Dunlop SportMaxx RT

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SportMaxx RT
79%[average]
Dry Grip
89%
Wet Grip
85%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
82%
Wear
59%
Comfort
83%
Buy Again
69%

Dunlop SportMaxx RT Reviews

73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Opel ASTRA H 1.6 TURBO

I had some cheap GT Radial Champiro FE1 and the grip was poor. Beside bad handling the car was bad at braking, after i change the to the Dunlops, the car change totally, much better grip in the dry and much better handling. And breaking got much better too. So for this size of tire. This is a tire i can really recommend.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-W
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Opel ASTRA H 1.6 TURBO

Ich hatte einen billigen GT Radial Champiro FE1 und der Grip war schlecht. Abgesehen von schlechtem Handling war das Auto schlecht beim Bremsen, nachdem ich den Dunlops gewechselt hatte, wechselte das Auto total, viel besserer Grip im Trockenen und viel besseres Handling. Und das Brechen wurde auch viel besser. Also für diese Reifengröße. Dies ist ein Reifen, den ich wirklich empfehlen kann.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-W
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Opel ASTRA H 1.6 TURBO

J'avais des GT Radial Champiro FE1 bon marché et l'adhérence était médiocre. En plus d'une mauvaise maniabilité, la voiture était mauvaise au freinage, après avoir changé le Dunlops, la voiture a totalement changé, une bien meilleure adhérence sur le sec et une bien meilleure maniabilité. Et la rupture s'est aussi améliorée. Donc pour cette taille de pneu. C'est un pneu que je peux vraiment recommander.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30,447 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M

Side grip is very bad,on the wet road they are very,very good,brakes are solid

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M

Der Seitengriff ist sehr schlecht, auf nasser Straße sind sie sehr, sehr gut, die Bremsen sind solide

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M

L'adhérence latérale est très mauvaise, sur route mouillée elles sont très, très bonnes, les freins sont solides

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Subaru WRX Limited

I live and drive an above normal amount across Colorado. I have these tires fitted to my 2018 Subaru WRX Limited (Vehicle is stock). These tires were the O.E.M. fitment from Subaru. While they are sporty and do fit the vehicle’s driving dynamics, they leave a lot to be desired. Straight line, high speed grip was a little floaty at first but as the tire wore this settled out. At highway speeds the tire tends to try and track any ruts in the road which causes constant steering input to stay centered in your lane. At city speeds, as the tire wore down, it began to track more aggressively in these ruts resulting in an increasing amount of steering input. Driving in the mountains, spiritedly of course, the tire felt on the limit well before you reached that limit. There was a vagueness when you turned in on what would be the acceptable speed for a corner, regardless of previous speeds entering the same corner. This vagueness was consistent throughout the life of the tire. In the wet, the tires performed admirably. Significantly less grip in the wet when cornering, but no aquaplaning issues. On highway in the wet, the tires were stable and relatively predictable when encountering aquaplaning through deeper water. In the snow you are better off walking to your destination. The road noise was a bit loud, and when encountering bumps and cracks in the road you felt every millimeter of rebound. At 25,000 miles I expected a bit more life from these tires, seeing as majority of the mid-to-outer tread was still well within the legal limit. However, the inside edge of the tires began wearing suddenly and rapidly causing a light grey band of wear to appear which also began a slight squeaking noise. Upon checking my alignment, finding nothing abnormal, and resetting the alignment even more accurately, the tires continued this odd wear pattern. In summary, these tires were acceptable tires fitted from the factory, but with the staggering amount of options available with better characteristics I would not purchase them. They are no cheaper than any Michelin, Goodyear, or Continental offering, which would be the only reason I would repurchase them. These tires will do when you first purchase your vehicle and start to learn its characteristics. But once you’ve achieved a certain proficiency with your vehicle, the next step up in tires is a necessity.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Subaru WRX Limited

