Nokian WR SUV 3

The Nokian WR SUV 3 is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a SUV and 4x4.

Nokian WR SUV 3
82%[average]
Dry Grip
86%
Wet Grip
81%
Road Feedback
85%
Progressiveness
84%
Wear
78%
Comfort
88%
Buy Again
72%

Nokian WR SUV 3 Reviews

89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 10,000 Spirited miles

Toyota Hilux mk6 3.0

A very good tire, for normal winter driving at a very good price. Very good performance on dry and wet roads, have driven on motorways at high speeds with no problem on dry and wet. On compacted snow is also good, not the best but you would not have problems like getting stuck, also in deep fresh snow it is ok. it is slightly more intended for use on wet and dry roads at winter temperatures than on snow. have driven about 15.000km, and the is no visible signs of wear yet. For me is an excelent tire, even my Hilux is not a sporty car I can drive pretty fast in curves, and the Nokians WR SUV3 had always had high grip, especially being cheaper than other brands, and will surely buy again!

Tyre size reviewed: 265-65-17-
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 1
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 28,000 Average miles

Land Rover Range Rover V8 Vogue

DON’T JUST LOOK AT THE SCORE BUT READ THIS. Felt really good when first installed and ran well for 2 years and 28,000 mile then started to get vibration so took in to Bathwick Tyres for balancing who found delamination split in both rear tires on inside sidewalk. Split around decal line almost a third of the way around. Although I liked them I lost confidence and replaced them immediately with Pirelli Scorpion. When I sent images to Nordic Tyres as I thought they might be interested in having them shipped back to to investigate, their response was that it is due to long running under inflated. This is not true I check my tyres relatively regularly and in my experience under inflation leads to visible outside sidewall scuffing. Bought from TyreLeader So could be older stock. Those with same tyres beware.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-50-20-W
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30,000 Spirited miles

Mazda CX7

Good tyre for general use. Excellent in winter, average on wet roads, good for aquaplaning. They at first wear quite fast, but as they age they become harder and wear less. With aging they perform worse on wet roads. After three winters an one summer they currently have 4mm of tread, but they are not safe for drive on wet roads. With 4mm tread aquaplaning resistance still quite high. Good value for the money paid, will buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-60-18-H
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 500 Easy Going miles

Volvo XC60

I love these tyres. I know I haven't been using them for long, but every kilometer I passed with them was really good. Wet and dry performance is better than I expected ( this is the first time I am using Nokian ). They perform excellent in wet surface with soggy foliage.
We expect some snow this year, so I am truly eager to give them a try in more severe conditions ( -5°C/ -10°C and snow )
Will let you know how the tyres perform. I expect pure excellence since they were made for this kind of situation.
Tyre wear was not assessed this time.

First impression : I recommend Nokian SUV 3 and will most probably buy them again.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-60-18-H
49%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Volvo XC90 4.4l 7p 450hp

I was always of high opinion of Nokian tyres and the only thing that deterred my buying them was that they are Made in Russia, which overall is an issue and especially when Russia is under embargo with the rest of the world. However when changing tyres I gave them a try regardless of the production location. Overall the impressions are positive although not overwhelming. I would continue using them for snow and ice conditions however my Goodyear SUV and Dunlop Wintersport M3 tyres are far better for sluch and aquaplaning both in terms of driving stability and breaking as well as latidunal dynamics. You can't have it all in winter tyres. HOWEVER after one season (not even entire) I decided to discontinue using Nokian tyres due to the fact that the tyre blew on me (exploded) when driving at autobahn speeds of 160 km/h. It could happen to any tyre but with over 1 million km I have driven it never happended and especially not on the side of the tyre showing to rather poor quality production than a fault of usage. I will never know the true reason for what happened but my initial thinking of the location of production will remain with me hence sorry Nokian, I gave you a chance, but I will never reconsider and risk the life of my family with your tyres again, at least not until you produce them in state of the art premises. Dear User - take your own decision at your own risk but be forwarned.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-60-18-V
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 500 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz ML350

I've just put these on my Mercedes ML350 and managed to catch the first of the Scottish snow. So far I'm very impressed with all aspects of the tyres. In around 3cm of snow they were fantastic and gave me the assurance I'd decent rubber between me and the road. As the snow melted at the lower levels they were really good on the slush/rain and the drive was very comfortable. I fell the value and quality of these tyres is well worth this review, I'm sticking the WR D4 on my wife's C class next week let's hope they are as good as the latest WR SUV 3.

