Falken ZE914

The Falken ZE914 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Falken ZE914
83%[average]
Dry Grip
89%
Wet Grip
81%
Road Feedback
85%
Progressiveness
81%
Wear
82%
Comfort
82%
Buy Again
85%

Falken ZE914 Reviews

54%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Volvo C70 T5 GT

Wet grip is terrible but they perform well in dry conditions. Car almost slipped completely a few times driving at low speeds of 50 km/h and i changed them immediately. The front tyres were gripping alright due to the weight of the engine however the back of the car was an unpredictable nightmare in the wet and you dont get feedback if the car will slide or not even at low speeds. I will not buy again and i feel much safer after replacing them with better tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 2
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT

These now obsolete tyres were original equipment on the car and although for various reasons I have not done many miles the tyre noise is very bad not sure if it is just the tyres or part the car,various reviews have differing opinions on the road noise,so I am wondering wether as the car comes with a variety of different makes of tyres some are worse than others although I dread to think any could be worse than these falken .I do beleive newer 310 are better.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40,000 Average miles

Mitsubishi lancer

Well after using these tyres for 2 years and 40,000k . When tyres are new they are very very good overall .comfortable not noisy and handles very well .tyres are traction B so dry grip is not super but very very acceptable and predictable . Tyres are not sporty but still can so good at corners .after 25,000k they start losing some of the comfort and becoming little noisy but still acceptable.at 40,000k tyres are due to be replaced but still doing good . Comparing those tyres to korean and thailand etc brands for sure falken is much much better

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Subaru forester 2.5xt

These Falkens replaced a set of barely worn Fuldas, whilst no complaints about grip in any weather the road noise and ride quality became unbearable. Decided to try this set after my daughter's good experience with Falkens on her Honda Civic, they were really well priced too. Only been on a couple of thousand miles but am impressed, especially considering how cheap they were to buy, reasonably quiet and the ride quality is much improved, dry grip is good enough, wet grip is superb, though a Forester is forgiving anyway the car feels extremely stable on the road, i've tried to unstick it on some quiet wet surfaces today, nope won't have it. Can't comment on wear rate obviously, but daughter's Honda is driven rapidly, scratch that, it's thrashed mercilessly and the wear rate has been impressive, seeing as they only come with about 7mm of new tread it's just as well they wear ok. Will definately buy Falkens again if they continue in this manner. Regards Lew

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-17-V
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 22 Average miles

Saab Automobile 2.0T (210bhp)

Tyres were on my saab 9-3 aero 250 hp when I bought it. They were on the car for about one year by then.

Not so impressed with these. Dry handling and grip is ok, but not great. Wet grip is bad in my opinion. I have to be carefull when taking corners in the wet because I can feel the car breaking loose easily. I'm spinning wheels in 3rd gear going straight. Road feedback is ok, but not great either. I've had kumho tyres on my previous car, different weight and engine of course (mg zr td 150 hp) but the grip compared to these was fenomenal. Aquaplanning is very good though on these tyres.

They are completely worn out after about 40 000 km. I drive sporty from time to time, but mostly not. I must say they do produce more and more noise now that they are getting worn. In the contrary, the grip stays the same.

I wouldn't buy them again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

Toyota Mark II

Bought a pair of these for the front of my Toyota and run semi slicks on the rear. I've always liked falken for the price and have had them on the front of many of my rwd cars as they are a brilliant all rounder. These are no exception. They perform well in all weathers, wear pretty well for a softer tyre and the front end of the car feels stable and accurate when cornering. I would buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Peugeot 207 1.4 16v

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-16-V
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Holden Vectra V6

I had conflicting advice from different tyre stores one saying these are the tyres for you the other saying don't touch them with a million-foot barge pole. The store saying don't touch said I'd be back in for fresh tyres new rims and a wheel alignment in 6000 miles max. but they held and went well. They gripped and gripped until you wanted to start playing up then they spun but you always felt in control. great tyres if i have another such car again i wouldn't hesitate to buy these again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Peugeot 206 GTI 180

This Tyre make Falken one of my favorite Tyre maker. Fully recommended about value - money only little noisy and if last little more i would buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-40-17-W
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40,000 Spirited miles

Fiat croma

After replacing Conti Eco Contact (garbage) with these, I felt like born again. When Conti Eco Contact failed miserably, I was looking for a replacement and reviews were pointing towards these. I am happy to say, these are among best tires I ever had on any of my cars, bested only by Michelin Primacy. I have driven them on highway, local roads, a bit on dirt road, went over potholes, mud and sludge, mountain drive, sharp cornering, fast driving, you name it. After 40.000 miles, they are on half wear and still perfectly balanced, great grip, comfortable and safe. I am selling my car now and it goes with these tires out. I feel like there is at least 20.000 miles in them, and if I could keep them for my new car, I would.
Downside is somewhat stiff ride but not so hard, wet grip is very good but not fantastic, but very good, and only noticeable thing is they skid a bit when starting uphill on dry road. I guess it comes as result of durability. However, if you hit brakes in panic, they stop the car immediately, don't wobble, and give you great feedback, and, as it happened to me few times, after a second or two, what went trough my mind was " thank God I have these tires on my wheels..."
So, I can recommend them, especially for the price, where you will get 98% performance of tires that cost double or triple than these.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.