Continental WinterContact TS 850

The Continental WinterContact TS 850 is a Winter Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental WinterContact TS 850
87%[average]
Dry Grip
88%
Wet Grip
90%
Road Feedback
85%
Progressiveness
85%
Wear
85%
Comfort
90%
Buy Again
90%

Continental WinterContact TS 850 Reviews (5)

99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 2,000 Average miles

Volvo V60 D2

Bought brand new Volvo V60, got it with summer Michelin Eco tyres and replaced with those witnter Continentals. The car sounds and handles much, much better. Those are really the best tyres ever.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 4,500 Spirited miles

Nissan Micra

Used these tyres on a K13 Nissan Micra mostly on Urban roads for approximately 7000 kms. The car normally had Bridgestone b250 tyres fitted from the factory. They were really bad on wet roads and never gave confidence. But with this Continentals I had much confidence on wet roads. Braking distances on wet and dry was much shorter than the Bridgestones. Also it was a quiet tyre. I would definetly buy it again

Tyre size reviewed: 175-60-15-T
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Passat

These tyre's are just excellent. I used these during the winter in Ireland since beginning of December 2012 and loved them. I had great trust in using the car in cold winter weather simply because of these tyre's. On days when I had planned to go up Dublin mountain, it snowed BUT I kept my plans because I knew these tyres where up to it. I even had an emergency breaking situation in heavy snow and the car stopped dead from 60 km/h, very little slip and always felt in control.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-16-H
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 2,000 Average miles

BMW 318D

This is the best tyre I had. Quiet, comfortable and with great grip. My BMW seems llike one category better car with these tyres. My only concern is if I would be able to find such good summer tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

BMW 320D

I replaced my Barum Bravuris 2 (205/55/16) summer tires with 4 of these Continentals (195/65/15) on my BMW e46 320d. What I noticed so far is that the fuel economy has improved significantly (about 0.5l/100km) and that the grip is a lot better than the one on the Barums - both dry and wet. The only downside is that the noise is louder now, but I guess that's normal when switching from summer to winter tyres. I'll update the review once I hit the snow with these tyres, which is very important to me since the BMW is a rear-wheel drive...
So far, so good... Definitely recommend them!

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-T
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,100 Spirited miles

Ford Focus MK1

I can only afford to run one set of tyres a year. So last year I fitted Winter Tyres and drove them all year round, (Kormoran SnowPro B2's to replace ContiSportContact2's) and they lasted 21,120 miles (+/- 1000 miles) in 12 months November 2011 to October 2012.

The main reason for investing in winter tyres was that I covered 13.9k motorway miles commuting to Derbyshire from Hampshire every weekend all year round and 7.2k miles on A & B roads commuting to work in Hampshire during the week. Majority of the time British weather is wet and cold and roads in general are slippery, seemed like a no brainer - there is significantly more road noise with winter tyres than summer tyres but the pay off is grip and confidence.

I decided to fit the TS 850 after reading all the positive reviews in auto express and various other sites. I've covered 1100 miles so far and I have noticed that there is significantly more grip than summer tyres (my set of snow pros were nearly bald and only 2 TS850's arrived at the start of november so I fit them to the front and the part worn contisport2s on the rear for 4 days); I found that the TS850 handled very well in the variance of wet and cold weather we have had so far. They offer a lot of grip and only noticed that my back end was slipping at higher speeds (only controlled by ESP) on wet or oil/slippery roundabouts and country roads as well as motorways.

I will update the review in January 2013 but all in all - I am happy with my investment so far as grip has been noticeble and that was my main reason in purchasing these tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-60-15-H
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 0 Easy Going miles

SEAT LEON 1.6 105 bhp

Had these fitted a few weeks ago and was very imprressed...that was until two days ago I drove them on ice in our street and were struggling with grip. very dissapointed. Steering is lighter than summer tyres and a lotquieter inside. Have yet to try in snow

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Easy Going miles

Suzuki SX4 SZ5 2.0 DDIS 4x4

Now done 2 weeks on 4 new Contis fitted on steel wheels on a Suzuki SX4 61 reg. First impressions are very good, cold 5C wet road braking, steering and acceleration all improved over a set of summer Contis. Frost and ice on our drive tackled without even using the 4 wheel drive. The car seems quieter than the summer tyres and more comfortable over Kirklees's crap roads! My wife says she feels more confident driving the car. The summer tyres are 205/60/16 on alloys I was told that moving to 195/65/15 would be better with winter tyres and so far this advice is justified.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30 Average miles

Audi A4 Avant1.9 Tdi SE

Just had these fitted today so will report back how I get on with them...noticed they are a lot quieter than my summer tyres

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.