Dunlop SportMaxx RT

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SportMaxx RT
79%[average]
Dry Grip
89%
Wet Grip
85%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
82%
Wear
59%
Comfort
83%
Buy Again
69%

Dunlop SportMaxx RT Reviews

74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 12,000 Average miles

Volkswagen e Golf

Fitted as std equipment to my eGolf, initially I was pleased with these tyres. Dry grip is good, noise is very low. However one rear punctured quite easily, the other rear developed a slow puncture which could not be located. Despite a new valve, rim clean and refit the air loss persisted. The fronts began to develop cracks in every tread and at 12000 miles were worn . I replaced the set with Michelin E primacy. I’m unlikely to purchase Dunlop again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 13,000 Average miles

Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro

I bought the Sport Maxx RT’s on my A6 to replace the P Zero’s that were OE fit. The Dunlop’s are far superior imho because they warm up much quicker than the P Zero’s and don’t understeer like the Pirelli’s. The are quieter, grippier in all weather especially the wet, but as far as longevity goes all I can say is so far I’ve put 13000 miles on them and they still look like new. I think the P Zeros were quite a hard tyre as I got nearly 40000 miles out of them and they used to understeer a tad in cooler weather or in the wet compared to the Dunlop’s.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-19-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Opel ASTRA H 1.6 TURBO

I had some cheap GT Radial Champiro FE1 and the grip was poor. Beside bad handling the car was bad at braking, after i change the to the Dunlops, the car change totally, much better grip in the dry and much better handling. And breaking got much better too. So for this size of tire. This is a tire i can really recommend.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30,447 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M

Side grip is very bad,on the wet road they are very,very good,brakes are solid

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Subaru WRX Limited

I live and drive an above normal amount across Colorado. I have these tires fitted to my 2018 Subaru WRX Limited (Vehicle is stock). These tires were the O.E.M. fitment from Subaru. While they are sporty and do fit the vehicle’s driving dynamics, they leave a lot to be desired. Straight line, high speed grip was a little floaty at first but as the tire wore this settled out. At highway speeds the tire tends to try and track any ruts in the road which causes constant steering input to stay centered in your lane. At city speeds, as the tire wore down, it began to track more aggressively in these ruts resulting in an increasing amount of steering input. Driving in the mountains, spiritedly of course, the tire felt on the limit well before you reached that limit. There was a vagueness when you turned in on what would be the acceptable speed for a corner, regardless of previous speeds entering the same corner. This vagueness was consistent throughout the life of the tire. In the wet, the tires performed admirably. Significantly less grip in the wet when cornering, but no aquaplaning issues. On highway in the wet, the tires were stable and relatively predictable when encountering aquaplaning through deeper water. In the snow you are better off walking to your destination. The road noise was a bit loud, and when encountering bumps and cracks in the road you felt every millimeter of rebound. At 25,000 miles I expected a bit more life from these tires, seeing as majority of the mid-to-outer tread was still well within the legal limit. However, the inside edge of the tires began wearing suddenly and rapidly causing a light grey band of wear to appear which also began a slight squeaking noise. Upon checking my alignment, finding nothing abnormal, and resetting the alignment even more accurately, the tires continued this odd wear pattern. In summary, these tires were acceptable tires fitted from the factory, but with the staggering amount of options available with better characteristics I would not purchase them. They are no cheaper than any Michelin, Goodyear, or Continental offering, which would be the only reason I would repurchase them. These tires will do when you first purchase your vehicle and start to learn its characteristics. But once you’ve achieved a certain proficiency with your vehicle, the next step up in tires is a necessity.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Average miles

Audi A7 S Line 245ps

Tyres have developed cracks (some span 1/3 of the tyre) when the tyre wear indicator shows plenty of life left in the tread. Investigating more there appears to be some quite severe cases of tyre failure. Worryingly, my tyres developed the cracks on the inside tyre walls so were unnoticeable until I removed them to change Xenon bulbs. No idea how long they have been like that

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Mercedes Benz C63 AMG

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 265-35-18-W
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 12,000 Spirited miles

Nissan Skyline V35

I got these tyres as a temporary substitute when I changed my wheels. They were excellent in the dry and very good in the wet. The Dunlops also made the car quieter overall. Very little noise. I noticed too that the more they wore, the stickier they got. The sidewalls on these isn't as hard as the previous tyres, but the all out grip was impressive none the less. I would definitely buy a new set, but the price and availability make it hard to get.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-19-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD

Bought thee to replace a pair of dreadful Arrowspeed Performance UHP's after less than 1000 miles on them.
The Arrowspeeds were borderline dangerous on the rear, Stability control was triggering a lot and the car would sway about if changing lanes or changing direction quickly....simply can't say a good thing about them.
Dunlops have transformed the car, quieter, much more stable and very grippy in every way a nice match to the car

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.