Nankang SV2

The Nankang SV2 is a Winter High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Nankang SV2
79%[average]
Dry Grip
84%
Wet Grip
78%
Road Feedback
75%
Progressiveness
75%
Wear
84%
Comfort
74%
Buy Again
78%

Nankang SV2 Reviews

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Volvo

Bought these as a budget winter tyre for my Volvo XC90 2017 year. I was expecting okay snow grip looking at the reviews but I am simply amazed how these tyres perform in winter conditions. Driving in our recent snow is like driving on normal roads. Fuel consumption maybe up slightly but that maybe due to the colder temperatures anyway. The Volvo is not a car you flying around corners but compared to the Pirelli scorpion fitted as standard I’ve noticed little difference. In fact I’d say the nankangs edge it slightly.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-19-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 500 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5

Have had these for a few weeks now on my old MX5 so can't comment on wear, but as for the rest...

In normal cold-weather conditions they're perfectly good; not the last word in grip (which is more fun anyway) but they work well enough and much better than the Bridgestone ER30s I had on before. In the wet they seem almost better than the dry; probably perception but they certainly hang on very well.

This morning, however, I had to clear three inches of snow off the top of the car, and drive three miles to the train station on compacted snow, ice, and slushy roads. I feel that winter tyres are there to give you a greater margin of error at all times, but after a bit I just drove normally: they were disturbingly good. I even pulled into a carpark of compacted snow for some "scientific grip testing" and had to really provoke them into sliding... truly impressive.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-H
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Renault Megane

They ar perfect for me ;) i used them on all conditione and they don`t let me down, even on heavy snow in mountains!! if you do not have money for Dunlop or Continental this is the one i recomendet for you ;)

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 50,000 Spirited miles

Toyota Camry

I bought this tire - knowing about the very negative reviews of its predecessor - because it was a great buy. I could purchase them very cheaply, so I thought, what the heck, it would be a great tire test...

After mounting and balancing, away I went out to the highway and the first impression was scary! The car was very loose; it had a shimmying motion diagonally which was downright frightening.
I pulled to the next gas station to check things. Everything was OK, but as I pushed the sidewall of the tire, I noticed that it was VERY soft. The pressure was set to the recommended 1.8/1.8 bar on my Camry. I thought that if the tire has so pliable sidewalls, then I have to compensate this with more pressure. So I decided to raise the inflation pressure to 2.5/2.4 front/rear. I was right!!!
The car was immediately transformed! It rode very well despite of the raised pressure, and the SV-2 was exceptionally quiet - I started to trust the tire.

Then came the true winter with deep snow. Although the SV-2 doesn't have an aggressive winter profile/sipes, the raw bite and traction is simply awesome. I towed other cars from a parking garage with the ramp completely covered in fresh 20cm thick snow without any wheelspin. It felt like a platter ski lift!
Turn in was spontaneous, understeer was minimal if any. Braking performance and overall stability was also impeccable. The winter was absolutely convincing, so I decided to leave on the SV-2s to see how they perform in the scorching heat during summer months. Here in Hungary we have a -20°C - +40°C temp range, so a tire must prove itself.
Obviously, the compound went softer, and a tad indifferent, but a /65 tire will never be so spontaneous and instant like a low profile sporty one. It kept its absolute silence, predictability and again performed very well. I must note that the wear factor was simply nonexistent. I rotated them correctly and they looked remarkably fresh. Finally, after 65.000 km, the shoulder blocks wore away on the fronts, as I usually corner with sprightly 0.6+ Gs, avoiding unnecessary braking whenever possible.

Now at the 80.000 km mark, I still have the rears on, but they are on their final kilometers now. I replaced the fronts with Nokian AllWeather Pluses, but I'm very dissatisfied with them. They offer nowhere near the performance of the Nankangs, and they have extremely low grip in damp conditions. I'm running dangerously wide in some corners...

