Michelin Energy Saver Plus

The Michelin Energy Saver Plus is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Energy Saver Plus
81%[average]
Dry Grip
84%
Wet Grip
72%
Road Feedback
79%
Progressiveness
77%
Wear
92%
Comfort
83%
Buy Again
82%

Michelin Energy Saver Plus Reviews (3)

86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 60,000 Easy Going miles

Honda Civic Hybrid

Tried a pair that was made in Germany, excellent. Tried another pair which was made in Italy and were totally different in terms of grip. Will never buy again Michelin made in Italy. In terms of grip (both wet and dry) those made in Italy were very poor traction control kept intercepting. Whereas the ones made in Germany felt secure, excellent on grip (both dry and wet) have lasted well (60K+), were low on noise and comfortable. Would buy again but only made in Italy are currently available hence looking elsewhere.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40,000 Easy Going miles

Volvo v70 2.5 TDi

Fitted to V70 2.5D Classic P1 Positives- Great grip wet or dry and still had usable legal tread after 40K miles.
Negatives- Became noisy at 26K

Tyre size reviewed: 165-70-13-
85%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Mazda 6 2.0 D

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Spirited miles

Ford Focus MK1

Have been driving on combination of roads, excellent braking on clean dry roads, but poor braking on wet. Quite comfortable even in high speeds, but tend to aquaplan.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-14-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 40,000 Spirited miles

Daihatsu Sirion

Used on a very light car, low output engine, fronte wheel drive. Perfect in term of fuel economy and durability on very bad road on hills and mountains. Good comfort, acceptable handling ( the tires slip easily when driving hard, but they are rather progressive), safe braking, also on wet, bad grip on wet in corners and scaring with aquaplaning. On a small car they fit perfecly, if you are looking for economy and you drive quietly, but you don't risk even in sporty driving, just you reach the limits very early . The first set lasted 80000 km, turned every 10000. I changed it at 30% because tyres became hard, after 4 years. Now I nave a new set 20000km, same performances.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-
0%

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI

I have had these on a the front of a 6n2 tdi 2001 polo with perfect geometry although there is extra camber due to the car being low. Having only been used to budget tyres before I have found these excellent.
In the wet they are progressive and have enough grip for me .
Due to money being an issue I have Avon zz5 s on the rear and they cannot compare and on wet days at roundabouts they often decide to let me know by stepping out slightly.
The michelin are at the end of life now and on one of them there is cracking along the tyre all around the tread bed but they have not degraded in the grip department.
I am not sure how long they lasted but I think it was quite a while and I will buy the same again.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-55-14-H
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Average miles

Peugeot 3008

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-16-H
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 39,000 Average miles

Opel corsa d 1.3 cdti

As an experienced driver with more than 600.000km on my clock, I think I can quite confidently comment on these tyres.

As you can see here, https://youtu.be/WyeAZYL5o6c , after 56.000km I don't know of any, if any, other tyre would still have 4.5mm of rubber.

I drive in a combination of motorway and country road (not dirt). They grip well on dry roads, are satisfactory on the wet and fare well on aquaplanning.

Mileage is excellent. I almost always get 4.5lt/100km on mixed journeys and 5.8 in pure city driving conditions with heavy traffic.

Never had any problems whatsoever, they give you a feeling of safety and trust.

All this if you drive like a normal human being.......BUT if you're looking for sport driving.......no, they won't satisfy you. Yes, they will keep you safe under all conditions, but for sporty driving, look elsewhere. They weren't made for this type of driving. There is the PS4 for that.

As for the price, it's only 5 euros per set more expensive than all the rest premium brands, so money is no issue here.

I expect to get at least 70.000km before I decide to replace them (if I wait for the TWI to be reached, they should be around 110.000km!!!!) .

All in all, I highly recommend there tyres for normal, everyday and a bit spirited driving under all conditions, except pure winter ones.

Thank you Michelin, I know I can entrust you with the safety of my family.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-T
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Polo 1.4 16v

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-14-T
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 77,000 Spirited miles

Ford Escort Mk6

I have used these tyres on my Ford Escort 1.4 Hatchback for the past 9 years in South Africa under mostly hot conditions (road temp up to 70 deg Celsius, ambient up to 38 deg Celsius) both on and offroad. Have just had to replace them after 123,000km. The best all-round tyre I have ever experienced, and I will never use anything else for everyday use.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.