Goodyear Ultra Grip Performance 2

The Goodyear Ultra Grip Performance 2 is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Goodyear Ultra Grip Performance 2
75%[average]
Dry Grip
80%
Wet Grip
79%
Road Feedback
72%
Progressiveness
71%
Wear
70%
Comfort
84%
Buy Again
68%

Goodyear Ultra Grip Performance 2 Reviews

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI

First class product! more expensive than a standard winter tyre but well worth the money as they are a performance winter tyre, i can only say that you get what you pay for in life!, i ran a set of Michelin Alpins last winter on my last car these but Goodyears offer superior traction & grip compared to them especially when braking & cornering on snow & ice there is also great recovery from these tyres if you push to hard they will search & bite for grip, you only have to touch & feel the compound & sipes on them to know how they will perform, they remain very plyable & supple even down to very low temps, i've ran them at minus 18 degrees C & you can still easily bend the outer sipes with your thumb nail, but in normal conditions the sipes remain closed as a tight block until required improving handling in the dry & improving general wear, they are an intelligently designed product!
The inner directional tread pattern & outer blocks bite into snow covered roads & offer exceptional traction when climbing hills,( i know from experience of where i live, i don't get stuck but other people do! ) the directional pattern helps to evacuate slush & snow quickly so maintaining grip on long subzero temp journeys, & also improving grip on standing water in turn reducing aquaplaning. I'm not worried about tyre wear as these tyres are designed to do a specific job & keep you safe, of course there is going to be certain compromises but so far they are wearing extremely well. In all i have been using these tyres for over 45 days now in these UK winter conditions most of which has been challanging driving on snow & ice & slush, but every time i drive my car they put a massive smile on my face with the confidence & winter performance that they offer... L.T.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 21,500 Average miles

Audi A6 Allroad 2.5

One of the best winter tires I ever drove

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-17-H
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Ford Mondeo Titanium X

Bought them recently and the feel with the new tyres is amazing compared to my old Sepmerit Speed Grip I had on my Ford Mondeo. Bought 4 of the recently manifactured Goodyear Ultra Grip Performance 2. Also very good choice of size for the Mondeo, as it is a bit wider but yet a bit taller than the 205/55/16 tyre size. And the behavior of the grip is immaculate in wet and dry conditions, as long as the outside temperature is too cold. They are not as sticky to the road in too warm conditions.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-60-16-T
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf GTI

I'm amazed at how competent these tyres are even in conditions where summer tyres would normally be used.
They have been outstanding in the recent snow and extreme cold weather. The amount of improved traction over my Conti 3's is quite startling in the wet/icy/cold conditions. I was never really convinced by winter tyres but am now completely sold.
Naturally they are not snow tyres so what i've found on roads with layers of ice/snow is that the car can lose grip in heavy patches but once a softer patch is found they bite really well, whereas a summer tyre would continue to skid off the road. I had a couple of examples of this that thankfully kept me on the road.
A couple of things i have found is that tyre noise is greater at higher speeds compared to most summer tyres, however they are pretty much the same at speeds below 80mph. I also found that the steering does become a little light compared to something like the Conti 3's at higher speeds. These are V rated however i would be a little uncomfortable to push the car towards the 100mph mark, naturally where legally allowed.
Overall great tyres and would highly recommend.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-V
71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Skoda Fabia vRS

I decided to bit the bullet this winter and get some winter tyres. I bought some steel wheels and ordered the Goodyears from blackcircles although initially I ordered the Hankook Winter i'cept RS but these weren't available however I was offered the Goodyears instead. Having used Goodyear Summer tyres previously and these had good reviews I decided to go with the Goodyears. Despite not having much snow here in Cheshire the times when we did coupled with the large amounts of standing water we had these tyres have given me real reassurance in these conditions both grip on snow and ability to "cut through" standing water without the slightest hint of loss of traction. Only on the motorway where flash floods had turned the motorway into a river did the tyres give any hint of the amount of water on the roads and really it was prudent to take things easy. Going back to premium tyres after having budget and mid range summer tyres recently really made me appreciate the difference in having a premium tyre designed for the weather conditions. Even my wife, after initially questioning my decision, realised the benefits of these tyres after driving in the snow!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-16-H
51%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf 6 GTI

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
49%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 30,000 Easy Going miles

Skoda Yeti

Very quite and comfortable but very poor handling and grip in snow poor.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.