So, to summarize, the Nankang SV-2s gave THE MOST PLEASANT tire owning experience in my life. It was an exceptional winter tire, but I can recommend this even as an all-season one. I'm an automotive journalist, so I drive lots of different tires, but after these I truly don't know what "premium" means. Quite often the premium brands simply don't have the longevity/performance compared to others, and that questions the objectivity of tire testing in me.

Definitely a Buy Again.

+ quietness, snow grip, wet traction, stability (with raised pressure!), wear/degradation, overall balance, good water management/evacuation, attractive profile, ride comfort

- errm... well, slightly longer braking distances in the summer compared with high performance/low profile tires, but this is natural, you MUST compensate the soft sidewalls with more inflation pressure (usually around/upwards of 2.5 bar), otherwise the tire will be indifferent, snappy

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-T
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Citroën berlingo

Cheap tyres but do the job here on the east coast of Scotland.Makes the hill up to my house easy rather than park a 1/4 mile away and walk up.Main roads a dawdle if ploughed and ok on hard packed stuff with a little care.First time on winter tyres and I wish I had done it years ago.Only had them a short while so no real idea of long term wear etc.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-65-15-T
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Average miles

Skoda Fabia vRS

had these on for the winter here in the UK, and its the first time I've tried winter tyres, mainly because I now have a fabia II vRS, FWD with 180 bhp, and DSG is not the best combination for snow ;) these tyres are a revelation! very good in the wet at anything below 7 C (above 7C they are too soft, the steering and turn in are wooly, and they slide) below 7c in the dry they come into their own, there is NO drop off like you get with summer tyres as the temps drop towards freezing, dry cold roads they give great performance! on the frost they still drive as if the road is dry, the steering doesn't even lighten up, on the ice, you have to still go very careful (you cant change the laws of physics) but they are good at minimising wheelspin, you can still brake (amazingly) and turn with confidence, in the snow, they are amazing, 10 times better for traction, braking and cornering than summer tyres... especially the braking, how they can brake on snow like they do is very impressive...

hopefully these will last me 4 winters with some rotaion :)

on summary: above 7 c they go off noticably, and fall behind summer tyres, below 7c they are worth putting on, even if you get no winter weather, as they perform better (my maxxis victras for summer rock in hot weather, but start to loose it at 10c or below!) if you get some proper winter weather they will see you through anything. if you have never tried winters before, try them, you wont be dissapointed.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-V
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Audi A6 Allroad 3.0 TDI

I put these on 17 inch alloys to replace the summer 19 inch tyres/alloys. The car is transformed - better and quieter ride. Uses less fuel too. On snow and ice the traction is awesome. The wear is minimal after 8000 miles when the 19 inch tyres were shot after 16000 miles. The only downside isi slightly wooly handing - but this is an Audi so it was not great anyway!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf R20 270 bhp 4wd

Best winter tire i bought. Good grip in the dry and wet and excellent performance in the snow.

Will definitely buy again.

Also hit a pot hole (deep one) at over 40 mph the rims bended like hell but the tire didnt deflate and got no damage.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-H
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,200 Average miles

Dacia 1310 (2002)

If this review helps anyone, I bought this tyres 2 years ago, brand new not used, i put all 4 tyres on the car and i waited for "winter is coming", in heat condition this tyre obviously is not good it looses the grip very much (because it's a winter tyre and it's softer then the summer ones), on the other hand, in winter and cold conditions the tyres do very well, i feel the car very smooth, i have grip, and the braking is good, the car it's a non ABS and non power steering, so for no asistences they do very good.
Anyway i recommend the tyres because i am very satisfied.

Tyre size reviewed: 165-70-13-T
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 100 Spirited miles

BMW 330 d sport auto

Fitted to 'the worst car ever made for winter driving' the Nankang Snow tyres got me everywhere in the last week on snow and packed ice proving that you don't need to spend over £75 per corner on anything fancy. I've been running them all through a mild Autumn too, and they were great with no signs of wear. Fantastic tyres, highly recommend them.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.