Vredestein Sprint Classic

The Vredestein Sprint Classic is a Summer Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Vredestein Sprint Classic
77%[average]
Dry Grip
84%
Wet Grip
69%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
64%
Wear
86%
Comfort
87%
Buy Again
73%

Vredestein Sprint Classic Reviews

94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3 Average miles

Mercedes Benz ’76 350SE (W116)

A great tyre for classic cars. My car takes an unusual size and my only other choices were a Michelin classic tyre at almost £400, or budget tyres for about £60. The Vredesteins in this size were about £150 (other, more common, sizes in this tyre are cheaper) and are perfect in appearance and performance. The high profile means the feedback is somewhat vague, but that’s more a factor of the size/profile than the tyre quality - you can’t expect more from a 1976 comfort-barge!
I can’t comment too much on the progressiveness, because I don’t corner the old girl that hard, but grip is excellent in all conditions, even pushed a bit.
Best of both worlds - grips like a modern tyre, looks like a classic tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-70-14-H
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,500 Spirited miles

Jaguar EType 4.2 1969

Fitted on an 4.2 E-Type. Initially slightly concerned about the relatively low price tag, most if not all concerns are now gone. Grip on track (Goodwood), Swiss mountain roads (Gr. St-Bernard/Furka/Stelvio) and Surrey country lanes in dry weather is simply impressive. Pushing the car into corners squashed on the driver's door, the tyres don't squeak, fade or slide. Transforms the already wonderful "performance classic" experience into a very affordable one. (Thank you Vredestein for this privilege!). On the downside, not as good on wet (might be the car) - so care needed there. The tyre walls also appear to warp quite a bit. Very little found on the internet about this. Hoping it is actually safe, it does not seem to alter the performance. The look is excellent too. All in, unless pure originality is of the essence, the Sprint Classic's appear the be "THE" choice for most classic car owners.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-55-15-R
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz 190SL

Excellent tyres for a classic, high sidewall crossply sizes in a radial so look great on the car but also drive very well. They all have "dents" on the sidewalls which is due to how they are made, more about that on Pistonheads forum. As might be expected with a high sidewall tyre they are sensitive to tyre pressures so you'll need to experiment to get that right. My wheels needed tubes fitted which is no problem with these tyres. Overall very happy and will certainly buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 640-80-13-S
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Jaguar MK2

I bought a set of Vredestein Sprint Classic tyres for my MK2 Jaguar. I've driven these cars over high mileages for the last 30 years during which time I have also worked as a professional restorer and component manufacturer so I consider that I know these cars very well. Before fitting the tyres I completely overhauled the steering and suspension with all wearing parts (including the stub axles) replaced. I spent 6 hours setting the camber, caster and steering geometry correctly. As a result the car handles and holds the road astonishingly well on these tyres. The steering (non power assisted) is light and progressive and the car will leave most modern traffic on sweeping A roads without any drama. The tyre wear is completely even and the car is a complete joy to drive. These are mid priced tyres but I honestly can't see the point of spending any more money than this for fast road use. In my experience, if your MK2 doesn't drive superbly on these with light, pleasant steering then it's the car which is at fault, not the tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-80-15-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Triumph TR6

Have a set of these on my 1974 TR6. She has 5.5J wire wheels, and the tyres are just great. Why pay more.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-70-15-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Easy Going miles

BMW 3.0 Csi

I needed a set of tyres to replace the elderly Michelin XWXs on my car. At the time of buying the Sprint Classics there really was only those and the Michelins available in the 205/70/VR14 size. I opted not to go for another set of XWXs as they are fairly prohibitively expensive. So far the Vredesteins feel very grippy and smooth. I do not drive like a maniac so I haven't thoroughly put them through their paces but so far I am more than happy with their performance. I think they look great and really suit the 70s styling of the car. Having said that, I doubt I'd buy another set as the previously mentioned 'dents' in the sidewalls are pretty unsightly particularly when considering the tyres aren't exactly cheap and being meticulous about period detail, it's an annoying niggle. Having said that, again – there are no other VR tyre available at a non-insane price.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-70-14-V
30%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Matra Djet

These were fitted to my Djet by a previous owner. My priorities are: wet braking, wet lateral grip (slick roads, not deep puddles) & progressive & talkative behaviour on the limit. I have no interest in comfort or longevity & prefer to have a short life, wet road friendly, soft compound tyre. Wet braking was ok but I considered them appallingly poor on most of my priorities. Instant plough understeer that was difficult to tune out with tyre pressures (I ended up with 39 psi fronts & 31 psi rears on a mid-engined vehicle!) & general unresponsiveness to inputs (initial & corrective) & low wet grip levels were notable. Shifting to my current Continental PremiumContact2s transformed the car's behaviour on each of my priorities.
The 155/80-15 size is an awkward one for anything decent in tyres & were I to be motivated to return to 15" wheels, then the FF soft compound version of Michelin's Xas seems likely to be a better proposition (I found the regular Xas rather good in the wet & very taut in structure when used on past vehicles).
So: I don't recommend the Vredestein unless pootling about on dry roads is all you'll do.

Tyre size reviewed: 155-80-15-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.