Pirelli Scorpion Verde

The Pirelli Scorpion Verde is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a SUV and 4x4.

Pirelli Scorpion Verde
67%[average]
Dry Grip
78%
Wet Grip
70%
Road Feedback
68%
Progressiveness
67%
Wear
61%
Comfort
70%
Buy Again
55%

Pirelli Scorpion Verde Reviews (3)

53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Volvo XC60

THESE CAME FITTED AS STANDARD ON MY BRAND NEW, MY 2016,VOLVO XC60 SE LUX NAV D4 FRONT WHEEL DRIVE

THESE TYRES ARE DANGEROUS IN THE WET,LOSE TRACTION AND GRIP ROUND BENDS, LETHAL IN THE SNOW ICE

IN THE DRY THEY ARE GREAT, BUT BEING IN THE UK,ITS MOSTLY DAMP OR WET HERE
THESE TYRES LOSE TRACTION ALMOST IMMEDIATELY ON PULLING AWAY IN THE WET AND DAMP CONDITIONS UNLESS YOU DRIVE AT A SNAILS PACE
IN THE SNOW THEY ARE AS IF YOU ARE DRIVING ON ICE
THESE MUST BE THE VERDE SUMMER TYRES AS THEY ARE VERY HARD WEARING, HARDLY ANY WEAR IN 15000 MILES THIS MAY BE THE PROBLEM , CIRCA 6 MM FRONT 8 MM PLUS REAR,THE COMPOUND OF THE RUBBER IS TO HARD FOR THE UK TEMPERATURES AND CLIMATE , IN MY OPINION THEY SHOULD NEVER BE USED IN THE UK MARKET.

I WILL BE REPORTING THIS TO VOLVO NEXT WEEK AS HAD ENOUGH OF THESE TYRES AFTER THIS LAST BIT OF SNOW, MADE THE CAR NEAR UNUSABLE, NOT GOOD FROM A CAR MANUFACTURED IN SWEDEN WHICH SHOULD KNOW BETTER!

PS I HAVE OVER 40 YEARS DRIVING EXPERIENCE, BOTH MILITARY AND CIVILIAN FROM MOTORCYCLES TO CLASS 1 HGV ABNORMAL LOADS, ON AND OFF ROAD, ITS THE TYRES NOT ME!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-60-18-
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 20,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz GLC43

Not grippy on dry or wet

Tyre size reviewed: 255-45-20-
49%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 3,000 Easy Going miles

Land Rover Range Rover Evoque

Bought new tyres for a range rover evouque 3 months ago average mileage and around town no off road.
Lost pressure in front near side went to have it checked over and was amazed together with the tyre fitter that a small thorn and I mean small had penetrated ,and due to position of it being borderline had to have it replaced.
Good job I did not take it off road!
Poor quality rubber it looks like so beware.


Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-20-
46%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 2
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Tiguan

These are dreadful tires, replaced Dunlop SP4 on my VW Tiguan hoping that the Pirelli Scorpion Verde would be better on a SUV.
They are very noisy and thrum on any good surface but more importantly they have no traction at all on damp or wet surfaces and are frightening in the wet whilst cornering.
They constantly understeer on any damp suface and inspire zero confidence.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-17-V
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 15,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz ML350

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 265-45-20-
40%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 0
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 100 Average miles

Volkswagen Tiguan

after fitting 2 tyres to front of my 2017 vw tiguan & a wheel alignment, I now experience tyre noise. As i drive on motorway often the noise is quite annoying

Tyre size reviewed: 215-65-17-
27%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Land Rover Discovery 2

I am very disappointed with the recently purchased replacement Pirelli tyres on my Land rover Discovery.
Following an MOT fail for a damaged tyre I decided to replace the damaged one and worst other and fit a pair of new Pirelli Scorpion S/T to have a complete set of Pirelli Scorpion S/T tyres all round.
As the old type of Pirelli Scorpion S/T are no longer available the latest equivalent was fitted.
A pair of Pirelli Scorpion Verde 106H tyres were fitted I was assured that these were the best tyres that could be fitted.
Unfortunately I have found the new tyres slip contently and lose traction on damp grass causing the traction control to work constantly ( vehicle unladen)
As there is no grip on the front tyres feels like driving on rims only
My questions are
Are these Pirelli Scorpion Verde 106H tyres correct for the Landrover Discovery 2001 TD5 ?
Will the grip get better with time?
Is it safe to drive on the motorway with a heavy trailer in the wet with the lack of grip?
Is it safe to drive on the road with a mix of Pirelli Scorpion S/T on the rear and Pirelli Scorpion Verde 106H on the front as it is skids constantly on grass.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-70-16-
25%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 2
  • Wear 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 18,000 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen Touareg

after only 18500 miles on my Touareg,I have to replace them because I can t stand the noise are makeing...no traction on little snow or ice at all...

Tyre size reviewed: 255-55-18-
20%
Breakdown Score
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 13,000 Easy Going miles

Land Rover Discovery Series 2 TD5

I had to change all four original Continental Contacts on my Freelander 2 at 33,000 miles and went for Pirelli Scorpion Verde - big £600 mistake! After just 13,000 miles (mostly motorway)they are down to the wear bars - the compound is clearly too soft for a 4WD and with such a short life span they are NOT 'green' . . . very disappointed.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-65-17-
19%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 3
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 1
  • Handling 1
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen Touareg

These are the worst tyres ever made!
Firstly, I got a set of 235/65/17 for my Touareg. They wore out extremely fast and they got a lot of punctures. There was some time I carryed around two (2!) spare winter wheels because of this shit.

I never seen a tyre such bad, they got punctured even from small rocks!

After 3 or 4 years I decided to give this model another chance - I had a big discount for a 255/60/17 set (also compatible with my Touareg wheels). F*** my life! They were even worse - on country roads the small rocks simply cut into the tyre... I never experienced a tyre such bad and I had from Kormoran to Debica (romanian cheapest brand).

Tyre size reviewed: 235-65-17-T

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.