Hankook Ventus S1 evo2

The Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Hankook Ventus S1 evo2
77%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
79%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
80%
Wear
69%
Comfort
79%
Buy Again
70%

Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 Reviews

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Ford Focus mk2

Best performance tyre for it's money.
I certainly recomment them for spirited driving! And not only because they are great cruisers. Comfortable, absolutely no road noisy, great fuel economy. I have used semi slicks. Sticky, but high noise and bad wet safety made me go trough a research for a balanced performer all round.

Almost bought good year assymeteic 2, but the soft board stopped me.

Hankook K117 have massive strong board, which is the best thing. You got great stability round cornesrs. And feedback. Despite hard rubber they are totally quite. Im amazed by this south korean tyres!

My set is made in Korea(hankooks homeground). Don't choose too much, choose Hankooks. I recommend them for spirited driving with 150-400bhp cars.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Skoda Kodiaq 2.0TDi

Fitted as standard to my 2017 Kodiaq 140kw TDi and they are superb. Yes a summer tyre but I took them to the mountains and they coped fine with compacted snow / ice without chains. They are very quiet, no perceptible road noise, and the dry grip in an SUV is phenomenal. Early days to adequately judge wear but so far so good. I will definitely look to replace like for like when it comes around for a change.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-19-W
98%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 0 Average miles

Toyota Avensis estate 1.8 petrol

I got these tires with a set of rims I bought second hand, and didn't think to much about the tires before I bought the wheels.... I bought them near the end of the winter season, and I wouldn't put them on for another 2 months.... I just wanted those rims! :D
But when I DID put the wheels on my car......... man alive! :-) They are excellent in corners, at least compared to the Syron race 1's I had on before (which were 225/45R18), I didn't feel as confident with the Syrons as I do with these Hankooks.
They are excellent, and though I haven't driven them hard in rain yet, because either the weather hasn't felt like raining, or when it DID rain, I had the family with in the car....so less incentive to test... I would have little qualms about taking a corner at a slightly higher speed than with my Syron tires.

When they wear out, I'm trying another brand though, with better scores on fuel efficiency, just to see. Either way, I'm going to go for a larger tire next time, because the speedo is off about 10% according to my GPS (on a flat road), and also the "speedo-boards" we have on the side of the road, here in Denmark. So going to 245/45R18 next time.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Audi A4 1.8T S Line

These are the best all season tyres I've had on my car. They are excellent for cutting through water and were very good in the snow. The grip in the dry is very good too. I have 5mm on the front drive tyres and done around 10,000 miles.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 22,000 Spirited miles

Opel Vectra C 1.9CDTi 150bhp

I've bought them last year (06/2015) and they were excellent. In my opinion dry and wet grip were perfect. Only once, at a motorway when I was going 165km/h I felt aquaplaning for a second. I've never felt scared to drive during the heavy rain. Dry grip is also perfect, litlle bit more than 100km/h on a curve entering motorway wasn't a problem. For me & my wife they weren't loud, even better than Conti SportContact 3. My set lasted 35000km, I think it's a decent result. (Unfortunately I can't compare they wear to other, because those Conti weren't new, when I bought them). Now they are about 2mm, but even at the end of using them, I didn't feel any problems.
I'd definitely buy them again, moreover I think I'll buy next two sets of them, for me and my dad. Hovewer I'm considering also Nokian zLine and Falken Azenis FK510, just to try sth other.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 36,000 Easy Going miles

SEAT LEON ST 1.6TDi SE DSG

They came fitted on my SEAT LEONwhich I bought on 10/2015. I have been using them ever since, after 60000km front ones are almost at the wearing limit, they started squeaking while parking at ~25.000 miles. Rear ones are still ok, so I´m going to switch them to the front wheels.
They have a stunning performance on wet conditions and the dry grip is ok. After 20000 miles they started to lose some grip on starting to move on certain conditions (mostly trying to get on a roundabout) and the ESP had to take control for a second.
They have behaved well, and although I´m considering to try another brand, these are good tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Tiguan

What can I say? These tires are just amazing.
Came standard on my Tiguan 1.4tsi. Amazing grip in both dry and wet.. and to be such quiet tires at the same time it just blew me away how well these hankooks perform.. no tire squeal ever even under high speed cornering ..

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-18-V
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Lexus ls460l

Best pick for the price. Way much better than my previous Dunlop Sp 101-s. Rear ones have about 4.5mm left, so the wear is quite high compaired for example Continental CSC5-s, which I had under my previous car - Citroen DS3 THP, but that could also be the result of my driving style and much heavier and powerful rwd car.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-19-W
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz C280 sport

I switched to these on my Mercedes because I was delighted with the all round performance of Hankook Optimos on an Opel Corsa that I also drive (high profile small car tires are truly terrible).
The Ventus S1 Evo2's followed Michelin Pilot Sports and the difference is, less noise, lighter handling, softer ride and equally great grip. I can't really say in the wet since I almost allways drive on dry road.
I really like the performance of Hankook tyres and they make the most of both cars. I wouldn't hesitate to buy them again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Citroën C4

Hello you all :)

I've bought these tires in March 2015 and finished the season in the starting of November 2015. So after 15k miles (22k km) i have to say that they are excellent ! My tire dimension in 225/45/ZR17 XL. They grip is excellent in every condition. The way the tire manages water is very good and in the heated summer days the tire has a system to dissipate heat from the interior. The tires are class E on fuel consumption but there is a big advantage here: the grip better than because there soft; the main disadvantage is that they wear faster. The next summer i think is going to be the last one for them and after that will buy a new pair.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.