Michelin Energy Saver Plus

The Michelin Energy Saver Plus is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Energy Saver Plus
81%[average]
Dry Grip
84%
Wet Grip
72%
Road Feedback
79%
Progressiveness
77%
Wear
92%
Comfort
83%
Buy Again
82%

Michelin Energy Saver Plus Reviews (4)

67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 0 Average miles

Toyota Wish

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-V
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 25,000 Average miles

Ford Fiesta

Very quiet and comfortable, good braking on wet and dry. Moderate handling. Good fuel economy, very good wear. But sidewalls are very soft and poor. Price is very high.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-T
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 800 Easy Going miles

Peugeot 1.4 HDi

My favourable review is of the Michelin Energy Saver tyre on sale in the UK and Europe, NOT the A/S all-season version for north American markets (where that version receives poor grades). I have driven many rental cars with different brand name tyres installed: Michelin Energy Savers have been the best. From cold wet morning weather, to country roads with damp leaves and mud; in town and on motorways; also during dry summer heat; they just roll down the road quietly with excellent grip starting from rest, cornering, and under braking. The simple tread pattern puts rubber on the road without drama, squealing or sliding, although if you expect to encounter snow or mud regularly the CrossClimate would probably be a better choice. For regular motoring in spring, summer, autumn and mild-wet winter conditions, these Michelins are hard to beat. Energy Saver? Without even trying, the Peugeot 208 diesel achieved 67mpgUK = 4.2l/100km, while keeping up with traffic and within speed limits. I did not have the car long enough to comment on their life expectancy but did notice much better ride comfort and handling grip after correcting the air pressures to that recommended by the car manufacturer, instead of the random assortment of pressure readings after picking up the car at the airport.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-T
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 45,000 Average miles

Hyundai Getz

Had them fitted them in 2013 until 6/2016 had good braking a dry but less in the wet. I did 45000 kms on open road and in town a little soft elasticized comfortable in trip and without noise .

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-T
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 27,000 Average miles

Renault megane cc

Generally performed well on a car which performed very poorly on cheap infinity tyres. No obvious problems, but even with rotation keeping tyre wear even, they won't quite hit 30,000 miles before the whole set needs replacing, which isn't great for an undemanding motorway commute.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 50,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz W124 Estate

I've fitted these to both Merc W124 estates I've had, preferring them on the rear, where they last for ages just doing their thing. Although on the front they give a smooth and quiet ride in the dry, the compound seems to give less feel & grip during medium to hard braking, and more prone to aquaplaning in very wet weather than non 'eco' tyres. With decently stiff sidewalls they cope with the heavy 6-cylinder Diesel up front, or a full load of people or stuff in the back. On the back I've felt them briefly lose traction turning on wet roads, but I've had good wear with 35k from a set on the rear.
They do seem to damage and/or puncture quite easily, I've had 3 punctures and tread/sidewall damage in the last few years but maybe I've just been unlucky. Definitely not a sporty tyre, built for low wear and touring comfort.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-H
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 100 Average miles

Mitsubishi Galant

I used tires for over 200 kilometers, tires are comfortable in the city but outside of the city they are less comfortable (maybe because is new or low temperature), Grip are Ok. Anyway I prefer the ContiPremiumContact2 because is more comfortable.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-60-15-T
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 3,100 Easy Going miles

BMW 3 series

Great on dry, suck on wet... also they tend to wear a bit too much...
might buy again - only if the price is right!

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-
47%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Easy Going miles

Renault Clio IV Sport Tourer 1.5 DCI

I like and have had very good Michelin tyres but not Green tyres.

Good for a average tyre in dry conditions with no problems, but no traction or turn abilites on the wet/rain.

Green and Eco tyres no thanks.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf Mk6

Not really suitable unless you are doing high mileages in the dry. I replaced my front pair in 2015 after the outside shoulders started cracking. Apparently safe (asked at two different tyre fitters) and passed MOT but obviously past their best. The tyres were manufactured in 2012 and had 4mm and 5mm tread remaining. They only wore down 2mm in 20k miles of mixed road driving, including a track day on a VW Golf. I'm not sure if the track day "cooked" the rubber as the front pair developed a different shaded band between the tread and side wall where it started to crack. The rear pair under much less load didn't discolour and are still fine. Handled fine in the dry but were quite weak in the wet, understeering quite quickly on faster A roads. I changed them over for a pair of Continental Premium Contact 5's and the car feels much more positive. Would be a fine tyre choice if you do a lot of unstressed miles. Low milers (you'll never wear this tyre out in the 5 year recommended precautionary change point) and enthusiasts would best look elsewhere.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.