Yokohama S Drive

The Yokohama S Drive is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Yokohama S Drive
73%[average]
Dry Grip
83%
Wet Grip
69%
Road Feedback
75%
Progressiveness
76%
Wear
71%
Comfort
68%
Buy Again
68%

Yokohama S Drive Reviews

83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 45,000 Average miles

MG MGF VVC

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Suzuki swift sport

When I purchased my 2014 Swift Sport it had mismatched tyres front and rear (Falken on the front and Continentals on the rear) and in the summer months it felt OK, but quickly began to feel a bit too unsure in the wetter months. In early 2018 I changed to the S.Drives all round and quickly noticed an improvement in the handling, particularly in front end bite. With an electric steering set-up the car isn't exactly buzzing with feedback, but you felt the confidence to lean more on the fronts during turn-in. Rear end stability is much improved, and now it's only really standing water or uneven surfaces that cause the back to skip slightly. Even so, when it does, the S.Drive feels a really progressive tyre. Wear appears to be pretty good, the last 2,000 miles has seen a change in commute to a couple of B roads and I do lean on the car quite a bit. So to see decent tread depth still and little sign of edge wearing is a positive. Overall, I'd definitely buy these again rather than pay more for the Continental option.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-45-17-W
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Jetta Mk5 Gli 2.0T Tsi stage 2

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 60 Average miles

Honda EK4 1.6 Vti

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-V
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 7,000 Spirited miles

Ford Focus Zetec

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-16-
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 1,000 Average miles

Citroën C4

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
72%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 0
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Average miles

Toyota Starlet 1996

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 185-55-14-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Polo Sedan 1.6

The tyres are amazing they feel just too good to drive one the provide very
Good safety at high speeds and good driving comfort too just that they
Don't Las as long but yet best bug have been using them on all my vehicles
Since years

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-15-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 20,000 Average miles

Subaru MY01 Impreza WRX Wagon

25000 miles at my Impreza WRX Wagon.

Replace by hardcore Advan AD08s due to budget as a better alternative as S-Drives are not so harsh to my ride. 25000 miles or two and half years of usage with about half tread depth of around 5mm.

Sidewall not as hard as AD08 for sure, so it is the ultimate dry grip, It is a little bit overpriced in Hong Kong, despite the fact that S-Drive made in Japan.

To moderator, may I hereby advise to re-classify S-Drive to High Performance / Ultra High Performance Summer Tyres. As official Yokohama category.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
23%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 2
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 2
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz C220 Cdi Avantgarde Estate

Worse tires i've ever bought in my life. Got them suggested by the local tire dealer and couldn't regret more. Got the Goodyear Eagle F1 Assymetric 2 after them and the difference is brutal. If you want to get your heart pumping in wet weather buy them...

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.