Falken FK453

The Falken FK453 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Falken FK453
64%[average]
Dry Grip
76%
Wet Grip
70%
Road Feedback
61%
Progressiveness
58%
Wear
59%
Comfort
68%
Buy Again
58%

Falken FK453 Reviews

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

BMW 320D M Sport

These tyres have gone on the rear off the car.
I loved the 452, the 453 are even better, with great feedback, no noise, amazing grip in the dry & wet. Even tried to push it to the limit and they still gripped the road and wanted more. Feel very confident with these tyres in dry & wet. would defo buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-17-
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

BMW 320D M Sport

Very good tyres, with excellent dry & wet grip, even when pushed hard, These are now down to the legal limit and are still holding the road, Wear has been at a very good rate and I would defo buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-17-V
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz S320

Just purchased these tyres and replaced our continentals sport contact 3 on our s class Mercedes and so far the tyre is fantastic. As we run a top London chauffeur service we need tyres that are great in comfort, grip, wear and low road noise. I will update on wear once we do some iles on thm, we use the fk452s on our other vehicles and I can honestly say these tyres are better already. www.londonchauffeuruk.co.uk

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 200 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz Mercedes SLK 55 AMG

OK, just put them on, only done 200 miles. Amazing compared to Michelin PS2's. Always bought the best, hence PS2's, but, these tyres thud instead of slap over road cracks. Quieter, and so direct, now got over-steer, yum yum! Don't know about wear, too early, but damn sticky, hence the lower rating on wear. Buy again, absolutely! Plus, they look so good as well! Not in UK yet, got from Germany, get them before the prices go up!

Tyre size reviewed: 255-30-19-W
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 300 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf Mk4 1,6 16V

The tyres are about 500kilometers old, so not so much testing yet, so far in Sweden sun and rain, very good grip and feeling, not so silent, but that's not cinturato p7 either, I have run on FK451 & FK452 before, and I just love them, cheap and with my street needs they all have done such a great job! I recommend Falken FK453

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 500 Average miles

Mercedes Benz SLK 350

Had these on my slk 350 and were amazing first ran continentals but wear was way uneven then tried fk452 werent to bad but little noisy and mileage was decent now got the fk453 for 500 miles and can see much better than the fk452 definite buy again and tires look amazing

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Toyota supra turbo

Past 20years i have been through a wide range of tyres on my turbo cars but it's the first time i have been impressed with a budget street tyre.
On my mildly modified supra (400hp) they perform much better than i expected.
Biggest suprise is how much grip they had in the wet. The grip in the wet is nearly as good as in the dry (straight line acceleration). And for a wide tyres they aren't unsettled by big puddles of water on the freeway. Everything else i've had in a 275 width would aquaplane badly.
Highly recommended and will buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-40-17-W
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

BMW Z4 3.0

Great value for money, decent life expectancy considering the driving style.
There are better tyres out there but I found those to be fun and predictable.
Grip is not my priority as I like a lively car.
I had preferred the FK452, but those are OK replacements...

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Ford Mondeo ST220

Just completed 20000 miles on a set of these and for the price you will find these at most tyreshops they are pretty good value. In the year I've had these the only criticism I would have with these would be the following-

1 - They are quite noisy, on UK roads and motorways the road noise is as loud as the rest of the car

2 - They seem to have quite hard sidewalls as I could feel every little bump in the road, even joins between sections of roads result in a noticeable thud when passing over them

3 - When worn they become very skittish at high speed on uneven road surfaces (country B-roads etc), you will need to keep a hold on the wheel when on the straights as they tramline a fair bit

I wore my fronts down to the limit (or maybe just past it as they resembled slicks!) and in the wet I still found it fairly hard to break them free, and they didn't seems to aquaplane often.

If you don't want to break the bank then there isn't much else in this price range that will be any better and to get 20000 miles out of them I felt was pretty good value for money.

Overall, this is the 2nd set of Falkens I've had (prev 452's) and have never had any major problems with them, would definitely buy them again if money is tight.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
75%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 1,000 Average miles

Audi A4 2.0 TFSI (205 bhp)

Audi A4 b7 2.0 TFSI ( 220 BHP ) These have replaced Michelin Pilot Sport. These were an excellent tyre , swapped front to back at 10 k and got another 10k. Had all 4 corners replaced with the Falken's at Deemon Tweeks ( excellent service ). Early days but so far so good. Good grip dry and wet , Quiet and good road feel. Look great , will have to see how they effect fuel economy and how many miles I can get out of them.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.