Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance

The Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance
80%[average]
Dry Grip
87%
Wet Grip
85%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
78%
Wear
74%
Comfort
86%
Buy Again
74%

Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance Reviews (4)

97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 37,500 Average miles

Jaguar X Type 2.0 FWD

I bought my jaguar x type with these tyres on it. it has been over 60.000km. I was looking for alternatives but now I am definitely going to buy same tyres again.

Before with other cars I tried Dunlop, Bridgestone, Syron, Continental. This one is best among all for the price.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

Skoda Octavia

At first I was pleased with the tires. They behave very well on dry and wet, for a normal / sporty ride.
After a while I felt that the side wall was softer, on the highway I feel the car floats when I pull the steering wheel to change the lane. Probably not the best configuration for 15 "wheels.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-H
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 24,981 Easy Going miles

Skoda Rapid TSI

Excellent tyres.
Faultless really, better than dunlop sport sp01 that came originally on the car. Lasted very well, got a good 25,000 miles out of my 1st set of Goodyear effecientgrip performance tyres. Replaced when they were on 3-4mm.
They are fitted on the family car, very safe, excellent wet handling and braking in all weathers. Biggest benefit is fuel savings. I get around 61mpg average on a decent run, compared to original tyres of 52mpg average.
I have replaced these tyres with a new set of the same.
£66 each fitted & balanced per tyre by Protyre, excellent value for money.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-15-T
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 18,000 Average miles

Peugeot 2008 1.6

FANTASTIC

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 19,000 Average miles

Peugeot 308 BlueHDI EAT6

I had these fitted to my 2016 Peugeot 308 and thought they were excellent. Lasted well and very little road noise. Worth paying a bit extra for.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
51%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 9,300 Easy Going miles

BMW 218d Active Tourer

I bought these tyres as replacement for Pirelli Cinturato P7 with BMW * marked. I had bad experience with the P7 blue tyres from Pirelli. (see different review). On performance the Goodyear tyres are not bad. Little soft. (not runflats). But quite stable. It comes at a cost though. Tyres have only ~3mm profile left after 15.000km (9300 miles). Amazing wear for these tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-W
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Toyota Yaris Mk2 1.33 (1NR FE)

Previously had EfficientGrip Compacts on a Mk1 Diesel Yaris, which were great. When I changed to this car (Damn you Sadiq Khan and your stupid T-Charge forcing me to get rid of the best car I've ever owned!), I found they didn't make that tyre for 15" rims and wasn't sure what to go with so went with the next closest thing.

Given these were labeled 'Performance' I expected better but so far have been disappointed compared to the Compacts; I don't know if it's because this car is lighter at the front than the old diesel Yaris or because the wider tread (185 vs 175) means it's less grippy but these tyres have performed far worse than the EfficientGrip Compacts on the previous car - They are much more prone to wheelspin when moving off aggressively on wet roads, lose grip faster under hard breaking causing the ABS to kick in, and have just been quite disappointing in general in terms of performance in the wet or dry. Cornering performance is above average - Holds surprisingly well given my other issues with it; Just don't brake or accelerate with more than a quarter turn!

Like the Compacts they are noisy as heck, although I haven't had another tyre to compare it to yet, but I've come to expect this from tyres with low noise ratings (Hint: The noise rating is for the noise to bystanders, not the driver; That noise has to go somewhere so usually tyres with low noise ratings are noiser in the cabin!!)

On the plus side they're relatively inexpensive, have lasted pretty well, and they've dealt with the endless potholes and speed humps of London without breaking my spine or rims. It's just a shame so far they've been reminiscent of the relatively poor performance I had with the Cooper CS2s on my old diesel Yaris.

Probably won't be on my list when I need new tyres, although given the rising costs of premium tyres they may get back in just because they're at the low end of the cost table!

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-15-T
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 15,000 Average miles

Honda Accord

Very quiet tyres. Even wear. Long lasting. Car feels secure under all conditions. The best tyres I've ever had (over 47 years of motoring).

Tyre size reviewed: 195-60-15-H
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 9,500 Spirited miles

Ford Focus 2.0 TDCI Titanium

I fitted these tryes to the front of the car in December last year. In the MOT in October the tyres were down to 4mm - this was in approx 9,500 miles. The wear is less than I would have hoped for in all honesty, but I have recently replaced the rears with another pair of these and rotated them round so the 4mm ones are now at the back and the new ones at the front so will see how long they last going on like this. The car produces ~400NM & 170hp

Apart from the wear aspect I cant fault these tyres, they grip well in both dry and wet, with good braking performance. I do notice that it can sometimes feel a bit "floaty" at times compared to other tyres, which is a bit of an odd sensation, but this is only in a straight line. I put it down to the low rolling resistance. When put into a corner though it feels nice and tight with a good level of feedback and knowledge on what the tyres are doing.

When cold (3c or below) and rainy the tyres can take a bit to heat up and as such suffer from low grip, but again I think most summer tyres will be the same, so not a problem.

All in all I wont change from these tyres now unless something drastic happens to them - for the money I cant fault them (£90)

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 0 Average miles

Honda Accord

Fitted to my old 2003 Honda Civic, replaced Dunlops, front tyres did 35,000 miles, rear ones had done 40,000 miles when I gave the car to my son, still with plenty of tread left, it has now done another 10,000 miles.
Also fitted (exactly the same size) to my 2002 Honda Accord. I bought the car in 2007 with under 15,000 miles on, the front tyres were Michelin, which I replaced at 45,000 with the Goodyears, the rear ones were (presumably the original) Bridgestones, replaced at 54,000 miles. Front Goodyears lasted to 88,000 miles, so did 33,000 miles. These were then replaced at 118,000 miles (uneven wear), did 30,000 miles. Rear ones replaced at 102,000 miles, so did 48,000 miles. Car has now done almost 121,000 miles.
With the Goodyear tyres, the ride is very smooth and quiet. Since I replaced the front tyres and had the tracking adjusted, it runs even more quietly and achieves better fuel consumption.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-60-15-H

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.