Dunlop SportMaxx RT

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SportMaxx RT
78%[average]
Dry Grip
89%
Wet Grip
85%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
82%
Wear
60%
Comfort
82%
Buy Again
69%

Dunlop SportMaxx RT Reviews (2)

77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD

Bought thee to replace a pair of dreadful Arrowspeed Performance UHP's after less than 1000 miles on them.
The Arrowspeeds were borderline dangerous on the rear, Stability control was triggering a lot and the car would sway about if changing lanes or changing direction quickly....simply can't say a good thing about them.
Dunlops have transformed the car, quieter, much more stable and very grippy in every way a nice match to the car

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Average miles

SEAT 1.4 TSI

Positive : Good at dry and wet handling, good performance, low fuel consumption, quiet.
Negative: high price, very very low wear. (tire almost done at 13000 miles). For this reason, i dont buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

BMW 320D

Tyre with excellent performances.
Will definetly buy them again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Nissan Qashqai

Good grip in the dry, acceptable but nothing to shout about in the wet. In snow or slush, absolutely useless !!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 9,000 Easy Going miles

Skoda Octavia estate

Factory fitted from new on 2017 Skoda Octavia 2l diesel estate and have done 9k in 12 months but the fronts are not wearing as well as I would have hoped. As my daily commute includes parking on the fourth floor of a multi-storey car park and with a heavy engine this could explain the wear on the tyre shoulders but on longer drives they are quiet and sure footed giving no cause for concern.
The scores are based on this experience and could well be bettered with a different driving profile.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 9,000 Easy Going miles

Skoda Octavia estate

Factory fitted from new on 2017 Skoda Octavia 2l diesel estate and have done 9k in 12 months but the fronts are not wearing as well as I would have hoped. As my daily commute includes parking on the fourth floor of a multi-storey car park and with a heavy engine this could explain the wear on the tyre shoulders but on longer drives they are quiet and sure footed giving no cause for concern.
The scores are based on this experience and could well be bettered with a different driving profile.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf Mk6 1.4 TSI 160

I'm reviewing the second set of these tyres that I'm using for the last six years (3 years and about 20000 km each set) driving in city and motorways. Most of my driving experience with these tyres is in dry conditions and temperatures above 15 degrees were grip and handling is excellent. The good road feedback in dry conditions and the safe '' feeling'' at high motorway speeds are the main reasons I bought them again since in the 205 55 16 dimension are one of the best sport tyres. I don't like the feedback of the premium tyres that dominate the aforementioned dimension.
The bad thing is that they don't last much. Treadware is 240 so they are pretty soft and easily worn in hursh roads. On the other hand in hot conditions they do not dry up fast, (hair thin cracks) maybe because they are too soft and wear fast so new rubber comes to surface and replaces the dryed one (personal explanation) . Mine lasted three years but with a rather low km per year (10k) use.
Can't say much for the wet. In wet conditions in city they tend to loose grip easily. Now that they are worn don't provide enough confidence on wet roads.
I will replace them with pilot sport 4.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 0 Spirited miles

Mazda 6

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-W
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Audi A4 Quattro 220 bhp TFSI

Only lasted me about 15k miles, fitted in the same time with 2 x Bridgestone and those still have about 4.5mm,
Overall not to impressed with them.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 10 Spirited miles

Honda Civic Type R

So after reading a number of reviews I decided to get a set of these for the fronts to replace a set of cheap and crappy Nangkang tyres.

The difference was immediate and the tyres made a huge difference in how the car handles in both dry and wet conditions.
In dry conditions the grip is pretty great, and I’ve been on track with super sticky semi slicks in the dry so I’m comparing my experiences. In these I’ve taken long sweeping bends and roundabouts in the dry with real spirited driving and you really have to work it to find the limit and even then it’s progressive and controllable with good feedback through the steering wheel and seat. Im finding the limits of my car’s suspension before the limits of the tyres to be honest because I think these can take a bit more. In the dry, even from cold, it’s not super easy to get the tyres spinning if you’re quick with the clutch. (No I’m not a chav lol)
As the tyre has come to the end of its life they are giving me slightly more wheel spin. It may be because I’m enjoying the last few enthusiastic thousand miles before I replace these.

Snow and ice / Winter driving:
In the recent snowfall I found these really good. Don’t get me wrong, my traction control was working overtime and my driving skills are above average (I hope) but I didn’t particularly find any real issues with these in the heavy snow and ice. Bear in mind I believe mind these are summer tyres but any slight loss of traction when steering at low speeds in the ice and snow were quickly recovered.

In the wet:
Although the dry grip is excellent, the wet grip (as with most tyres) isn’t as good but I can definitely say that any loss of traction to my front wheels was progressive, controllable and gave me confidence to stay on the limit on bends. The wheels tend to spin up much easier in the wet if I put my foot down a bit harder than the tyres like. This happens even on straight roads and not just on bends.

Braking:
Genuinely excellent in both dry and wet. Very good in snow / icy conditions. Hitting the brakes in the dry these stop amazingly well, the grippy compound has been consistent through the life of this tyre and they have helped in some last minute emergency braking moments. This is also true in the wet as I haven’t noticed the ABS kicking in under hard braking in most cases.

Comfort:
In terms of comfort I really don’t have a good base to give fair feedback on this product. My car is known for harsh and hard suspension from factory so although these tyres didn’t make it worse I don’t feel like they made it any better. I don’t expect any tyre to work miracles like that :(

The feedback I got from these tyres are excellent. Great handling and confidence inspiring in the dry and progressive, controllable, grippy and not too noisy in all conditions. I would definitely look to Dunlop and this model of tyre again, it’s lasted around 10,00 miles since I got them brand new in April 2015 but I’ve subjected them to very spirited driving on the straights, corners and bends and it’s taken it all in it’s stride. I’d be looking at the RT2 since these are supposedly designed to last longer than the RT

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.