Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D

The Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D
88%[average]
Dry Grip
89%
Wet Grip
94%
Road Feedback
88%
Progressiveness
87%
Wear
87%
Comfort
93%
Buy Again
93%

Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D Reviews

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen Golf Mk6

Like the Winter Sport 3d only slightly better! Best winter tyre!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Average miles

Ford Focus

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 200 Average miles

Ford Galaxy

Just purchased a set of these tyres, and all I can say is that they're simply amazing.
The car was rendered useless when the snow fell last year, until I invested in a pair of snow socks. Car can now be driven up snow/ice covered hills etc. with ease.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-16-H
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Jaguar XF S

I've just completed my 3rd winter season on there tyres totalling approx 20,000 miles on all road types & conditions. Fantastic grip in corners, stopping power and comfort, very quiet on all read surfaces and even after 20k miles have 5mm of tread left. Gives great confidence when driving in winter conditions that I've never felt before. The only reason for not giving 100% is a very slight squirming in the dry when taking fast "S" bends, but with such a heavy car I can't complain. A fantastic tyre and would definitely recommend and buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-45-19-W
98%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Audi A3 Sport

Very good in the wet we've had recently. Not actually been too bad on the usually hot days either.

Not tried these on snow yet but can't wait!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 400 Average miles

Audi A4 2.0 TDI 140 SLine

One word: wow! I’ve been using the Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme’s on my Audi A4 for the last few Winters & boy they were good but these are even better. Only put them on last week so obviously can’t comment on wear but they really excel in all winter conditions. Took the car up Cairngorm mountain road where there was a few inches of fresh snow and the car felt solid as if you were driving on a dry summers road! Had temps of -1c with black ice recently in Inverness and again the car feels planted on the road in icy conditions. In cold rainy weather going through puddles isn’t daunting anymore…the car just goes through them without any fuss. In dry cold weather again the grip is amazing.

Comfort is excellent, very quiet and just a gentle rumble when going over rough tarmac or potholes

On the downside they weren’t cheap, around £155 per corner from lovetyres but I did buy them in the middle of winter so suppose I had to pay a premium. Buy them, you won’t regret it!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-V
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Fiat Stilo

Very, very good tyre. Noisy at speed 10-20 km/h.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Toyota Prius III

It's hard to imagine a winter tire more capable than this in central European winters. Meaning rainy, cold, freeezing and snowy. Variable conditions require a tire to be good in all winter domains. This Dunlop 4D is the best winter tire I have ever used. It's even rather comfortable even against an all season or summer tyre. That is no easy task. I'm sure thee are better tyres in the rain, or ones that are better pure snow tires. But this is the best all rounder I have experienced. It's even transformed a understeering machine Prius, into dare I say something confidence inspiring.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-H
95%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Jaguar XF S

First impressions are excellent, very quiet, comfortable, great handling and immense grip in both dry & wet cold conditions, significantly better than my standard OE summer tyres. Would buy again & recommend without hesitation. Too early to tell how they ware or cope with snow, but other reviews give me confidence.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-19-
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 45,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf MK4 TDI 100

Drove them all year around in the UK. Probably 60% motorway driving, with usually minimum 2 passengers and speed around 65mph. These are excellent winter tyres that lasted me around 50k miles! Will definitely buy again!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.