Michelin Pilot Primacy

The Michelin Pilot Primacy is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Primacy
73%[average]
Dry Grip
79%
Wet Grip
75%
Road Feedback
71%
Progressiveness
68%
Wear
85%
Comfort
71%
Buy Again
65%

Michelin Pilot Primacy Reviews (2)

57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 49,000 Spirited miles

Dodge Stratus RT 4 Dr Sedan 2.4 Turbo

These Michelins came installed from factory. After improving the suspension of the car with 4 Eibach Sport springs and 4 Bilstein shocks, I decided to give them a try. They have lasted way TOO much, since they still have about 50% thread depth, which confirms that the threadwear rating is false ("280"), with the compound actually being much harder than a "280" would suggest, but after 9 years the rubber is very dry and full of cracks. Grip in dry and wet has been only average, not even "good". Handling is so-so, nothing special. Sidewall capacity for receiving pothole blows is lower than other tyres. Since my car weights 1450 Kg and 63% is on the front wheels, a 205 tyre is very limiting, specially for a 215 BHP turbo car. Overall, the only thing I appreciate of this tyres, is their longevity, but anything else is just mediocre to average. When compared to my older dodge Spirit R/T with Dunlop sport SP-8000, these Michelins are completely inferior to them.
I'm changing them probably to Toyo's T1S or T1R; or maybe the old standard for dry grip here: the very appreciated Goodrich TA KDW, but those are scarce and expensive here (Mexico). My conclusion is that there must be a reason (commercial one) for chrysler selecting these tyres for all these cars; but for its price these tyres are not worth it, unless the only thing you want is that they last and last. Amclaussen, Mexico City.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-60-16-V
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf GT TDI 140

i have the michelin pilot primacy 225/45 r17 tires on my Golf V GT.
Tires are excellent! I drove them to 65000 km.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 0 Average miles

Saab Automobile 9 3 SE Turbo

Much better steering control &good grip from these three

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-H
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 20,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI

A noisy and expensive tyre with adequate grip in all conditions but nothing exceptional. I think you pay for the name. I got the same wear, grip and better noise results from a set of Roadstone tyres which are half the price. (Roadstone was apparently set up by Michelin in Korea).

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-16-W
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 30,000 Average miles

BMW 118i Sport

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 15,000 Average miles

Opel Corsa

Great tire, good grip, comfort and wear after 30000 kilometers.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-16-V
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,000 Spirited miles

Citro├źn C5

These were fitted to my car from new, the fronts lasted 18K miles but by then were just touching the markers with the NSF shoulder edge being very bald.

I was very impressed with these Pilots, they gave the best steering feel out of any other tyres ive had on C5s (ive had a few!), they grip very well in both wet and dry conditions and wear well considering the size of the car and my spirited driving style.

I was dissapointed to have to replace them (I never usually run tyres right down to the wear markers) as I knew they had been replaced by the Primacy HP in the Michelin tyre range. A good tyre and its what I went for but it doesnt offer quite as much feel and is a bit more soft in corners despite not having an improved ride - though the ride is good with them.

My car still had its rear Pilot Michelins at 28K miles, however one tyre became damaged by road debris and the sidewall was gashed to the canvas. So I replaced them with more Michelins but again the newer Primacy HPs.

The only real problem with these tyres were they didn't age too well, developing cracks and needing early replacement. Though this didn't happen with mine - garaging helps.

I do like the HPs but I would prefer these to still be available. I hope Michelins new HP2 is closer to it when its finally released.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-16-W
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15 Spirited miles

BMW 3 series

Fitted to BMW 3 series (ice is a seperate issue but wet grip is very good)Excellent tyres, had been using budget tyres before but definately worth paying that little bit extra for a brand name that delivers excellent performance. would definately buy again and recommend.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-W
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Track for 5,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz c230k

Very grippy and comfortable.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 35,000 Average miles

Ford Focus

i have the michelin pilot primacy xse tires on my Ford Focus wagon.i like everything about them exceptthe wear. i have approximately 35,000 on these tires and the front ones look darn new yet. the back ones are down to the wear bars and i'm ready to throw them in the garbage where they belong. these are not $29 tires. their expensive and there should be no reason at all for a front wheel drive small car to wear the rear ones out so soon. no one can explain it to me.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-16-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.