Continental WinterContact TS 850

The Continental WinterContact TS 850 is a Winter Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental WinterContact TS 850
87%[average]
Dry Grip
88%
Wet Grip
90%
Road Feedback
85%
Progressiveness
85%
Wear
85%
Comfort
90%
Buy Again
90%

Continental WinterContact TS 850 Reviews (3)

97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 10,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen EOS

I did not test these at snow yet. The only thing i can say is that these are amazing in wet!! Fantastic grip, tried to aquaplan but i couldn't. 220km/h in torrential rain, soft turns, with no aquaplaning!! Very good grip at dry roads with no very fast lane change cause of soft wallside. I recommend these for winter tires!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
88%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

BMW 116i

I used this tyre for the first time and i found it near excellent.Wet and dry grip is very good.Snow grip is fantastic even for a rear wheel drive car.It provides acceptable grip even on thin ice.I strongly recommend this tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

Ford Focus 2.0 S TDCi

Excellent tyre, driven for a 3rd season. Very good grip both on dry and wet. Snow grip is near perfect. Good road feedback and progressivnes. Excellen wear ratio. Comfort is good but sidewalls are a little bit soft. Definitely would buy again!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 11,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen golf 2.0 gt tdi

The best ever winter tyre. It stops car in show, on golf mkvi 2.0 tdi aquaplaning is totally avoided. On same place were I cannot go with summer tyre more than 80kmh with this tyre i can go faster when raining.

Only what i don't like is sound which produces when driving higher then 50kmh and temp is more than 4C.

But on snow... it can what neither one can.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
98%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 700 Average miles

Mazda 3 Series

My winter tires before these were some Yokohama or something like that, which were OK first winter but after really really bad.

Till now I had summer tires from Toyo, Proxis something, these tires were bad from the first day, grip while accelerating was awful even on dry roads, and even worse on wet.

Aquaplaning on these Toyo's was dangerous, sliding car around, slowing it down and so...

They weren't noisy but when I tried Contintental TS 850 which are actually winter tires I felt like I've bought a new car.

- less power needed to accelerate (no idea how this actually is possible, must be a magic?)
- amazing grip on dry and wet (no snow yet here)
- difference in braking is incomparable, TS 850 stops just at the moment you hit the breaks
- oh my, driving these tires on wet roads is a heaven, amazing sound while speeding, no worry of skidding, sliding while hitting aquaplaning driving 100kmh on wet without any problem
- noise is really low, and wouldn't call that the noise as I enjoy the sound :D

Also I've noticed that I spent less gas compared to summer tires, again, magic?

I just love these tires that I would like to use them all year :D

RECOMMENDING it to anyone!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 500 Spirited miles

Opel astra h 1.6

Excellent on snow, excellent on wet. Perfect on dry. Good cornering stability. Not so quiet as my previous Goodyear UG7,especially on wet and on some country roads. Good breaking. Still wasn't test it on ice. Became too soft at temperatures over 10 degree C. Perfect at temperatures below 5 degree C.
Enormous traction and grip on snow, excellent stability in 15cm snow (not cleaned road). Even at speed 55 mph. Great tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-T
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Average miles

BMW 325d

very very comfort and smooth ride.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Average miles

Renault Fluence

Had these Continentals for the past winter. Overall, all the good reviews about them are well founded.
I mostly drove in-town, with weekly country roads, or mountain regions drive. Very good traction in snow, even got out of a frozen snowy muddy 20 cm deep puddle in a forest road, without too much effort. Drove it offroad in that forest about 50km, with places with snow as deep as 40 cm, no problems at all. We had very little snow last year in town, so the traction/brakeing in dry/wet are above my summer Michelin Energy Saver (of course, using the Michelin during summer).
They are just as confortable as the summer Michelins, but not as noisy. Quite quiet these Contis are. In about 6000 miles, the wear on front is about 1.5 mm lower, max, almost no difference on the back. So the wear is pretty good too.

So: Continental WinterContact TS850 is one performant tyre, must buy, with only one drawback - they are expensive. In my country (Romania) I bought them (new) with 385 euros (~300 pounds). And this was the maximum price for a winter tyre on 205/65/r15. Otherwise, one very good all-rounder.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-65-15-
85%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

BMW 320D M Sport

I chose those in december '13 due to a lot of positive feedback from members of the local BMW club. They are very quiet and comfy. The sidewalls feel too soft to me, but this is not a problem as in the winter I don't push the car much.
On snow those provided a superior grip, both on the highway and while climbing a very narrow mountain roads covered with snow and ice. They inspire confidence and really shine on ice, where I think their performance is most impressive.

What I don't like about those is how easily the rears start spinning on wet when taking off. However braking is very good in both dry and wet. I also didn't like the price, but after driving them this last winter, I think that they are totally worth it.

I can not comment on wear since it appears there is none. I have done only a few thousand miles with them and the weather got crazy so i changed to the summer setup. For those few thousand miles there is no visible wear and the tires still look brand new like when I got them from the shop.

I highly recommend them if your winter season is more of snow&ice than wet.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-16-H
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 6,000 Average miles

Honda Accord

The best winter tire tested in Romania!

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-H

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.