Ich lebe und fahre überdurchschnittlich viel in Colorado. Ich habe diese Reifen an meinem 2018 Subaru WRX Limited montiert (Fahrzeug ist auf Lager). Diese Reifen waren die OEM-Ausrüstung von Subaru. Sie sind zwar sportlich und passen zur Fahrdynamik des Fahrzeugs, lassen aber zu wünschen übrig. Gerade Linie, Hochgeschwindigkeitsgriff war anfangs etwas schwimmfähig, aber als der Reifen abgenutzt war, beruhigte sich dies. Bei Autobahngeschwindigkeiten versucht der Reifen in der Regel, Spurrillen auf der Straße zu verfolgen, wodurch eine konstante Lenkungseingabe auf Ihrer Fahrspur zentriert bleibt. Bei Stadtgeschwindigkeiten begann der Reifen, als er abgenutzt war, aggressiver in diesen Spurrillen zu fahren, was zu einer zunehmenden Menge an Lenkeingaben führte. Beim Fahren in den Bergen fühlte sich der Reifen natürlich temperamentvoll an der Grenze an, lange bevor Sie diese Grenze erreichten. Es gab eine Unbestimmtheit, als Sie die akzeptable Geschwindigkeit für eine Kurve einreichten, unabhängig von den vorherigen Geschwindigkeiten, die in dieselbe Kurve einfahren. Diese Unbestimmtheit war während der gesamten Lebensdauer des Reifens konstant. Bei Nässe zeigten die Reifen eine bewundernswerte Leistung. Deutlich weniger Grip bei Nässe in Kurven, aber keine Aquaplaning-Probleme. Auf der Autobahn bei Nässe waren die Reifen stabil und relativ vorhersehbar, wenn sie auf Aquaplaning durch tieferes Wasser stießen. Im Schnee ist es besser, zu Fuß ans Ziel zu gehen. Das Straßengeräusch war etwas laut, und wenn Sie auf Unebenheiten und Risse auf der Straße stießen, spürten Sie jeden Millimeter Rückprall. Bei 25.000 Meilen erwartete ich von diesen Reifen etwas mehr Lebensdauer, da der Großteil des mittleren bis äußeren Profils immer noch innerhalb der gesetzlichen Grenzen lag. Die Innenkante der Reifen begann sich jedoch plötzlich und schnell abzunutzen, wodurch ein hellgraues Verschleißband auftrat, das ebenfalls ein leichtes Quietschen verursachte. Nachdem die Reifen meine Ausrichtung überprüft, nichts Ungewöhnliches festgestellt und die Ausrichtung noch genauer zurückgesetzt hatten, setzten sie dieses seltsame Verschleißmuster fort. Zusammenfassend waren diese Reifen akzeptable Reifen, die ab Werk montiert wurden, aber mit der erstaunlichen Menge an verfügbaren Optionen mit besseren Eigenschaften würde ich sie nicht kaufen. Sie sind nicht billiger als jedes Angebot von Michelin, Goodyear oder Continental, was der einzige Grund wäre, warum ich sie zurückkaufen würde. Diese Reifen funktionieren beim ersten Kauf Ihres Fahrzeugs und lernen dessen Eigenschaften kennen. Sobald Sie jedoch bestimmte Kenntnisse in Ihrem Fahrzeug erworben haben, ist der nächste Schritt bei den Reifen eine Notwendigkeit.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Subaru WRX Limited

Je vis et conduis une quantité supérieure à la normale à travers le Colorado. J'ai installé ces pneus sur ma Subaru WRX Limited 2018 (le véhicule est en stock). Ces pneus étaient le montage OEM de Subaru. Bien qu'ils soient sportifs et s'adaptent à la dynamique de conduite du véhicule, ils laissent beaucoup à désirer. En ligne droite, l'adhérence à grande vitesse était un peu flottante au début, mais au fur et à mesure que le pneu s'usait, cela s'est calmé. Aux vitesses d'autoroute, le pneu a tendance à essayer de suivre les ornières sur la route, ce qui fait que la direction constante reste centrée sur votre voie. Aux vitesses de la ville, à mesure que le pneu s'usait, il a commencé à suivre de manière plus agressive dans ces ornières, ce qui a entraîné une augmentation de la pression de direction. Conduire en montagne, avec fougue bien sûr, le pneu se sentait à la limite bien avant d'atteindre cette limite. Il y avait un manque de précision lorsque vous avez indiqué quelle serait la vitesse acceptable pour un virage, quelles que soient les vitesses précédentes entrant dans le même virage. Ce flou était constant tout au long de la vie du pneu. Sur le mouillé, les pneus ont fonctionné admirablement. Beaucoup moins d'adhérence sur le mouillé dans les virages, mais pas de problèmes d'aquaplaning. Sur route mouillée, les pneus étaient stables et relativement prévisibles en cas d'aquaplaning dans des eaux plus profondes. Dans la neige, mieux vaut marcher jusqu'à votre destination. Le bruit de la route était un peu fort et lorsque vous rencontriez des bosses et des fissures sur la route, vous ressentiez chaque millimètre de rebond. À 25 000 miles, je m'attendais à un peu plus de durée de vie de ces pneus, car la majorité de la bande de roulement du milieu à l'extérieur était toujours bien dans la limite légale. Cependant, le bord intérieur des pneus a commencé à s'user soudainement et rapidement, provoquant l'apparition d'une bande d'usure gris clair qui a également déclenché un léger grincement. En vérifiant mon alignement, en trouvant rien d'anormal et en réinitialisant l'alignement encore plus précisément, les pneus ont continué ce modèle d'usure étrange. En résumé, ces pneus étaient des pneus acceptables montés en usine, mais avec le nombre impressionnant d'options disponibles avec de meilleures caractéristiques, je ne les achèterais pas. Ils ne sont pas moins chers que les offres Michelin, Goodyear ou Continental, ce qui serait la seule raison pour laquelle je les rachèterais. Ces pneus feront l'affaire lorsque vous achetez votre véhicule pour la première fois et que vous commencerez à apprendre ses caractéristiques. Mais une fois que vous avez atteint une certaine maîtrise de votre véhicule, la prochaine étape dans les pneus est une nécessité.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.