Nankang AS1

The Nankang AS1 is a Summer Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Nankang AS1
66%[average]
Dry Grip
78%
Wet Grip
58%
Road Feedback
67%
Progressiveness
61%
Wear
67%
Comfort
67%
Buy Again
65%

Nankang AS1 Reviews

49%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Average miles

Vauxhall Mokka

Very good in the dry but awful on wet roads would go as far as dangerous , no grip just pulling out of junctions in the wet , wear is good but would never buy again

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-19-
21%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 2
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz S320

Fitted to the rear of an S-Class. Ok in the dry, but noisy. In the wet, outright dangerous, next to no grip. Snap overseer. Wore out in little over a month, compared to six normally for a premium tyre with equivalent driving. Avoid!

Tyre size reviewed: 265-40-18-W
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 5,000 Average miles

Vauxhall Mokka

Good in the dry , very poor on wet roads will not buy again you get what you pay for

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-19-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Audi A8

Fitted to front axle of S8 and so far used only in dry warm or damp warm conditions but reasonably impressed. S8's handling dynamics are very stable and safe to start with and have not had to test braking distances yet but overall good experience so far with comfort, noise levels and handling.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-40-20-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Track for 2,000 Spirited miles

Citroën 1.0 petrol

We use the AS1 as a designated tyre for the Citroen c1 race series, yes you heard correctly , a c1!!
They are put through 24 hr races and I can only say I’m amazed at the grip in both wet and dry conditions, I was always a bit of a brand snob but now will be using nankangs on all my road cars as well!
Didn’t really notice road noise but grip and wear rate is fantastic!

Tyre size reviewed: 165-60-14-V
31%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 2
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 2
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 300 Easy Going miles

Mazda Bongo Friendee

Bought four of these tryes and had wheel and car vibration at 60 mph.
Went back the where I bought the tyres from and they rebalanced the front wheels and it was still no good.
I then after a few weeks of getting my cars suspension checked out all of which were good.
I then went to our local Honda dealer and they checked the tyres again and they found that two tyres were out of round and not balancedable.
In effect no good at all.
Won't by them or recommend them to anyone'...

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Rover Mini

I drive a classic mini and normally run Yoko A539's but was urgently in need of two tyres to get through a MOT. With budget in mind, I tentatively purchased two AS1's @ £31 a tyre delivered (a little over the cost of 1 Yoko), result! Now I normally drive quite spiritedly ;-) but was initially cautious with these tyres. My first outing was on a 200+ mile club run along many B roads. Starting out, I soon realised these tyres were a lot more capable than I thought. In fact, I would say they are equally as good as the Yoko's. Road feedback is good, there's a little sliding around corners (when I'm really harsh) but it adds to the fun and they've never let go. Wet driving requires a little more attention but none less than the Yoko's ever needed. I'm no longer a brand snob and I am no a brand advocate for the AS1's in a 13". Will buy again! :-)

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-13-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Track for 0 Spirited miles

Volkswagen

excellent tyre, handeling on dry, and on wet. Most off time used on track. descending fast, but it's worth it. maybe if drive nat so aggressively, then tyre life time, will be longer.
two tyre sets of driven, and buy again

Tyre size reviewed: 175-50-13-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

Ford Mondeo Titanium X Sport

Got tired (geddit?) of paying close to £200 each for 235/40 R19 tyres that didn't last, so having read reviews put a full set of these on.

Very impressed. Not had any reason to doubt wet or dry grip, one emergency stop on a motorway with them on and they performed flawlessly.

Fairly quiet, comfortable, and have already lasted twice (yes, twice) as long as the Dunlop Sport MAXX that I had before, with plenty of life left.

Can't recommend enough.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-19-W
78%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 10,000 Average miles

Audi Q7

Very good tyres for the price compared to premium tyres. I originally had Michelin tyres, which were good but cost double the price and replaced all 4 tyres to Nankang AS1. Let's face it I am not going to be rally racing to notice the minor performance or braking benefits. Fuel efficiency made little or no difference compared to the saving of 1 new tyre let alone 2 new tyres. The wear is excellent, I have 3mm tread on all 4 tyres after 1 year 4 months and approx 10000 miles on motorway, tarmac road. Road noise is slightly more but cannot really tell on an SUV 4x4. Wet and Snow grip is not as good as premium tyres, but unless your driving in these conditions are the same as in dry then should not be an issue. Would I buy again yes.

Tyre size reviewed: 295-35-21-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.