Kumho IZen KW27

The Kumho IZen KW27 is a Winter High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Kumho IZen KW27
77%[average]
Dry Grip
77%
Wet Grip
76%
Road Feedback
75%
Progressiveness
73%
Wear
82%
Comfort
84%
Buy Again
76%

Kumho IZen KW27 Reviews

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 55,000 Average miles

Maserati Granturismo

Best winter tyre on to date. Perfect for 350+ bhp cars. Faultless winter traction on ice and snow and pretty impressive in normal driving conditions all the way up to 175mph.
Fuel efficiency is impressive and they have worn very well. Braking when wet and cold is also impressive.
perfect for the safe drivers and true petrol heads alike

Tyre size reviewed: 275-40-18-
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz E Class Estate

I have premium Continental Sport Contacts 245/45/17 summer tyres on my high performance 2013 Mercedes E Class estate most of the year.

These Kumho winter tyres at just £108 each provide a better, smoother ride, equal grip in the dry, better grip in the wet and wear better. They are incredibly heavy-duty, thick tread proper snow tyres. At first sight you can be a bit taken about by the "welly boot" look of them, but once on the car, and with the low profile, that isn't as noticeable.

I fit them from 1 November to 15 March and am not concerned that the temperature during this time is often higher than 7C where I am, given the lack of wear on these and the fact I'm saving my summer tyres.

I highly recommend fitting them to any powerful rear wheel drive car such a mine, given the problems of traction in snow and ice involved with the car. A complete bonus is the performance they give even when conditions aren't down to the limits where they might actually save a serious loss of grip and accident that having summer tyres on might cause.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-17-W
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 15,000 Spirited miles

Ford Mondeo

When I first saw that these tyres are made in China my heart sank. However they have far exceeded my expectations.

The first thing to note is that these tyres need at least 300 miles or 500 kms to bed in. The other point to note is not to mix these tyres with summer tyres. You need a full set.

As yet the winter in Western Europe has been very mild and I have not had the opportunity to test these tyres on snow. Compared to the Toyo TR1 Proxes that came off my Mondeo, these tyres out-perform the Toyos in wet and greasy conditions. They are also beeter on very wet motorways/autoroutes with standing water. They have a very high aquaplaning resistance no doubt due to the deep sipes in the tread design.

Full power acceleration on a wet road in third gear will not provoke any slippage, even thought the car has been remapped to 175 bhp. The tyres encourage a sharp turn-in during cornering and are quiet at all speeds. Ride confort is also excellent with a good absorbance of small ridges and tarmac strips.

As yet after two months of motoring tyre wear seems to be negligible on the fronts and as new on the rear. I paid £120 a tyre fitted and therefore they represent excellent value for money. Go ahead and pay twice as much for Michelin or Continental winter tyres. For those in the know, these Kumhos are just as good.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-V
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30,000 Spirited miles

Jaguar XJ8

Drove on these for the last few winters. Been to the alps resort then across Netherlands in winter and back to the uk in the last 6 months.
Wear is excellent approaching 30k miles. The wet grip is second to none and dry grip is good even when the temp is getting upto 10 degrees Celsius.
Winter traction is impressive. Have not got stuck in the snow since ive put these tyres on. Ice traction is very good both under acceleration and deceleration.
Quiet ride and fuel consumption has not changed from running summer tyres.
Performance is very good upto 145mph. Smooth ride assertive handling and great stopping distance.
Best winter tyres yet.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-18-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz E320 CDI

Superb winter tyre, ultra quite. Used them for 3 Winters now and still got 6mm tread left after 15k miles and belive me, I don't spare the horses. Bought them for all my cars now (A Class/Fiat Bravo07) and getting same performance from all. Better than my Goodyear summer tyres! Well done Kumho.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 5,000 Average miles

Skoda Octavia vRS

Great tyre ata great price!!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz CLS 350

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Jaguar S Type 2.7D

Epic tyre.
Faultless grip, good at high speeds. Snow and ice traction very good.
It excells at braking on slippery surfaces.
Quiet and refined.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-17-
88%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,500 Average miles

Honda S2000

I have these on the front of an S2000, I use the KW17s on the rear in a slightly bigger size. These tyres are amazing, not only in the snow (where they excel) but also in any wintry conditions. The S2k has a famously twitchy rear end especially in the wet and these winter tyres go a long way to eliminating that. They are excellent and have transformed my car in the winter and snowy conditions from a unusable very expensive chunk of metal to something which can outperform a 4x4 on snow tyres on a hill.

These tyres are reasonably priced and transform the car. They are worth every penny.

I have only driven on these tyres for about 1500 miles in the last 2 months so no idea on the wear characteristics of the tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,500 Average miles

Saab Automobile 9 5 Aero Saloon

Overall an excellent tyre - especially good on winter roads - these are winter tyres after all! I've driven in the UK and across the continent to Germany and back in deepest winter. I've driven in the high hills north of Frankfurt with steep snow covered roads and tracks and found the adhesion excellent. No comparison with my usual Michelin summer tyres which would be comparitely useless in these conditions. Normal driving/roadholding is good with a little less steering response than my Michelins - they feel a little softer when changing direction but nothing untoward. In the wet they are not as good as my Michelins but then I did buy them for snow/ice/winter use - especially for the Continent and Germany. They wear well for a softer compound and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.