Avon ZZ5

The Avon ZZ5 is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Avon ZZ5
81%[average]
Dry Grip
89%
Wet Grip
83%
Road Feedback
82%
Progressiveness
85%
Wear
69%
Comfort
81%
Buy Again
78%

Avon ZZ5 Reviews

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Average miles

Subaru Legacy 3.0R Spec B

Car feels fantastic on these boots. Too early to comment on wear after only 3 months so no rating given for that.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Audi TT

Absolutely delighted with the ZZ5. They give a surefooted drive and high grip with low noise and great straight line stability. Can't comment on the overall durability yet as my mileage is low - but they don't appear to be scrubbing. The rim protection is one of the best I've had on a tyre. My past favourite was the Good year F1 GSD3 and the Avon ZZ5 is even better then they used to be.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-18-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Ford Fiesta ST

Just had a full set of these fitted to my fiesta st. What can I say, from driving out the garage with these on the road noise is reduced and ride quality seems so much better than my previous Avon zz3. I tried to replace the zz3 with another set of zz3's but for some reason the garage couldn't get them in my size so I ended up getting the zz5's instead. I'm happy that I did. These seem to be even better than the zz3's when it comes to grip and ride quality in both wet and dry. I have deffinetelly noticed better grip in wet weather on the same stretch of road I often go down.
I have had all sorts of tyres on the st…

Yokohama a539's - these were dangerous. In the dry they were good but in the wet it was like driving on ice, they were so unpredictable, you could just loose control with normal driving.

Wanli s9000 - decided to try these knowing they were a budget tyre. What a mistake!!! After a while they started going down. I thought I must have a puncture but I didn't. Basically they were leaking round the rim so I ended up having to buy a another full set. This is when I decided to buy a quality brand.

Avon zz3 - this was the first set of tyres that I was truly happy with. A quality brand, great grip in the dry good grip in the wet.

Avon zz5 - recently had these fitted. I knew I wanted another set of Avons considering the price is great and the quality is fantastic. As far as I'm concerned you won't get better for the price, these seem even better than the zz3's, dry and wet grip is fantastic road noise is reduced and ride quality is improved over my previous set. I will certainly stick to avons. It's nice knowing you have quality rubber underneath you that you can trust.

I hope this review helps. The moral of the story is, from my experience buying cheap doesn't work, infact it ends you costing you more in the long run. If your into your fast cars and require good rubber I would recommend Avon...

Tyre size reviewed: 205-40-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 16,000 Spirited miles

SEAT EXEO ST TDI 170CR

Brilliant! Best tyres I've ever bought. Both wet and dry grip is superb, even now the fronts are down to 3mm. The wear rate is good too. 16k miles from the front set and the rears are still on 6mm. Ive just ordered another two for the front. I do a combination of motorway and country roads (quickly when circumstances allow) in all weathers and I have not had cause to worry about the performance of these Avons at any time. They obviously suit my SEAT Exeo ST TDI 170 CR Sport Tech with its 170 bhp turbo diesel and stiff suspension. AND they are made in the UK! Whats not to like?

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Volvo S90

Each time I buy a car invariably it is fitted with Pirelli / Bridgestone tyres and I've learnt to change to Avon's when it's time to change tyres. Latest car came with Pirelli P Zero, a good tyre especially in the dry, but with 20 inch wheels they were too hard and a noisy. Tendency to find every little road imperfection and I guessed the car would feel better on Avons and it does, a little reduced noise and a significant improved ride quality. I don't know if it's because they are made in UK but Avon's suit British climate and roads, they seem to be more flexible in cold wet weather than many brands which gives you very good assurance and grip. They hold on well in wet or dry, never had a problem with wheelspin at junctions on wet roads where you need to pull out quickly. Overall I cannot fault the tyres and of course they are significantly less expensive than other brands. Wear not fully tested yet on these ZZ5s hence lower score, but I know from previous Avon's wear isn't normally an issue.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-20-W
98%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 200 Average miles

MG ZT 135+ CDTi

Brought Mg ZT cheap.Could not keep it in straight line .Steering pulling all over place on back roads.
Had steering alignment checked - dead straight .
Had track rod ends steering joints checked - not a problem.
Changed cheap tyres which had 5mm tread left.
WHAT A DIFFERENCE AVON ZZ5 have made.
I cannot tell you how happy i am .
Thought I would have to spend loads on parts to make this car safe.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-
98%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen MKV GTI

PERFECTLY SUITED TO MY CAR.VERY SECURE WET WEATHER PERFORMANCE.DRY GRIP AND STEERING FEEL VERY PLEASING>STILL TRYING TO FIND A DOWNSIDE TO THE BEST TYRE I HAVE EVER PUT ON MY CAR>

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
98%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,500 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5 bbr tuned

3rd report
zz5's fitted to the rear 3 weeks ago,and instantly provided more rear grip, even in the downpour on sunday 29/07/18
when the car was driven in a ...err..spirited manor
car has covered 1500+ miles so far on the new zz5's

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 200 Average miles

Audi A4 2.0 TDI 140 SLine

Fitted ZZ5's all round last week replacing worn Continentals and they transformed the handling of my car. Better grip, lower road noise and a much improved ride. The tyre fitter I spoke to recommended Avon saying they were very underrated and for the price I have to agree. Can't comment on the wear rate yet but would happily trade a little for all the benefits I've seen so far plus the fact they are made in the UK.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-W
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Jaguar S Type 4.2 Sport Plus

The car sticks like glue to the road, wet or dry, it really feels like I'm driving a go-cart, brings a smile to my face every time I drive it. Replaced a mixed bag of ms-matched cheap tyres on the front and Pirelli P-Zeros on the back, noticed the difference straight away - suddenly the car was stable in corners and felt so much safer at speed. Too soon to say how well they last, but you CANNOT get long life AND sporty grip, no matter what anyone may tell you!

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.