Continental WinterContact TS 830 P

The Continental WinterContact TS 830 P is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental WinterContact TS 830 P
81%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
89%
Road Feedback
82%
Progressiveness
81%
Wear
85%
Comfort
89%
Buy Again
89%

Continental WinterContact TS 830 P Reviews (3)

82%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Audi A6

I have now fitted these tyres for the third winter season and they're wearing well, especially as they're fitted to a heavy FWD automatic car. Having spent three weeks in the European Alps I can honestly say I was astounded how much grip they gave my car. On hard packed snow, fresh snow or just polished ice, they gripped far beyond my expectations and I didn't need to use chains once, even in deep snow. They also covered over 2,000 miles of motorway in three weeks and are quiet and comfortable. No need for 4WD!

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

BMW 320 d

I bought a set of these tyres because 1.BMW are known to be horrific in the snow 2.I live up a very very steep hill in Wales, these tyres are extremely good in fresh snow and icy conditions, the road was so bad that you could watch 4x4 cars with summer tyres sliding down the very steep hill and spinning their wheels on the way up. With these tyres the was no loss of traction while driving downhill and no ABS engagement. Driving up hill the was minimal wheel spin, the car always felt in control and would never loose composure. Only downside to winter tyres i have found is in the dry and at 8c onwards they start to feel a little vague at speed however this is minimal for the benefits gained at colder temperatures.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
78%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

BMW E39 M5

Staggeringly good, all things considered. Whilst you cannot take liberties, these tyres allowed a 400hp rear drive car to get about on all roads and conditions during the recent snowy spell. In the cold and heavy rain too, they have far better bite than the summer tyres (PS2s on 18" rims). In the dry, up around 5-7 deg C, I still prefer the PS2, and the 830Ps feel quite floaty in comparison, but when the temperature drops to nearer zero deg C, regardless of whether it is dry or wet, or snowy and icy, the 830Ps win big-time. I have no other winter tyre experience to compare them with, but I have no complaints at all about the TS830P.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-V
78%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7
  • Trockenhaftung 7
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,200 Spirited miles

BMW 3 series

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,800 Average miles

Ford Mondeo

Purchased a set of four in October 2011, in advance of what was set to be another harsh Winter. The unseasonably warm weather which followed, resulted in me never having the opportunity to test these on the snow or ice. Shame!
I can however report back on what they were like to live with in normal conditions.

Generally speaking, they were totally acceptable in all conditions. My experience of them would mirror other people's general experience of Winter tyres, in that they really are at their best when it it is cold ( up to 7 degrees, but ideally lower. Preferable sub zero.). Unfortunately, most of my experience with them was above these temperatures, and it is that experience which I will describe below.

Above ten degrees you can really feel the effect of the taller, and softer blocks of rubber. They replaced a mix of Continental Sport Contact 2 and 3, and while they may have even improved the ride slightly, the driving experience was definitely blunted.

This car develops 145bhp (which is not a huge amount), and any attempt to deploy a chunk of that power would result in the tyres squirming noticeably. Once rolling there was never any break of traction, but if you tried to pull away from a turnout with any sort of gusto, you were always quickly reminded of what was underneath.

The CSC3 generally gets great reviews, so perhaps the comparison is an extreme one, but I don't feel as if I drive very aggressively, and I was a little disappointed that the steering accuracy I had come to know was now being muted. In normal weather conditions, I was always more cautious about turn in speed. Having said that, if you do adopt a style which factors in the slight turn in delay, then they are easy to live with.

The were only fitted in December, and wear over that time was decent,but not so good that I would ever consider leaving them on all year round. Separate to the handling impact, I can only imagine what a hot summer would do to these in time.

Overall though, I am happy with them. I purchased them in advance of their good reviews in last year's EVO and Auto Express tests, so was very pleased that they performed well in them. I just hope to get some real life benefit next Winter!

Also, on a side note - just before I ordered them from the Internet, I checked with my local garage who quoted me 35 euro less per tyre, than I could get on the net. And their price included fitting/balancing. Worth checking out your local tyre shop for comparisons anyway - especially up to Sept/Oct.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 13,000 Average miles

Mazda 3 2.0 DISI

The main reasons why I chose WinterContact TS 830P are: non-directional tread (more regular tyre wear due to possibility of changing rotation direction), conti seal technology (my Mazda has no spare wheel), high performance winter tyre (better road handling and feedback). The tyres replaced Pirelli Winter Snow Control 3. In comparison to the Pirellis the Contis are significantly quieter even after 21,000 km. The wet grip is very good and I have never had any issues with aquaplanning. In the dry they provide quite good amount of feedback and stability for winter tyres even at temperatures above 10°C. In the snow traction I do not feel any difference from the Pirellis. The fuel consumption is higher than it used to be on Pirellis. After 21,000 km they have approximately 6 mm of tread remaining. It seems they might last up to 40 - 45,000 km. Very similar to Pirellis.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
46%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1
  • Trockenhaftung 2
  • Nassgriff 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Average miles

BMW 320D

I am realy dissapointed in this tires.
In winter conditions they are very bad.
I expected a lot more from them being Continental with good test results.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-60-16-
27%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 2
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 2
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Mercedes Benz E220Cdi

Considering excellent test results and user feedback I bought a set of Conti tyres. But these tyres are very much dissapointing with terrible traction under winter conditions. Worst winter tyres I ever had. I should never by again Continental.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-65-16-
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Volkswagen Scirocco 1,4 TSI 160hp

I only had these for less than a week, btu the result is amazing. Never missed a beat. Hardly had any wheel spins on slush/ fresh snow. My traction control only comes on wheni accelarate really hard.

Expensive yes, but considering the demand, there is little i can do.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-H
0%

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 2,500 Average miles

BMW X1 25D Xdrive

Excellent tyre, I bought them at the end of this winter season, right after I purchased my new X1 (F48) 25D Xdrive. Tyre in dry, wet and snow. Have not tested on ice. Very smooth, progressive with a good road feedback, and extremely comfortable and quite. Highly recommend this tyre for winter, of the very few existing in this dimension and of this car.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-19-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.