Avon Ice Touring

The Avon Ice Touring is a Winter Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Avon Ice Touring
82%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
84%
Road Feedback
70%
Progressiveness
69%
Wear
94%
Comfort
80%
Buy Again
93%

Avon Ice Touring Reviews

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Easy Going miles

Fiat Scudo combi van

For the first time I've bought winter tyres and thank god I did. Last year I had normal tyres on my Fiat Scudo van and the wheels just spun in very light snow. After having Avon Ice touring tyres fitted the van is moving freely through heavy now and no wheel spinning whatsoever. Totally worth the cost and mush safer, I'll be having them fitted every winter now

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-16-T
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI

Excellent, Superb, awesome.
My sedate Passat estate handled like a 4x4 in the recent snow and ice,I am now able to tackle snow covered hills with ease. If you are contemplating a set of winter boots then do it, wether you buy these or another make, get a branded set of winter tyres and you won't believe the difference. Wet grip is also excellent.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-16-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,500 Average miles

Mitsubishi lancer

fitted on car since November 2013 and they still look like new at the end of January 2014 best snow tyres I have had shame its not snowed yet

Tyre size reviewed: 195-60-15-T
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Polo 19.TDI Sport

oh my god! what a fantastic tyre. i have had these fitted for 2 weeks now so cant report on wear rates or dry road grip but the huge dump of snow we had this morning has caused me one massive problem. everybody else is now in my way! had to overtake a land rover discovery that was going too slow!on my 30 mile commute there was nothing that posed even the slightest problem. i even tried a more hilly route in places to see what would stop me but no, i just sailed up.
i can not recommend this tyre more highly. fantastic.

Tyre size reviewed: 165-70-14-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Skoda Octavia

Used on two different cars {both Octavias} minimal wear over three years. Changing from summers {bridgstone e300} the difference in grip is very noticeable. Slightly noiser on rough surfaces, but grip well.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI

Good winter tyres. No surprises, predictable, grippy. They do not appear to have worn too badly. Will buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Easy Going miles

Mazda 323 F lantis (BA) 1.5

Decent tyre for an old car.
Doesn't provide a great grip in the dry, but it's quite normal for a snow tyre. In the wet these were a massime improvement compared to my old MICHELIN Energy Savers, but definately not a racing tyre (I think the compound is too hard)

Anyway in the snow these tyres are fantastic. Really, they are magic: great traction in every condition. Last winter I was the only car moving in an icy parking lot, impressive.

However I have agree with the review of another user of the ZT5 model: the behavior on uneven roads is very strange. There are strange movements of the steering wheel and you have to be ready to correct them quickly.

good noise levels for a snow tyre

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-14-T

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.