Tyre size reviewed: 270-40-21-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 25,000 Average miles

Nissan Qashqai

I put this tyres for the first time two years ago in my Nissan Qashqai+2. I used the WR G2 SUV before and was not really pleased with them. On the contrary, the WR 3 SUV are fantastic. Very good in dry and wet surfaces and really confident in 2-3 cm snow or slush. They lasted for 40.000 km which is very good taking into account that I use them in summer in Spain as well (Basque Country which has a similar summer weather as UK, only a litte warmer). I used them last year again and I am changing them now with 45.000 km (a little on the edge...) for the same tyre again.

I recommend it for people that usually go to ski resorts as they have never failed me (never used/needed chains since I got them)

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto

I put the WR3 SUV tyres on this weekend. Today I went round a damp bend, 7 degrees C, at the same speed as last week. I experienced serious under steer, followed by the rear loosing traction. Fortunately, no accident took place...

The problem I have is that last week I had no issues driving this bend, at the same speed, on a damp road, unknowingly on tyres with 2mm of tread. No understeer, no back end stepping out, no drama.

I bought these tyres based on the Nokian site stating the WR3 SUV was the first double AA SUV winter tyre, and from the positive feedback from this site.

When the tyres were fitted I discovered the WR3 SUV were rated C C, not A A as advertised on their web site.

I will not use this site for feedback again, or trust manufacturer web sites...

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
46%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,500 Average miles

Audi A6 Allroad 3.0 TDI

I've recently had a full set fitted to my 2013 A6 Allroad.

Having covered around 1500 miles in mostly damp and wet conditions on UK roads I am very disappointed in the levels of wet grip offered by these tyres. Indeed I am considering changing these tyres for another brand altogether.

I find I'm loosing traction on wet surfaces, lateral grip is non existent and braking can often results in activation of ABS - something I never expected to happen from a tyre that is rated as being best in class for wet weather handling.

I have scanned my car for faults (primarily ESP/ABS) and none are reported. I regularly drive on tracks with a prepared course car and understand how grip and braking should function with the correct setup.

My previous OE fit tyres (Michelin Primacy 3) performed extremely well in wet conditions but being low on tread I decided to make the switch to Winters in preparation for the colder weather we're set to endure. Current temps are circa 12-16 degrees C and the Michelin performed in those conditions. I cannot find any data to suggest the Nokian product isn't suited to this temperature range but even then I would expect a level of grip be maintained.

I will be contacting Nokian direct to voice my concerns. Having spent over £450 for tyres that were marketed as being best in class for winter, wet weather and snow I am so far finding that claim for at least one of those traits to be incorrect.

I bought the tyres from Tyreleader in Germany and all four were new, I really don't understand why I'm having such a poor experience from what was an informed choice through reviews and other media.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-18-H
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Nissan X Trail 2.5 petrol

I think the previous reviewer has got confused and left a review for the wrong tyre, as the WR SUV 3 is most definitely a winter tyre, so the fact that he took them off in summer suggests that he's either barking or he's got mixed up.

Anyway, just to leave my quick review - these are fantastic tyres. Had them over two winters now on the X-Trail. Can't fault them at all. Wear is excellent, grip and braking are fantastic wet or dry. Good feedback and comfortable too. When the time comes to replace them I won't hesitate to buy these again.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-65-16-H

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.