Hankook Icebear W300

The Hankook Icebear W300 is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Hankook Icebear W300
71%[average]
Dry Grip
76%
Wet Grip
64%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
74%
Wear
71%
Comfort
70%
Buy Again
65%

Hankook Icebear W300 Reviews

91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Average miles

BMW 320D

First experience of snow tyres entirely positive. While other brands might score higher in tests, these kept me mobile in some of the worst conditions I have ever experienced. Fresh snow, compacted snow, ice, slush- these tyres totally transform the driving experience of the BMW in winter conditions. No wheelspin, no flashing lights on the dashboard (except on greasy tarmac???) Very little road noise, comfortable ride...I'm a big fan.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-16-V
88%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,300 Average miles

Citro├źn xsara picasso

Over the last 2 months I've driven these tyres in all types of Winter conditions: Ice, compacted snow, fresh snow, slush, wet cold roads. They give excellent grip and on two occasions have given good traction to allow pulling away on an icy incline which has seen 4x4's (including a Land Rover Defender) slide. Clearly no winter tyre will give licence to drive without due respect for slippery conditions but these tyres have allowed me to travel where otherwise it would not be possible. I can't yet comment on how these tyres wear, although no signs are showing yet.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-H
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,500 Spirited miles

BMW 123d

In dry conditions for the first 300 miles or so - its like driving on bars of soap, HOWEVER, once worn in, these tyres are very good. They aren't high performance summer tyres, so dont drive like they are. Once the Ice and snow has kicked in - you will be gob smacked at the difference these babies make to winter driving. BMW's - especially 1 series are HORRIFIC in ice and snow. Walking is both faster and safer. With these on, I have driven up icy and snowy banks that had Quattro Audi's stuck at the bottom. Slush, snow, Ice, heavy rain, these tyres keep on going when all around are slipping and sliding! Yes you can still provoke rear drive fun still(Im pushing 260bhp after a remap)with drifts / sliding is VERY controlled. Highly recommended! And comfier than RFT's even in XL format!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-V
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 20,000 Average miles

Ford Mondeo

great tyres use them all year bit more road noise but this dosnt really bother me great in any type of snow been on my car 2 years done about20000 miles but the side walls are beginning to crack mostly on the inside wall.talked to tyre supplier he reconed they had been ran at too low a pressure i check pressures fairly regulaly and never had to top them up much wonder if any one else has had a similer problem

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Ford Focus C Max

Living in Scotland, Winters never fun especially the one we just had but I've got to admit the car performed superb. I only purchased it in october and didn't realise I had winter tyres on until the snow hit and I was driving around leaving everyone else spinning. I cruised past 34 cars on one particular hill where I work and couldn't believe what a difference the tyres made. The only down side is I've been told in dry conditions they can affect your fuel consumption and I think I believe them as my 1.6 C-max's mpg is poor but won't know for sure till I change the tyres for the spring.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen Scirocco 1.6 GT

After two years driving an old Porsche in the snow, it was a nightmare.
I bought an old Scirocco and a set of icebears.
The combination of a lightweight low powered car on very soft tyres is brilliant.
It stops on the proverbial sixpence in the deepest snow and howls around corners while the four wheel drive stuff trying to keep up just flies into the ditches.
These are brill.
Great in the wet too, but they come off in April because it looks like they wear rapidly when things warm up.
Seen them formular one drivers going through the puddles to keep their rubber cools?
That's me that is.

Very good but appear to wear rapidly, I think two years / ten thousand miles max.
Bloody fun miles though!

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-14-
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20 Spirited miles

BMW Z4 3.0

These came fitted to my 04 BMW Z4 3.0.
I had them on all summer and through most of the winter.

In the summer they were a good tyre and held the road well even on 30+ degrees centigrade days. They could be pushed to loose traction but it was very progressive in breaking away and did not snatch back. Lots of fun if not the fastest way from a-b.

Winter use, wet grip isn't amazing but they aren't a wet focused tyre so to be expected, I. The 255 section aqua planing a little at the rear would happen with some standing water.
The limit of traction could be found at very small amounts over what would be considered sedate driving in the z4.

Snow, used in North yorkshire. They handled snow and ice much better than an all year round/rain tyre. Noticeable improvement. Hill starts on half an inch of snow (no Tarmac) were pretty easy. It was still essential to drive to the conditions I.e atleast a third off speed 20-25 mph. Driving in this way sees good traction and no silly incidents getting stuck. The same hill taken with brand new cooper zeon sport tyres saw me going nowhere with the lightest dusting of snow.

Summary, a good entry level winter tyre that will keep you moving in bad weather all be it slowly.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-18-W
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 0 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf GTI

Two years on an 09 GTI, with no snow on the roads work well in the cold weather. In deeper snow trying to take off on a slight incline from a stop is impossible. Worse then most all season tires. Would not recommend and will not re-buy.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
43%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Average miles

BMW 330d M Sport

A pretty poor tyre. Dry grip is ok but feedback limited and noise levels quite high. Wet grip is very weak, on a powerful car the back end is easy to step out in these conditions. Snow has not been an issue so far but in sleet and ice they have yet to inspire confidence.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
41%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz E Class

Very bad traction on snow and ice. Extreme wear in 10000 miles, could use only one season and replaced them. Extremely sliding on snow and ice and nearly impossible to keep the car on the road.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.