050A tyres to that chassis as ‘treachery’, I now agree.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 28,000 Spirited miles

Opel insignia

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-R
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 28,000 Spirited miles

Audi 3.2 v6 Quattro

I've had those on my Audi quattro and they put a smile on my face every time , the Grip is impressive on both surfaces wet and dry , they are really good until they worn out and it happened so quick , it's worth to mention I'm an aggressive driver and I live in U.A.E where it's mostly sunny .
I've done about 44000 km on them and then I had to replace them and I did it with a cheaper set of Chinese tires the difference was distinctly clear and I felt like I lost some of my car bhp due to the huge gap in the grip between both .Conclusion : if you are looking for performance regardless of money and comfort then go for them otherwise you should probably think of something else.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 53,000 Average miles

Opel insegnia

i had it oem on my insegnia 2014 , made 85000km and can do more maybe 120000km as my tread still around 6mm depth ..it was great for the first 20k then it became noisy and lost grip .. i wanted to change it but some way i didn`t .. after about 40k dry grip and handling improved and noise became some what less .. wet grip is not what i expected as it has gone early about 20k .. but for me it was not a problem i live in a hot country .. it was not great tyre but it was doing suffecient enough not to replace it , but now after 85k ... i just sais enough.
for buying decision there is better choice for less money as mechline primacy4 or continental sportcontact 5.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz E Class

I have put these on now a second time as I liked them enough to do so.
Very robust tyres, wear evenly and in the dry give confidence especially under heavy braking. Also, I've gone over some very bad roads and some of these roads had huge potholes and these never punctured.
Good pattern for water displacement but I would say the grip levels in the wet aren't what you might get from a uniroyal.
Noise levels reduced with the re050 compared to a budget tyre fitted by previous owner.
My car is quite heavy, not that powerful and has sport suspension and I have to try quite hard to break traction in the dry.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-40-18-
54%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 2
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Average miles

Vauxhall Insignia 1.4T

Had these on several cars, seem to be an OEM favourite, but they are terrible tyres.

Grip is 'adequate' in the dry, and 'adequate' in the wet, but no better, and to be fair they last for absolutely ages. But that's at the expense of utterly appalling ride comfort (it's like driving on the rims, they have absolutely no give whatsoever and send jarring through the cabin on anything other than billiard-table-smooth roads). They last forever because they must have the hardest compound ever used in a road tyre. If longevity is foremost in your mind, more so than safety, comfort and noise, then this is your tyre!

They are unbearably noisy, easily the noisiest tyres I've ever had the misfortune to be stuck with. Replacing them cut in-cabin noise considerably.

Delighted to get rid of them, in the end replaced rears as well despite 3-4mm left as I just couldn't live with it anymore. Jarring, exhausting, painful ownership experience, never to be repeated.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-W
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 30,000 Average miles

Opel insignia

Bon pneu sur route sèche et mouillée. Un peu moins bon sur le mouillé en fin de vie (45.000 km). Utilisés sur une Opel Insignia Sports Tourer (break), voiture lourde (1700 kg) et avec des pressions très élevées (2,7 à l’AV et 2,9 à l’AR).
Flan assez rigide et bon comportement en courbe, notamment après le changement des jantes d’origine (8x18) par des jantes plus légères et plus larges (9x18), moins de torsion du pneu grace à un meilleur maintien de celui-ci.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.