Vredestein Quatrac Lite

The Vredestein Quatrac Lite is a All Season High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Vredestein Quatrac Lite
84%[average]
Dry Grip
86%
Wet Grip
87%
Road Feedback
80%
Progressiveness
81%
Wear
86%
Comfort
87%
Buy Again
83%

Vredestein Quatrac Lite Reviews

96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Renault megane cc

Review only after 1 month use. Former tyres were Michelin Energy Saver.
These tyres safe even better fuel. More noiseless as Michelin. Better steering direction. About wear it is to young for that. I am happy with these tyres. No more tyre changes twice a year with wintertyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Average miles

Citro├źn C4

I have had All Seasons in the past and they were good in the snow but poor during the summer, so I purchased the Lites not expecting much. The 205/50/17VR covered 6000 Miles mainly in the rain during 2012. Excellent in the wet, adding greater straight line stability when hitting standing water. On the few dry days the tyres were fine and did not break traction even when provoked. There was no discernable difference in ride comfort from my previous Michelins. During colder weather tyres gripped well on cold wet roads with excellent braking and lateral stability when cornering. During snow in January I had my doubts about how the tyres would compared to my normal Winter Yokohama W Drives. Driving up the gentle slope of my icy driveway the Lites coped with no problems with four inches of snow. Out on the road they inspired confidence on Ice and snow. In an ice covered rural farm yard in which one struggled to stand, I left a Audi A4 with Quattro on summer tyres with wheels spinning while I drove out as normal. So far I have had not had to use the snow setting on my Automatic transmission to set off or turn off the traction control. Finally, an excellent all rounder.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-V
88%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 500 Average miles

Kia Motors Rio 5

extremely grippy and extremely quiet, it has transformed an otherwise mediocre car. very impressed so far will amend once I have winter tested.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-14-H
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Mazda 6 2.0 D

Have used separate winters and summers in the past (north-east UK) but not doing enough mileage to justify 2 sets any more.

Not driven in snow or less than 4C yet, but in colder weather are very decent in the dry and wet. In warmer weather (18C) grip absolutely fine but feel a little squidgy. The steering is just a little 'slow' rather than vague and is absolutely fine once turned in. Not understeery like I had feared.

Fuel economy is excellent, they deal with potholes and poor roads very well and feel nice for general driving. They're fine for brisk driving too, once you get used to the squidgy turn in when warm. They handled some spirited driving round the Scottish Highlands just fine, and I didn't wish I had summers.

Overall, far nicer than Michelin Energys in every way and are a compromise I'm happy to deal with provided they are at least usable should snow arrive. Beware, are very slippy when new!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 5,000 Average miles

BMW 116i

Fitted to our rear wheel driven BMW 116i - Quiet, Good wear and comfortable with very low noise. Drove up quite an incline in snow / slush covered road - they just gripped and got on with the job, no dramas! They grip very well in wet and admirably in dry. Not as good as summer tyres in summer but they are all season.

Only slight downside is that they are not really progressive. They tend to just let go if pushed round bends.

Recommend these for any lower powered car.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
78%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 4,000 Average miles

Mazda 6

Can't comment on the wear rate as we have only had them on since November. They have been much quieter and given a more comfortable ride then the tyres they replaced. The steering feel on turn in is a little less sharp but not significant. wet grip has been good, not had much experience of the dry but it has been at least average. In the snow this last few months they have been excellent, a significant improvement over summer tyres, I've definitely driven in conditions that would have left me stuck had I been on regular summer tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-15-V
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Honda Accord

I bought these after previously using Kleber Quadraxer and Goodyear 4 Vector Seasons on other cars.

They are fairly quiet. They grip well. However there is a major downside which is the sidewalls seem very stiff. These tyres are sold as energy saving and have a low rolling resistance, I'm sure there are compromises in the design to achieve this. They filter out high frequency noise but don't seem to filter out low frequency noise very well, so the sound of rough tarmac and little surface irregularities can be felt and heard. Bumps come through and make the ride quite bad, I have had to deflate the tyres below the recommended level to try and get the ride back to normal.
Not only that but even with the tyres pumped up the MPG of my car did not improve at all! So I cannot recommend these really. I would go back to the Kleber Quadraxers which give a smooth ride, are better value even though they may grip a little less. The goodyear vectors were somewhere in the middle not soft and not hard and were more expensive.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.