Pirelli Scorpion Zero

The Pirelli Scorpion Zero is a Summer High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a SUV and 4x4.

Pirelli Scorpion Zero
67%[average]
Dry Grip
80%
Wet Grip
69%
Road Feedback
71%
Progressiveness
60%
Wear
61%
Comfort
70%
Buy Again
57%

Pirelli Scorpion Zero Reviews

97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 40,000 Average miles

Land Rover Range Rover V8 Autobiography

I put these onto my V8 petrol Range Rover at 35k miles to replace the original Michelin road tyres and expected to get through them in about 25k miles. Just gone past 75k miles and having to replace the front two due to a road-debri puncture on one and near end of life on the other. The back two appear to have several thousand more miles to do. I was stunned when I checked to see what mileage I'd achieved.

When new, the change in handling on the car was noticeably better, especially in very wet weather and in snow. These tyres are a happy compromise between a road tyre's quietness and fuel efficiency (which didn't degrade at all) and an off-road tyre's grip. I'm sticking with this tyre and will convert my other cars to them gradually

Tyre size reviewed: 255-50-20-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 30,000 Spirited miles

Mazda CX7

Surprised to get over 30k out of these tyres on a Mazda CX-7 and they're only just reaching the limit and ready for change. Impressed at the performance at the price, best value branded tyre to be found. Spirited driving does not seem to impact wear and the handling is great too. Don't risk (slightly) cheaper mid price or economy.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-60-18-V
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz Mercedes GL 500

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 295-40-21-V
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 25 Spirited miles

Volvo XC60

New Scorpion Zero's fitted when I bought my used 2012 AWD XC60.
I have been impressed with their all-round performance. On my previous car (V W Sharan) I had to try various tyres to get one that suited, ended up buying Michelins as they were best for wear, breaking etc. But after driving on these for 25K, I consider them value for money considering constant AWD. I noticed the Pirelli website now promotes the P Zero tyre, but looking at the reviews I am concerned over the performance in wet conditions and wear speed.
I am looking to pay a little more for the Scorpions and have a continuation of the performance I now have.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-60-18-
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Volvo XC90 D5 (163bhp)

13,300 and the front left if 80% worn, front right not too far behind. Rears appear in a better shape. Not great in the wet.
Will not be purchasing these again.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-60-18-V
53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Easy Going miles

Land Rover Freelander 2

I had a full set of 4 tires fitted, I'm not a lead footed boy racer driver. The type of driving is 50% motorway 50% town driving.
The tires were great at first (When New) in the wet and country roads etc.
They are a summer a tire and are very poor in the in the smallest amount of Snow, so don't think about using them for as a winter tire.(Get a set of winter tires)
The wear rate has been much higher then I would have liked 15 thousand miles and I'm looking to replace them, (They are around the 3mm) I would normally get at least 25 to 30 thousand miles from a set of tires.
Would I buy them again, NO I don't think so, there are not good value for money. You get what you pay for, they may be slightly cheaper than other makes this because they only last for half the time.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-60-18-
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Mercedes Benz Mercedes GL 500

I have a mercedes GL, with 15000 miles on the scorpions. In the last 5000 miles they were always out of balance, numerous times they were re blanced, but still there was a vibration. Finally, I noted the sidewall breaking down, with some rubber falling off , about 4 cm in diam. This had developed on 3 tyres, one on the outside (the one i first notice) and the other two on the inside. NO, I would definately not recommend them for this vehicle again. The tyres were always properly inflated.

Tyre size reviewed: 295-40-21-
36%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

BMW 218d Active Tourer

Awful tyre, unbelievable wear rate coupled with very poor grip in damp or wet conditions. You'd expect with a wear rate like this that they'd stick like glue but simply not the case. Have lasted c8000 miles on the front of an X3, the rears which are P zero rosso are brilliant. Would definitely not buy again, worst tyre I've ever had.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-19-
31%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 2
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz GL450

BE AWARE DON’T GET THESE TIRES!! ACCORDING TO PIRELLI THEY HAVE NO WARRENTY ON THEM!!!!
I purchased these tires for my wife’s suv. In 4000 miles these tires have worn down to 2/32nd in the rear and 6/32 in the front. My wife is the safest driver I have ever met, I assure you she isn’t drag racing her suv on the weekends. I have been forced to buy a new pair of tires, and have only had them for 10 months, which means another grand out the door. This is pathetic, and when I called Pirelli I was told that I have the Asimmetrico tires (which I don’t) then I was told all scorpion zero tires are high performance and offer no warranty at all, and the best they could do is offer me 10% off my next set of tires. What a Joke. I have 4 cars, three of which have Pirelli tires on them and once the tread ware on each of them warrants replacement I will not be going back to Pirelli.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-55-19-
0%

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Nissan 2002 patrol

I have a new shape Nissan Xtrail i had Pirelli Scorpion Zero 255 55 19 fitted on the rear of the vehicle and ever since my 4 wheel drive system according to my dash is overheating.I usually leave the car in Auto mode which stops the front wheels spinning when i pull away on an incline.I like the look of the tyres and they seem good to drive on in any weather condition.I can't really comment about the wear rate.l would appreciate any views about my problem before i contact Nissan

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.