Continental WinterContact TS 830 P

The Continental WinterContact TS 830 P is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental WinterContact TS 830 P
81%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
89%
Road Feedback
82%
Progressiveness
81%
Wear
85%
Comfort
89%
Buy Again
89%

Continental WinterContact TS 830 P Reviews (2)

93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Average miles

BMW 320D

What a difference a tyre makes. These are just unstoppable in the snow and in the cold freezing conditions they seem to grip as well as my summer tyres did in the warmth.

I can't recommend a set of winter tyres enough if you rely on your car, and these seem to be the best out there.

Can't comment on wear yet.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 62,000 Spirited miles

Peugeot 508 SW 1.6 E HDI

i loved my Continental WinterContact TS 830P i drove with them here in Denmark in 2017 and 2018 and i drive about 50.000km every year in my car and now after 2 years its time to change them and i didnt care to change tyres so the tyres were on the car in the sommer and Winther and they were great for 2 years now i will go try TS 860 and i hope they are as good or maby a little bettet

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 3,000 Average miles

SEAT Altea

I fitted these last november after the previous winter. despite selective 4 wheel drive I was very surprised with the lack of grip on frosty roads with the summer tyres.

What a transformation on the winter tyres. The car felt very planted and even on icy roads I had complete control when other cars were sliding off the road. On a frosted over empty car park where I really pushed the adhesion they performed amazing,I floored the accelerator and after a second or two with the traction control light showing the car surged forward as if it was on a dry road. They have there linits as expected when the air temp got up to about 15 deg the dry grip was significantly less than the summer tyres when pushed. I would definately recommend these tyres. In fact I was so impressed with Continental tyres that I am fitting the car with Continental sport contact 3 tyres for summer use.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 13,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz E280

Have used a variety of winter tyres since 1995, ranging from some phenomenal Scandinavian made Gislaved NordFrost to no-brand budget tyres. The hard braking performance of the Continental on ice and compacted snow is excellent, which for me is where performance is most important in the conditions the tyres are bought for. Road noise is low (very low for a winter tyre). Very stable through standing water. Wear is good for a tyre of this type (3.5mm of wear over 13,000 miles). Traction breaks on hard acceleration through tight corners in the dry more than on my summer tyres, but that is only to be expected - likewise with lack of feedback, as One usuallu mounts narrower winter tyres on smaller rims with a higher aspect ratio compared with summer tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-16-V
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 20,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Passat 1.9 TDI Sport Estate (B5.5)

Great tyres, the "fat" passat goes easily through the snow and ice. A few times these tyres have saved me from crash (panic braking on -10 degrees, slippery surface) so I believe it was a good investment.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-H
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Volkswagen GTI 16v Anniversary

An amazing winter tyre,excellent in all conditions though slightly light when driving in temp 25c +.Wear is the same as summer tyres but with added benefit of being the best snow tyre available any where in Europe. Can be bought through mytyres.co.uk . I drive a ltd edition 30 golf gti and drive ride has been made much more comfortable and tyre noise is also much quieter on most road surfaces.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-V
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 0 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf

I fitted these in the winter of 2011/2012 for 6 months because of a crash I had the winter previously, which was very expensive and inconvenient. I decided after that crash that I'd never drive in the winter again without proper tyres.

So, I stuck them on around December and I noticed a big change straight away. They felt softer, and the ride quality definitely felt much smoother, as if I was driving on silk. I guess those massive tread blocks and softer compound was absorbing a lot of the bumps. The temperature was about 7C when I put them on, so I was looking forward to trying them in colder conditions.

The best thing I found about these tyres was when I had to drive home (600 mile trip) in 0C conditions and it was raining very hard. I remember driving up the motorway at 70mph through enormous amounts of surface water and not feeling so much as a twitch. The car felt solid, planted, stable and most definitely better than those conditions in summer tyres. I was very impressed, it made that long trip a lot less stressful.

As it got colder, I got a chance to try them on frosty roads in -4C conditions. The car felt totally secure with bags of grip and it was very noticeably better than with summer tyres, when in these conditions my car used to feel very skittish and heavy. I remember taking roundabouts with confidence and never loosing traction, and braking was superb. Once again, I was impressed.

Finally, as the winter progressed there was unfortunately not a lot of snow to test them with. There was a 3 day period where we got around a foot of snow, and I took the car out on unploughed and ungritted roads. It was very good, surprising amounts of grip, cornering power and I actually felt like the brake pedal might stop the car, instead of the previous winter where it often did nothing at all. I remember being amazed at how I could corner on flattened compacted snow easily, and I tried some steep inclines which I was able to go up with no problem. There were only 2 hills which I wasn't able to go up, and it was both times because they were covered in fresh, untouched snow. because my tyres are fat, 225/45/r17, I was coming up against too much resistance and the wheels just spun.

The greatest test I did was going down an untreated farm track. It was a singletrack with no passing places. It was going downhill and I remember thinking "This will be fun to try and go up on the way back!". It started going down steeper and steeper and I started to panic.. I was in the middle of nowhere and I didn't think I could get up. I went down further and tried to find a place to turn, which I eventually did. I started going up the hill and as it got steeper, to my surprise, the car didn't struggle at all. It just went straight up, no wheelspin. I was pretty sure I wouldn't make it.

These tyres are great. For the 5 months I had them on, I always felt safe and felt like I had a ton of grip wherever I was. They are superb on motorways covered in water due to the very deep tread pattern, superb in frosty conditions, and great on snow. I would never drive again in the winter without winter tyres.

People in the UK really should buy winter tyres, they make a massive difference. I'll be putting these on again in around a month's time.

I leave you with this thought:

You wouldn't walk through snow wearing sandles would you? So, why leave your summer sandle tyres on your car during the winter? It then potentially becomes a several ton potentially unstoppable deathtrap. For the small outset of cost, it's worth it for around 5 years of safe winter driving.

Car:
2008 VW Golf V GT Sport 2.0 TDI 170HP

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 10,000 Average miles

Audi A3

these tyres made driving through snow and ice a pleasure...incredible grip on both ice and snow. great grip in all conditions. needs to be replaced on dry weather as very bad road feedback otherwise.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 0 Average miles

Audi A4 Avante 2.0ltr tdi

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

BMW 320 d

I was shocked by just how good these tires were in the snow and ice on my BMW RWD. Absolutely no slip or wheel spin while others around me struggled. I will never not have winter tires again even if it’s front wheel drive or four.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.