Dunlop SportMaxx RT

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SportMaxx RT
78%[average]
Dry Grip
89%
Wet Grip
85%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
82%
Wear
60%
Comfort
82%
Buy Again
69%

Dunlop SportMaxx RT Reviews (3)

60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

BMW 320i Msport

I only had these on my car for about 3 months as I got a puncture which could not be repaired. In those 3 months I found these tyres to be good in the dry however in cold conditions these lose traction. For that reason I won't be buying Dunlop again. I also previously had Sport Maxx GT which were the same, great in the dry but not so good in the wet.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-W
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Mazda 6

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-W
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Average miles

Audi A3 Sportback

These were supplied new with my Audi A3, either Audi doesn't spend much on sound proofing or these are noisy tyres. I have driven 12500 miles so far and they are down to 4 mm. Handling and braking in dry is really good and they are pretty sorted in teh rain on wet ground, they are not however even slightly useful in low tempratures or wintery conditions. They are a sport tyre though so to be expected, but even with traction control they did nothing and left me high and dry with a long walk home. Its a company car so don't have much control over the tyre selection but I won't be opting for these come change time. Not worth teh extra outlay of cash there is better for cheaper out there.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 39,000 Spirited miles

Renault Clio III Dynamique 1.6

Two sets of tyres. The first did 57.000 Km, the second 62.000Km and still goes on. The best tyres I have ever put. Great dry grip, incredible wet grip (feels so dominant and safe), and best of all they are very good even near their end. Ok they take some time to warm up, but it is really nothing to worry about. And when you are about to have some fun, prepare yourselves for big big smiles! I am about to change my car, the next one will definitely will wear the SportMaxx RT.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-16-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Spirited miles

Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI

This is my second pair of these tyres on the front of my diesel mondeo hatch with the Titanium sports pack option. Grip is just incredible, the point they push wide is well beyond where I would push the mondeo on the road. These tyres are intended for much more exotic cars than a diesel family saloon so I've probably not given them the test they deserve but I always overspec tyres.
The only performance weakness they have is in the snow, but you can't expect a tyre designed for high speed use to be good there. Wear is their other downside, they disappear quite quickly, but again for this type of tyre it is expected and you won't get this grip like this without compromising something.
Saying that, I'm down to 1.8mm on one and 2mm on the other and I've only just got to the point I've noticed any degredation in performance in the cold and wet British winter. It seems to be able to shift a fair bit of standing water despite the low tread left, I drove up the M6 through the Lake District in torrential rain without them ever feeling like they were out of their depth. I've been very happy with them.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-W
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Audi A8 2.8

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-17-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,000 Spirited miles

Ford Falcon xr6

I've travelled 30,000km over 18 months on a variety of roads with these tyres, and they've performed brilliantly. Grip is excellent, both wet and dry. It really impressed me how stable my RWD, open diff car felt doing 100km/h on the highway in heavy rain. Wear is as good as you'd expect for a tyre of this type.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-17-W
61%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 17,000 Easy Going miles

Skoda Octavia

Using those tyres as a factory setup for my 2016 Octavia Sedan (CNG power). Tyres after less than 17.000 miles are almost gone. This was predictable as SportMaxx are tyres suitable for heavy rain: I live in the north of Italy where the climate is all but wet and summer temperatures are very high. Despite this, the tyres provide a very high driving comfort and silence. Won't buy them again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
23%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 2
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 1
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 700 Average miles

SEAT 1.4 TSI

Just got my brand new leon at the end of August 17 ( so under 1 month) and to my disppointement it arrived with Dunlopp Maxx RT. I didn't like the bluesport model as the wear was shockingly bad but these tyres are just as awful. The handling is scary and the tyres feel really unstable in straight lines as well as corners (lack of grip) and on the motorway. No problem with the car itself. Maybe the high wear will be a good thing as I can't wait to get rid of them. I would not recommend Dunlopp Maxx rt

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-16-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 20,000 Average miles

MG ZT 135 CDTi

Excellent tyres with great grip and handling and in comparison to other tyres I was using in the past these have a great wear, too. I was able to drive 20,000 miles (32,000 km) while I was never able to make more than 25-26,000 km on other tyres. This was the first time I wanted to buy the same tyres again, but then found out that Dunlop has come with the next generation SportMaxx RT2 so I decided to buy those. We will see if it will be the same good as SportMaxx RT ;-) Thumb up, Dunlop!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.