Michelin Energy Saver Plus

The Michelin Energy Saver Plus is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Energy Saver Plus
81%[average]
Dry Grip
84%
Wet Grip
72%
Road Feedback
79%
Progressiveness
77%
Wear
92%
Comfort
83%
Buy Again
82%

Michelin Energy Saver Plus Reviews

81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 33 Average miles

Toyota Corolla Altis

So, after 33,000miles/53.000km I can say a few things about these tyres. +Really good on wearing slowly +Comfortable +Good mileage +Great for average driving +Stable even at 170+km/h/105miles/h +excellent at dry grip/breaking +pricing -not for sporty driving -not stable if worn in wet roads -a bit bumpy when curving -might lose grip if pushed after a couple of dozens of thousands of miles. A great choice of touring tyre for sure.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40,000 Average miles

Peugeot 307

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Hyundai Getz

I bought a set of used ones in decent condition and i must say that the dry grip was superb! Even on hard cornering at highway speeds the tires have great traction and the car felt secure, I was really impressed about how good they were on dry conditions, didn't expect that coming. They were also very comfortable probably due to the sidewall size (175/65/14) also the braking on dry roads again was good enough. But i was really disappointed about the wet grip of the tires. On high speeds with moderate rain the car didn't felt secure at all and on corners i really had to brake a lot not to get off the road! Also on hairpin turns at slow speeds the tires aquaplaned and it was really scary, unacceptable! Last but not least i was again disappointed a little about the wear as only after 300 km i noticed they were not in the same condition, maybe it was due to the fact they were already used and 4 years old and the treadwear was at the end of its life and they wearing out faster than normal i dont' know for sure...Finally the fuel efficiency was another disappointment as Michelin sells these tires as "energy saver" and i was expecting a better gas mileage from a tire rated C on fuel.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-T
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 38,000 Average miles

Vauxhall 1.4 auto mk3

michelin energy saver tyres, on 3 rd set of tyres and covered 38000 miles each time down to 2mil approx, type of driving 6000 miles local, 3000 further afield travel, have bought budget tyres over the years but false economy

Tyre size reviewed: 185-45-15-T
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 65,000 Average miles

Renault clio iv 1.5 DCI 90ps

I have done over 100'000 km in these tyres are they still have loads left in the thread. However the side walls are starting to become cracked with age, they have just headed 5 years old. I am going to get the same tyres again because they were so good, hopefully the new ones will last another 5 years and then i will have a new car! Overall they are worth it because you get so long out of them, also great performance and very comfortable.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-16-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 50 Average miles

Opel corsa d 1.3 cdti

Treadwear 400, Traction A, Temperature A

One of the most outstanding tyres I have ever used.

Dry grip is phenomenal.

Wet grip is adequate for most normal driving conditions.

Road feedback, comfort and handling are on par with the everyday use orientation of the tyre.

Wear is simply amazing. The tyre loses 0.5mm of tread evey 10.000km.

What is worth commenting is the tyre's performance throughout its lifespan. Even after 80.000km, with still 3.2mm of tread left, it performs the same as new. Almost same comfort, same noise, almost same dry and wet braking, and that is probably the best argument why to buy this tyre. Reliable, efficient and same performance for around 80.000km. Of course, it could go beyond 100K to reach the legal limit, but what's the point?

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-T
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 50,000 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen bora tdi

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-H
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf 7 TDI

I have those tyre on my Golf Mk7 for last 40,000 km. They don't wear, I would easily get another 40,000km out of them. I do drive hard and like to take corners also hard. Over all the tyre is good, but I find it very loud on motorways. Its also no where near ContiSportContact 6 for handling in the wet. Ill be going back to Continentals for my next tyre. But overall, tyre is good and exceptionally good at not wearing. Would be ideal for Taxi's.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,000 Spirited miles

Hyundai i20

I have around 30k km with the tyres, with plenty of tread left. Personally I push the tyres quite a lot, and I didn't have any real issue with this tyre, especially with it's category and price. I have even driven on snow, where of course it's slippery, but drivable. Would recommend them for casual use, but if you want something more aggressive and high performance, I would look somewhere else.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-15-V
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Nissan LEAF Tekna

Good tyre all round for my 10,000 miles on them. On an EV they break loose on full excelleration on dry summer road around 17°c . They spin for 1 Sec over taking but slight adjustment and they feel really well sure footed . Tbis mus the the compromise between low rolling resistance to their touting primacy tyre.
Never let me down under city braking in slot on emergency brake tests with pedestrians. Not once did abs kick in.
So all in all a good tyre as you don’t notice them then they are good.
Only one spin out under load when grrip goes light under hard acceleration from a torqued ev Nissan Leaf .

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.