Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance

The Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance
80%[average]
Dry Grip
87%
Wet Grip
85%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
78%
Wear
74%
Comfort
86%
Buy Again
74%

Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance Reviews (7)

83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 16,800 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi

I drive them on my Golf MK5 only during summer time. 2.5 years old now.
Drove them for 27.000km and they are down from 8mm to 5.7mm tread. I do rotate them front and back regularly.
Cons:
-the only big downside is the road noise, which isn't on the table here and I can't score it in this review. The tyres are a bit noisy, especially on rough surface, you can hear them quite well inside the cabin.

Pros:
-The grip is tricky. Most of the time is phenomenal. Grips almost like a sport tyre, especially on curvy roads. But, on a very smooth surface the wheels spin easily when I floor the car in 2nd gear. But the tyre never left me down during spirited driving, I am confident it will stick in the next corner. The grip is still here, and its the same as when they were new.
-Build. Tyre is strong. Its not easy to damage it or bend it. It looks solid. No damage what so ever. After 27.000km it is still a great tyre, with 10-30 grams weights on the balancing machine, it feels like new.
-Wear is good. Most of my driveing is slow, around town with occasional wheel spin just for fun. My driving on open roads is spirited. The wear is only average, but you get a tyre that sticks to the road, not some plastic junk that will slide out of the corner. So I think average treadware is good compromise for great grip and handling.
-Comfort is average. Not too hard, not soft. Like most summer tyres.
-Stability on rain was great, except for this one time, when I got scary aquaplaning at 90kmh for 2 seconds. Now I don't feel so safe anymore :( Maybe its because they are down to 5.7mm.
-Resistance to roll. Economy. The tyre has extremely low resistance to roll. Much much lower than the my winter tyres.
-I don't think there is a better tyre for the money. I'd buy it again. Hope they can fix the noise problem. If they do, it will be the best tyre in its class.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-H
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 12,000 Average miles

Toyota Verso 2010

Comfortable and quite tyres with very soft sidewalls. Average handling and feedback.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-60-16-
61%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Fiat 500X

The tyres came as the standard fit on my fiat 500x. The car is on a company lease so I cannot ditch them. I live in Holland where it rains a lot, the asphalt is generally very smooth and the wet grip is below par for a premium branded tyre. Generally a mediocre tyre really if you were to buy them from your own hard earned money. Dry grip is okay but they don't inspire much confidence in cornering.
I would buy conti or michelin. Not recommended

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-17-V
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,500 Average miles

Citro├źn c3 Picasso 1.6 diesel

got to be the best tyres, comfortable quiet plenty grip

Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-16-V
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Mazda MX5

Replaced existing Good Year Eagle F1 with these and very pleased. Ride much more comfortable and grip very good in dry and wet.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
37%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5

Horrified. As an ex police driver I was not happy with the hankook the car came with, these goodyear were recommended by the tyre fitter? As an efficient and spirited driver I am mortified by the lack of feel in cornering, combined with a jelly like feel within the entry stage of corner. I cannot afford to replace straight away (pension) but will swap them out the second I have finance.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 60,000 Easy Going miles

Mitsubishi Grandis Warrior Di D

Lasted 60.000Km on Mitsubishi Grandis. Changed for lateral wear in the end . Changed front backward.
Very low fuel consumption, noise and high confort.
Not for racing.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-17-W
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Ford Focus

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-V
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Spirited miles

Skoda Fabia 1.2

Fitted to my Skoda Fabia on the front, seemed very good tyres very grippy in the wet and dry especially traction wise. As they wore down below 3mm they started to loose grip and squeal when cornering. The biggest issue with these was despite me inflating them to the recommended 31psi, they wore heavily along the centre tread line and within 7,000 miles they were down to the limits.
Very disappointed. Have replaced with Avon ZV7 which give much more feedback on the limit than the goodyears, hopefully will last a bit longer too.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Easy Going miles

Renault Megane

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.