Dunlop SportMaxx RT

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SportMaxx RT
79%[average]
Dry Grip
89%
Wet Grip
86%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
82%
Wear
59%
Comfort
83%
Buy Again
70%

Dunlop SportMaxx RT Reviews

60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Mercedes Benz C63 AMG

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 265-35-18-W
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 12,000 Spirited miles

Nissan Skyline V35

I got these tyres as a temporary substitute when I changed my wheels. They were excellent in the dry and very good in the wet. The Dunlops also made the car quieter overall. Very little noise. I noticed too that the more they wore, the stickier they got. The sidewalls on these isn't as hard as the previous tyres, but the all out grip was impressive none the less. I would definitely buy a new set, but the price and availability make it hard to get.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-19-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD

Bought thee to replace a pair of dreadful Arrowspeed Performance UHP's after less than 1000 miles on them.
The Arrowspeeds were borderline dangerous on the rear, Stability control was triggering a lot and the car would sway about if changing lanes or changing direction quickly....simply can't say a good thing about them.
Dunlops have transformed the car, quieter, much more stable and very grippy in every way a nice match to the car

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Average miles

SEAT 1.4 TSI

Positive : Good at dry and wet handling, good performance, low fuel consumption, quiet.
Negative: high price, very very low wear. (tire almost done at 13000 miles). For this reason, i dont buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

BMW 320D

Tyre with excellent performances.
Will definetly buy them again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Nissan Qashqai

Good grip in the dry, acceptable but nothing to shout about in the wet. In snow or slush, absolutely useless !!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 9,000 Easy Going miles

Skoda Octavia estate

Factory fitted from new on 2017 Skoda Octavia 2l diesel estate and have done 9k in 12 months but the fronts are not wearing as well as I would have hoped. As my daily commute includes parking on the fourth floor of a multi-storey car park and with a heavy engine this could explain the wear on the tyre shoulders but on longer drives they are quiet and sure footed giving no cause for concern.
The scores are based on this experience and could well be bettered with a different driving profile.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 9,000 Easy Going miles

Skoda Octavia estate

Factory fitted from new on 2017 Skoda Octavia 2l diesel estate and have done 9k in 12 months but the fronts are not wearing as well as I would have hoped. As my daily commute includes parking on the fourth floor of a multi-storey car park and with a heavy engine this could explain the wear on the tyre shoulders but on longer drives they are quiet and sure footed giving no cause for concern.
The scores are based on this experience and could well be bettered with a different driving profile.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf Mk6 1.4 TSI 160

I'm reviewing the second set of these tyres that I'm using for the last six years (3 years and about 20000 km each set) driving in city and motorways. Most of my driving experience with these tyres is in dry conditions and temperatures above 15 degrees were grip and handling is excellent. The good road feedback in dry conditions and the safe '' feeling'' at high motorway speeds are the main reasons I bought them again since in the 205 55 16 dimension are one of the best sport tyres. I don't like the feedback of the premium tyres that dominate the aforementioned dimension.
The bad thing is that they don't last much. Treadware is 240 so they are pretty soft and easily worn in hursh roads. On the other hand in hot conditions they do not dry up fast, (hair thin cracks) maybe because they are too soft and wear fast so new rubber comes to surface and replaces the dryed one (personal explanation) . Mine lasted three years but with a rather low km per year (10k) use.
Can't say much for the wet. In wet conditions in city they tend to loose grip easily. Now that they are worn don't provide enough confidence on wet roads.
I will replace them with pilot sport 4.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 0 Spirited miles

Mazda 6

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.