Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance

The Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance
80%[average]
Dry Grip
87%
Wet Grip
86%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
79%
Wear
74%
Comfort
86%
Buy Again
75%

Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance Reviews

51%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 200 Average miles

Peugeot 308 BlueHDI EAT6

I found these tyres handle the road pretty well taking corners and roundabouts at reasonable speeds really well but that unfortunately is about as much of the good i can provide. Killed 4 of these new tyres in a shocking 5 months as they could not handle the poorly maintained roads hitting small potholes has caused them to rupture the wall each time. Initially put it down to low tyre pressure so increased it and still the same thing, by the time the 4th tyre popped at only a month old i gave up and moved to Bridgestone all weather. I cannot recommend these tyres and will not be purchasing Goodyear ever again

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 35,000 Spirited miles

Opel Astra J 1.4 turbo

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 4
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Honda S2000

For the Honda S2000 The chassis of the vehicle is too stiff for the side wall of this tire.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 60,000 Average miles

Renault Megane Sport Tourer

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 29,000 Average miles

Peugeot 3008

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Easy Going miles

Ford Fiesta

Looked like a well balanced, comfortable tyre at first. I was quite happy with my choice. After a few thousands kilometers, they started to make this unbearable humming noise, as if the tyres were hollow and the noise was echoing inside them. And then the real disappointment came: These tyres are very prone to sidewall damage, due to the light compound used in order to reduce rolling resistance. Drop into a very small pothole, and bang, you have a bulge or a hole on your sidewall! Lost two of them in this manner and literally dumped the remaining two and switched to Hankook Ventus Prime 3. Much better tyre in every aspect. Not recommended for anyone who are using their cars on any surface less than highway quality.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-V
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 25,000 Average miles

Citro├źn DS3

In 2011 when I bought the car, it was wearing the Bridgestone Potenza 050. A tire with excellent grip on the dry (but only when it was warmed, and unfortunately it took too long to warm up, which never happened on the max 50 km routes I did on a highway at 80% of the vehicle's use), but moderate in the wet, very annoying rough and stiff (which it extended even more by the 45 profile to 17'' rims) and incredibly noisy. Passing on ContiSport 3, about the same in the dry, better in the wet, slightly less stiff (but still rough) and slightly less noisy (but still noisy). I would describe it as completely indifferent! I am deliberately not referring to mileage wear, because I believe that a tyre should be judged by the high level of safety it offers in all driving conditions (within reasonable speed limits and maneuverings, rather than making dangerous and illegal speed races on highways!) combined with the high level of comfort and noiseless riding with the least possible rolling resistance it offers. And finally all the above desired features, within an excellent well-tempered proportion of them, I found in Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance, for which in dimension 205/45/17, 88V, the EU label gives A, B, 67db. Specifically, very quiet even at high speeds, very comfortable with excellent riding quality at the correct (by the manufacturer recommended) pressure of 2.4 bar, extremely low rolling resistance (approximately 0.8 to 1 lt/100Km, compared to the previous tires), they warm up very quickly, and their handling in dry or wet is exceptional even reaching the limits of excess in speed and cornering. Recently after 45,000 Km, and long before their grooves reach their wear indicators, I replaced them again with the same ones (since the new Performance 2 do not come out at the moment in this dimension) and already from the first kilometers I am just as excited. But with a single weirdness: Their tread pattern (although Performance 1 and not 2) is the same as Performance 2, although on the EU Label sticker it says EfficientGrip Performance (i.e., not the 2)!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-
47%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 30,000 Average miles

Mazda 6

The lateral wobble of the tires was sometimes alarming. The tires wear down very quickly. The compound was too soft. Thread fibers were exposed after 30k miles of gentle driving.

Tyre size reviewed: 165-60-15-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 27,000 Average miles

Ford Focus mk2

Having bought several sets of these, since they were released in the UK (back in around 2013, I believe), and now having switched the Michelin Cross Climates, I felt it was time I gave these a decent send off. Firstly, in terms of rolling resistance, these tyres are superb. The comfort levels are also good, owing to the soft sidewalls. Wet grip was good, too. Dry weather grip is okay, however, owing to the softer compound it does suffer in hotter conditions and does start to understeer and not providing much feedback (they are safe and progressive, though). My main criticism I have is poor end of life performance. Aquaplaning performance was quite poor when the tyre was below 3 mm of tread. Also, owing to the softer compound, the wear was quite poor. Okay, 27,000 miles isn't bad, but if you are a higher mileage driver, I would find myself changing them every 10 months (although I understand that Goodyear have resolved their wear issues with their recent EG Performance 2). I would buy again (as the pricing was very good), but if doing a lower mileage and not needing the extra insurance/performance of an all-season tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
78%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.