Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance

The Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance
81%[average]
Dry Grip
87%
Wet Grip
86%
Road Feedback
78%
Progressiveness
79%
Wear
74%
Comfort
86%
Buy Again
75%

Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance Reviews

56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Easy Going miles

Ford Fiesta

Looked like a well balanced, comfortable tyre at first. I was quite happy with my choice. After a few thousands kilometers, they started to make this unbearable humming noise, as if the tyres were hollow and the noise was echoing inside them. And then the real disappointment came: These tyres are very prone to sidewall damage, due to the light compound used in order to reduce rolling resistance. Drop into a very small pothole, and bang, you have a bulge or a hole on your sidewall! Lost two of them in this manner and literally dumped the remaining two and switched to Hankook Ventus Prime 3. Much better tyre in every aspect. Not recommended for anyone who are using their cars on any surface less than highway quality.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-V
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 25,000 Average miles

Citroën DS3

In 2011 when I bought the car, it was wearing the Bridgestone Potenza 050. A tire with excellent grip on the dry (but only when it was warmed, and unfortunately it took too long to warm up, which never happened on the max 50 km routes I did on a highway at 80% of the vehicle's use), but moderate in the wet, very annoying rough and stiff (which it extended even more by the 45 profile to 17'' rims) and incredibly noisy. Passing on ContiSport 3, about the same in the dry, better in the wet, slightly less stiff (but still rough) and slightly less noisy (but still noisy). I would describe it as completely indifferent! I am deliberately not referring to mileage wear, because I believe that a tyre should be judged by the high level of safety it offers in all driving conditions (within reasonable speed limits and maneuverings, rather than making dangerous and illegal speed races on highways!) combined with the high level of comfort and noiseless riding with the least possible rolling resistance it offers. And finally all the above desired features, within an excellent well-tempered proportion of them, I found in Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance, for which in dimension 205/45/17, 88V, the EU label gives A, B, 67db. Specifically, very quiet even at high speeds, very comfortable with excellent riding quality at the correct (by the manufacturer recommended) pressure of 2.4 bar, extremely low rolling resistance (approximately 0.8 to 1 lt/100Km, compared to the previous tires), they warm up very quickly, and their handling in dry or wet is exceptional even reaching the limits of excess in speed and cornering. Recently after 45,000 Km, and long before their grooves reach their wear indicators, I replaced them again with the same ones (since the new Performance 2 do not come out at the moment in this dimension) and already from the first kilometers I am just as excited. But with a single weirdness: Their tread pattern (although Performance 1 and not 2) is the same as Performance 2, although on the EU Label sticker it says EfficientGrip Performance (i.e., not the 2)!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-
47%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 30,000 Average miles

Mazda 6

The lateral wobble of the tires was sometimes alarming. The tires wear down very quickly. The compound was too soft. Thread fibers were exposed after 30k miles of gentle driving.

Tyre size reviewed: 165-60-15-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 27,000 Average miles

Ford Focus mk2

Having bought several sets of these, since they were released in the UK (back in around 2013, I believe), and now having switched the Michelin Cross Climates, I felt it was time I gave these a decent send off. Firstly, in terms of rolling resistance, these tyres are superb. The comfort levels are also good, owing to the soft sidewalls. Wet grip was good, too. Dry weather grip is okay, however, owing to the softer compound it does suffer in hotter conditions and does start to understeer and not providing much feedback (they are safe and progressive, though). My main criticism I have is poor end of life performance. Aquaplaning performance was quite poor when the tyre was below 3 mm of tread. Also, owing to the softer compound, the wear was quite poor. Okay, 27,000 miles isn't bad, but if you are a higher mileage driver, I would find myself changing them every 10 months (although I understand that Goodyear have resolved their wear issues with their recent EG Performance 2). I would buy again (as the pricing was very good), but if doing a lower mileage and not needing the extra insurance/performance of an all-season tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
78%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 18 Average miles

Citroën DS3 THP 150

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-V
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

Skoda '2002 Fabia 1.4 estate

Had them on for more than four years and did over 30.000 km / almost 20.000 miles with 5 mm tread still remaining. It would've been longer if I hadn't hit a kerb to avoid accident (not caused by me) destroying one tyre (collapsed sidewall). Their price has risen a lot, so since a complete set of Nokian Wetproof was available for basically the same price as a pair of Goodyears that was needed, all are going to be replaced. In the beginning they were very quiet and absolutely safe in any conditions, offering excellent fuel economy. As time went by, and I really mean age, not mileage, they were gradually becoming noisier until tyre noise started to be noticeable. Still, there are much noisier tyres, e.g. my former Turanza ER300. It also seems that the compound, despite the "summer" wheel set was properly stored and cared about when "winter" set was on the car, has started to harden, which, sadly, leads to a few problems: small cracks start to appear, slight wheel wobble can be noticed and confidence in braking is dwindling (braking distances have started to increase a bit and the tyres are now in emergency situations slightly prone to wheel-locking). Also traction in colder central-European autumn conditions is far from what it was when they were new. This is, I think, a problem of "ECO-friendliness" and mileage hunting, but, sadly, potential danger too. Winter Continental TS 860s made in and used from the same year are not affected by that (at least not yet). Luckily, grip in the corners or aquaplaning resistance remained unaffected. Fuel economy also remained quite good. Overall? They did a good job, Germans in Fulda who made them can be proud. More suitable for people who can wear their tyres in less than four years.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-H
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz C180K Avantgarde

Bought a set of these for my little old 2004 Mercedes C180K Coupé. Drive 82 miles round trip commute for work every day along country lanes (A377). For the most part the tyres are great. They're quiet, they're excellent in the wet, they're comfortable, and they inspire confidence well enough. Only downside however is quite a soft compound, they wear quickly, especially on a RWD car on a regular twisty lane commute. I was down to the wear bars well under 10,000 Miles.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 45,000 Spirited miles

BMW 118d M Sport

Had them for about 40-45k miles on a F20 1 Series 118d, used as a daily car. Very good tire, especially for the price, comfortable, silent and with very good dry grip. The wet grip wasn't the best, but nothing to worry about. Good fuel consumption and very good wear. Sold the car after 2.5 years and the tires were in very good condition.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 35 Spirited miles

Vauxhall Astra H 1.8

fitted these tyres to the car the day I bought it as tyres are the only thing that keeps you on the road, so having a good set on the car was of high importance to me. Over the last 3 years, I have covered around 35,000 miles on them and have put them through many heat cycles and given them a true torturing. I have a highly spirited driving style and the tyres never fail to impress. While I have found that once you build temperature into the tyres they become slightly floaty, and they don't load up predictably, this is expected of a tyre in this range band. Nevertheless, traction is not lost and overall the tyre continues to be predictable. When firm braking the tyre is very efficient at slowing the car, however as the tyre has a hard compound the tyre will slip under high braking. The wet handling characteristics of the tyre is very good and the tyre can disperse the water effectively. they tyre does not aquaplane. The harder rubber compound does, however, mean that in low temperatures the wet handling is lost slightly, but not to the point of being dangerous. The wear factor of the tyre is low, and even after high load, high temperature driving the tyres don't marble or grain. I have around 4mm of tread left on each tyre, which is outstanding given the punishment they have received. The tyres transfer information from the road effectively allowing you to feel in control. The only downside to these tyres is the fact that they feel floaty when intense rapid steering inputs are made, and they roll a lot before loading up on turn in, and will occasionally understeer under high load. All in all a highly recommended tyre for people who are after a comfortable Mid-range premium tyre that will handle a sporty drive when possible.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-55-17-H

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.