Michelin Pilot Super Sport

The Michelin Pilot Super Sport is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Super Sport
88%[average]
Dry Grip
96%
Wet Grip
87%
Road Feedback
90%
Progressiveness
86%
Wear
84%
Comfort
83%
Buy Again
91%

Michelin Pilot Super Sport Reviews

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 3,000 Easy Going miles

Audi A6

Have done just 3000 on these in XL format fitted to my Audi A6 C6 3.0Tdi quattro and have to say the are the best tyre I've ever had on any car. Naturally too early to give any indication of wear but from the standpoint of sheer grippiness (?) they are phenomenal.

Good curb protection and quite springy when you have to mount a curb...no bad thing.

Comfort has also vastly improved over my contisportcontact 5 (front) and contisportcontact 3 rears. As they a slightly larger tyre I find that my speedo now reads spot on with my 2 x gps devices...you will normally find that when your speedo reads 70 your actually doing 67 and at 100 (on autobahn natch) you are doing about 95-96.

The downside is that my MPG, on say a 300 mile on a run, has gone down from 54 to 48-50. This will be a due to a more accurate rolling radius and the extra grip the tyres have to offer.

Luckily picked up a brand new set (initially for my Jag XK) for £480 so a bit of a bargain...but decided to put them on the Audi instead.

Expect them to last for at least 3yrs as, come Nov, my winter tyres and wheels will go on for 5 months.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz SLK

I bought this tire based on the critics and reviews I red in this site. Many thanks to everyone because its true! I changed to this from contis and the difference is huge! Perfect grip and braking even in the wet! I wasnt aware of my cars possibilities before this tire and I am very satisfied. Dont know much about the wear because I have put them on three months now but they dont seem to wear easy. I suggest this tire to everyone. Give it a try and be sure that it will meet your expectations!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz SLK

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Porsche 997 911 Carrera 4

Fitted to my 997 C4.

Replaced the Pirellis, though previously used the Michelin Pilot Sport 2.

The Pilot Super Sport is epic. Dry grip feels up there with the cups, wet grip is better than any other tyre I've used. Not tried in standing water yet but I'm sure they'll do fine.

Can't comment on wear as only been on 3000 miles but them to be wearing well, comparible to the pilot Sports which were always excellent. Looking forward to getting them on track.

Tyre size reviewed: 295-30-19-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

Honda Civic Type R

Never had better.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Mazda RX8

Don't get Vredstein...get these...more grip, longer lasting, and did I say more grip?

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk 5 (remapped 270 BHP)

Holy smokes.

Much grip. Such cornering. Wow.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

BMW 328ci

fantastic tyre. huge amounts of grip on wet, dry or the race track. can't compain about anything like noise or ride quality because its irrelevant when they do what they are meant to so well

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Vauxhall Corsa vxr

After much thought I decided to go with these tyres (yes I know there a bigger profile than standard tyres). But as I was changing all four tyres I didn't see a problem. I read up on this tyre and saw some really great reviews about them. My car is Only driven hard in the summer months and only really use it if I have to in winter to potter around. However in the time that I have had these (since September) They have been fantastic. Far better feedback than the continentals it came with and have given me so much more confidence when driving spiritedly over the moors through the twisities. They are showing no signs of wear so far. I believe these are the newer version of the ps2 which also lasted for 26k miles on my dad's Audi. They are also a far better ride than the 35 profile tyres which was part of my reason for choosing them. The only thing I can think of that isn't really an issue is that in cold weather (below 2c) they tend to jump on fall lock, i.e. when parking the car as they are cold I guess. But this has never off put me as I don't drive hard when the weather doesn't permit. Will definitely be replacing them with these again!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 23 Spirited miles

BMW M3

Had all four tyres replaced with the Michelin on my 2011 M3 after it came new with P Zero. The P Zero only managed 15,000 miles on the rear, these Michelin PSS are still going and coming upto the wear bands on the rear at 23,100 miles. Far Superior in all conditions

Tyre size reviewed: 265-35-19-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.