Continental Eco Contact 5

The Continental Eco Contact 5 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental Eco Contact 5
67%[average]
Dry Grip
79%
Wet Grip
67%
Road Feedback
67%
Progressiveness
66%
Wear
74%
Comfort
66%
Buy Again
53%

Continental Eco Contact 5 Reviews

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 0 Average miles

Mercedes Benz A

Awesome tyre, really comfortable and very quiet, solid, controlled feel, excellent grip.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-H
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Jaguar S type 3.0

Had these fitted to replace P6000s on my Jaguar S Type. What a difference!
Full marks all round. So quiet on most road surfaces and a real feeling of grip.
Precise handling and total confidence.

Brilliant, so glad I waited for them to become available.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,200 Average miles

Skoda Fabia 1.4TDi

Excellent tyres. Very good on any surface, a huge improvement over the Matador tyres my car had before. The best part is the ultra low rolling resistance, the car can go further without any acceleration. I managed to break my old record of 4.1 l/100 with an impressive 3.3. Great tyres, I will definitely buy Continentals next time.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-14-T
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4 Average miles

Alfa Romeo 145 1.6 Boxer

Excellent

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-14-H
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Fiat Panda

Came fitted on new 2016 panda pop since day till now 3000 MLS later think they are a great all rounder ,only a bit noisier on some road surfaces & slight wheel spin at junctions on cold wet nights ,but probably more to do with my driving & road conditions,all in all would have no hesitation in recommending or buying again when the time comes 9/10 .

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 9 Spirited miles

Fiat 500 Abarth

Originally I was skeptical about fitting Eco tires on my car, but I decided to get on with the suggestion from many friends. So, last year I got 4 brand new Eco Contact 5s and just waited to see the results.

These tires are exceptional, my 500 Abarth is gripping and gripping in both wet and dry roads. The tires are 16 months old and they still have 4mm thread rear and 3,5mm front - which I think is remarkable, given my abusive driving style. The provide warning of understeer early and they are also very quiet. So far I haven't noticed a performance drop, they perform just as they did after they were "ran-in" for about 1,500 km - not even slightly less.

Would I buy them again? Simple answer, Definitely - thanks to everyone for the recommendation - some people still don't believe (wrongly so, as it turns out) the Eco 5s are that capable in a hot little car.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-45-16-
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 800 Spirited miles

Toyota Corolla

Very balanced and comfortable tyres and really ultra low rolling resistance.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-60-15-H
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 45,000 Average miles

Ford Connect LWB Van

great tires! had it on my work/camper ford transit connect (lwb). took it to russia & back twice. all over europe. as long as on the road it felt great in any condition, though off road or little in the mud it looses grip quickly. wear is amazing - bough these with 53k miles on the clock - now almost 100k and are almost gone (did swap front/rear half way). since i go travelling more often camping in forests i might get something more grippy next, but otherwise if in the city then i highly recommend!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 500 Average miles

Fiat Panda

I was disappointed when I found out that my new car was going to have eco tyres as standard having used the original Conti Eco Contacts around 8 years ago and finding them dangerous in the wet. However, my plans to swap the eco tyres were dropped after only a few miles.

In dry conditions, you can't tell you've got an eco tyre under you. They perform just as well as the best performance tyres I've used and in the wet they provide surprising grip, although not quite as planted as in the dry (like all tyres I suppose).

The ride comfort is very good and the only potential criticism is slightly higher road noise than I'm used to but they're still far from the worst in this respect.

I can't comment on wear having only done 500 miles so far. Suffice to say, they still look like new!

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-H
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 16,000 Spirited miles

Citro├źn C3

Excellent all rounders, these grip well and have nice feel to them in all conditions, and my fuel consumption has edged up from 60mpg to 62mpg since changing from Avon ZV3 to these. Beginning to show wear on the front but so good on all other parameters I'm going for these again next.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-15-H

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.