Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance

The Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance
80%[average]
Dry Grip
87%
Wet Grip
85%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
78%
Wear
74%
Comfort
86%
Buy Again
74%

Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance Reviews

67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf

This tyres were great before it started raining. Even at 20mph I'm losing control on roundabouts when it's damp, absolutely lethal. They're only a few months old and still have practically full tread. I've never struggled at such low speeds on damp roundabouts and turns, it's scary going to replace soon which is a shame as I've not had long and they were £100 a tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-16-
34%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 3
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 1
  • Handling 1
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 6,200 Average miles

Renault Cilo 1.2 Extreme

I have those tyres on my renault clio for almost 2 years and I would only recommend them to people that will never drive their car even on 4/10 of its potential. If you ever take a turn with even 10kmh above the "leisure driving" speed, then you'll end up with a BadYear.. I will start with the good points about this tyre: - On leisure drives they are ok and not noisy at-all (at least on the size I use) also no squeals when hot, - Pretty much great fuel consumption, i get around 6 l/100km in Athens-Greece which is a big achievement in our jungle roads, - Pretty much no tyre wear on my time with them, - On wet roads they have ok handling, they don't feel dangerous when driving below 4/10. Huge exclamation mark, all the above points apply ONLY when driving cautiously and NEVER drive spiritedly. The points I wish I knew before picking them up: - ZERO feel of how the car will react next. One moment it grips, the next it snaps. To this point contributes the no noise "good" point from above. No squeaks, no squeals, no nothing. One moment you drive a car with four wheels the next you are an ice skater without skates. - No steering feel. Take a turn at 6/10 of the car's capabilities it starts with some steering feel, progresses to feeling that you tip-toe on the sidewalls of the tyre and concludes to NoYear, i guess. - Terrible break performance on hot climates with scorching asphalt. This point doesn't even apply when you drive spiritedly. I specifically remember the nightmare having to do a completely normal stop from 15kmh in a slight downhill and the ABS engaged fully. It could be the world's slowest slight tap on front car's bumper. Very dangerous. - ZERO fun to be had. Between tip-toeing on the sidewalls and counting your RemainingYears this tyres such every bit of fun out of driving. My review comes from a 30ish person's point of view without the road racing gin in my dna. Previous tyres were 4 year old Pirelli Cinturato P1 Verde, same dimension, from a completely different dimension. Even with disintegrating sidewalls the handling and feel was leagues better. I would say those 4 year old tyres where substantially safer-feeling than the (then) brand new GoodYear EfficientNoGrip. So (atleast on my tyre size) only consider them if you will: - never drive spiritedly, - never break hard on emergencies, - never try to avoid anything in a straight line. They are perfect: - for driving in the worlds straightest line, - consuming as low fuel as possible, - enjoying jelly very much - having no regard for your own and others around you lives. In any other case, don't be me and avoid them at all cost.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 50,000 Average miles

Kia Motors ceed

First note, these tyres have been rotated 2 times. The grip and handling are great, slightly decreased on wet roads, however very stable. Those tyres wear very well, but from my experience needed a bit more pressure (0,5 bar above car manufacturer recommendation). Overall they are great tyres, better on dry roads, good levels of comfort.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
51%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 200 Average miles

Peugeot 308 BlueHDI EAT6

I found these tyres handle the road pretty well taking corners and roundabouts at reasonable speeds really well but that unfortunately is about as much of the good i can provide. Killed 4 of these new tyres in a shocking 5 months as they could not handle the poorly maintained roads hitting small potholes has caused them to rupture the wall each time. Initially put it down to low tyre pressure so increased it and still the same thing, by the time the 4th tyre popped at only a month old i gave up and moved to Bridgestone all weather. I cannot recommend these tyres and will not be purchasing Goodyear ever again

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 35,000 Spirited miles

Opel Astra J 1.4 turbo

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 4
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Honda S2000

For the Honda S2000 The chassis of the vehicle is too stiff for the side wall of this tire.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 60,000 Average miles

Renault Megane Sport Tourer

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 29,000 Average miles

Peugeot 3008

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Easy Going miles

Ford Fiesta

Looked like a well balanced, comfortable tyre at first. I was quite happy with my choice. After a few thousands kilometers, they started to make this unbearable humming noise, as if the tyres were hollow and the noise was echoing inside them. And then the real disappointment came: These tyres are very prone to sidewall damage, due to the light compound used in order to reduce rolling resistance. Drop into a very small pothole, and bang, you have a bulge or a hole on your sidewall! Lost two of them in this manner and literally dumped the remaining two and switched to Hankook Ventus Prime 3. Much better tyre in every aspect. Not recommended for anyone who are using their cars on any surface less than highway quality.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-V
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 25,000 Average miles

Citroën DS3

In 2011 when I bought the car, it was wearing the Bridgestone Potenza 050. A tire with excellent grip on the dry (but only when it was warmed, and unfortunately it took too long to warm up, which never happened on the max 50 km routes I did on a highway at 80% of the vehicle's use), but moderate in the wet, very annoying rough and stiff (which it extended even more by the 45 profile to 17'' rims) and incredibly noisy. Passing on ContiSport 3, about the same in the dry, better in the wet, slightly less stiff (but still rough) and slightly less noisy (but still noisy). I would describe it as completely indifferent! I am deliberately not referring to mileage wear, because I believe that a tyre should be judged by the high level of safety it offers in all driving conditions (within reasonable speed limits and maneuverings, rather than making dangerous and illegal speed races on highways!) combined with the high level of comfort and noiseless riding with the least possible rolling resistance it offers. And finally all the above desired features, within an excellent well-tempered proportion of them, I found in Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance, for which in dimension 205/45/17, 88V, the EU label gives A, B, 67db. Specifically, very quiet even at high speeds, very comfortable with excellent riding quality at the correct (by the manufacturer recommended) pressure of 2.4 bar, extremely low rolling resistance (approximately 0.8 to 1 lt/100Km, compared to the previous tires), they warm up very quickly, and their handling in dry or wet is exceptional even reaching the limits of excess in speed and cornering. Recently after 45,000 Km, and long before their grooves reach their wear indicators, I replaced them again with the same ones (since the new Performance 2 do not come out at the moment in this dimension) and already from the first kilometers I am just as excited. But with a single weirdness: Their tread pattern (although Performance 1 and not 2) is the same as Performance 2, although on the EU Label sticker it says EfficientGrip Performance (i.e., not the 2)!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.