Dunlop SP Sport Maxx

The Dunlop SP Sport Maxx is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SP Sport Maxx
67%[average]
Dry Grip
80%
Wet Grip
69%
Road Feedback
70%
Progressiveness
67%
Wear
64%
Comfort
64%
Buy Again
54%

Dunlop SP Sport Maxx Reviews

97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 35,000 Average miles

Lexus IS 220D

Factory fitted on my Lexus IS220, 35000 miles and now lookin at little worn on inside and outside of front tyres and due for renewal. Similar tyres on back, different size good for another 10000. What you guys doing on to get less than 10000?

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-R
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 36,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Tiuan R Line

Came with car as original spec,had replace fronts afte 26000 miles, the rears have just went through a MOT with 36000 miles on them, still 1mm above legal!!!!!!
The fronts were replaced with Khumo Ecasta and 10000 miles there not much better than the rears. Will be replacing all 4 with the Dunlops. the tyre noise is very noticeably lower than the Khumo's as well.
Tiguan r-line 170 BHP

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-19-
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

BMW E46 3 Series

This tyre was came top in straight line aquaplaining in the Evo tyre test and it's the single reason I bought this tyre. Aquaplaning is one of the single biggest reasons for accidents on the motorway and it's not a nice situaion to be in. Dunlop overall didn't do too well but let's face it, all premium brand high performance tyres perform well enough and much of the scoring is subjective. Aquaplaning for me is most important in a tyre test. Apart from Goodyear F1 Asymmetric, there is no better tyres. Maxx has the best rim protection too.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,500 Spirited miles

Mazda 626

EXCELLENT TYRE!!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz CLK 220 CDI Sport

Very good tyre Excellent grip dry and wet Very quit and comfort tyre Who is looking for premium bargain tyre this one is perfect I am absolutely happy with dunlop sp sport maxx tyres I am going buy it again

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-18-
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 500 Spirited miles

Volkswagen 1.8 20vT Sport

The overall grip inspires confidence plus the low noise level is noticeably better than my previous Yokohamas.Very pleased so far.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-N
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz E Class

I've just had yet another tyre damaged for the front left wheel. Last time it was the Continental SportContact 2, which the pothole cut straight through. This time, I am just really pleased the Dunlop Maxx survived it so I could it drive all the way home. I still need to replace it though as I have a 7 inch cut on the side wall, deep enough to ground my car until the local tyre dealer can get the tyre in in 2 days time. I am just impressed the Dunlop has managed to get me home this time around.

It's a great tyre in the wet. I haven't tried the Maxx TT but from what I gathered, I think the TT version may not be as good in the wet as the standard Maxx.

I really wanted to try the Vredstein Ultrac Sessanta but I forgot to ask about it again today when I called the tyre dealer. Maybe next time.

PS. This country is so poor. The councils can't afford to mend the potholes. Not impressed.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-35-19-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 13,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz

It's the best Dunlop tyre I've used. SP9000 and SP01 are rubbish. Maxx is a big improvement, henc e being the flagship tyre. I buy Dunlop because they are reasonably priced for a premium brand. Credit crunch time.

Better than Michelin PS2 in the wet. But not as good in the dry. Still top quality tho. I've done emergency stops with Dunlop Maxx and the wheels did not lock up a bit, really really impressed and saved me an accident. Unfortunately got a speeding ticket because the noise from the tyres encourage me to drive fast. Wear ok. Overall, a tyre which gives you confidence. Next time I might go for GY F1 Asymetric it is's cheaper. I would only go for these 2 brands becuase of their quality/price combination. I've seen the Maxx very popular on the Audi Q7s, BMW X5s and 5 series, mostly on german motors. I've also seen them on the Jag XK ( i think)...don't really know Jaguars too well...but aparently the maxx help to make the Jag feel good...

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-18-W
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 24,000 Average miles

Skoda Octavia Scout

Excellent tyre on Skoda Octavia Scout, fronts worn at 24,000 and probably have a few more miles before they reach the marker. Drove in snow last year and were good. Would buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-W
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf Mk6

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.