Bridgestone Potenza S001

The Bridgestone Potenza S001 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Bridgestone Potenza S001
74%[average]
Dry Grip
86%
Wet Grip
76%
Road Feedback
79%
Progressiveness
78%
Wear
69%
Comfort
66%
Buy Again
66%

Bridgestone Potenza S001 Reviews

97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 500 Average miles

Audi A3 Sportback

My wife's A3 was originally fitted with standard 16" wheels with Pirelli P7's 225/55R 16 91W. In fairness, this wheel and tyre combination provided a very comfortable ride and was fine & economical (£70 a corner, P7's) for general family motoring. However, when pulling away on wet roads these narrow tyres would some times spin even with the modest power of the 140bhp diesel, and didn't insprire confidence when pushing on.

I therefore upgraded to Audi's 17" 5 spokes thinking these would still provide a reasonable ride with the car's standard suspension, and widen the contact patch from 205 to 225. I'd been told 18" could make the ride very harsh/choppy on the standard Sport Back suspension.

After reading a number of EVO magazine tyre reviews I went for Bridgestone Potenza S001's. Whilst EVO did rate the Continental Sport Contact 3 above the Bridgestones, I run Potenzas (RE040) on my Nissan 350Z and had always been very pleased with them on both road and track. With some hard negotiation I got them for £103 per corner all in which was far cheaper than I could get the Conti's reduced to. The Potenza S001's have a blocky tread pattern not dissimilar to the Conti's, and also a prominent rim protector ridge on the side-wall which is useful on the Audi 5 spokes as that design does seem a bit prone to the curb!

I have to say I'm delighted with this wheel & tyre combination, it really has unlocked the potential of the car when you do want to push on.

Clearly it's impossible for me to give a like-for-like comparison given that I've gone up a wheel size. As you'd expect, the ride is firmer and there is more road noise than from the narrower 16", but to my mind still perfectly acceptable for a family car. The A3's clearly not a 'drivers car' but feedback through the Potenzas is near telepathic; grip in both dry & wet is very good and has eliminated the wet pull-away slip. You can corner in confidence within the limits of the standard suspension set-up, and braking is significantly more confidence inspiring.

I'd certainly say these tyres are well matched to the A3 Sport Back and give a good combination of comfort and performance.

I can't give any feed back on wear on the A3 yet, but if my experience with the 350Z is anything to go by I'm expecting my wife to get a descent mileage from these tyres. They do have an 'outside' face which means you can't rotate left-to-right to balance wear, which is a shame given the A3's tendancy to wear nearside rears.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Audi S3

Have had these on my Audi S3 for 3000 miles now. Driving through a UK winter but amazing how much more feel these offered than my previous Michelin PS3's.

Pushed them on very cold tarmac and quite progressive when they start to go, wear so far very good as well.

Tyres are quite subjective but these have made my S3 a lot more rewarding to drive

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-W
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 9,000 Spirited miles

BMW M3

Amazing

Tyre size reviewed: 265-35-19-W
95%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 800 Average miles

Audi S3

Purchased these for all 4 alloys on my Audi S3 at a very good price, had ContiSport6 before.

I have to say I have never seen the traction light flash on my car with the Potenza's on, these tyres are very good in the rain and dry, even at high speed around corners.

Launch controlled my car several times with these tyres on and it handles it very well.

Can't really complain especially when they are giving lifetime guarentee on the tyres, would purchase these on my next set for my Golf GTD.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
95%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Fiat 500 Abarth

I have bought this tyres for my Abarth 500. Before I had Pirello P Zero fitted. Nothing bad to say about the Pirelli's, they just did there job. But, after replacing it with this tyre, the differences where hugh! The Pirelli's are very, I then I really mean, very stiff. The Bridgestone's are more quiet, softer, but not less sporty. The handling improved a lot! You can feel much more what is going on, the level of sounds was a lot less and the shock absorbtion also improved a lot with this tyres!

A definitely buy again tyre!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf GTI Turbo mk4

excellent tyres!My last one set was Toyo T1R. Bridgestone look better!
Bridgestone dont come in the right temperature so much quickly than toyo but it isnt a big problem...
The grip is excellent when the come in the right temperature.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 14,000 Average miles

Audi A1

Standard fitment on my A1 1.4 TFSI Black Edition (185PS) S-Tronic.

They have performed really well and even coped well with a small amount of snow (driven very carefully).

Tyre size reviewed: 225-35-18-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Volvo S80 T6

The S001 replaced the PZero Rosso I had on my Volvo S80 T6. Originally the car came with P6000. Out of the three set, this is the best fit for a heavy car. Steering into a corner gives you lots of feedback early on. Tire treads still very new, but the handling compared to the Pirellis I had are way better. I will comeback in few months for an update on how they progress.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 200 Spirited miles

Ford Ford Focus MK2 1.8 TDCi

Fitted these to my 2009 1.8tdci zetec s Focus and love them always used continental before but was advised to try these as the conti were not lasting long on the front (due to running such high bhp) only cover 300 miles so far but with esp off you get really good feed back and not a lot of side wall flex highly recommend

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Audi S3

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.