Goodyear EfficientGrip

The Goodyear EfficientGrip is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Goodyear EfficientGrip
65%[average]
Dry Grip
76%
Wet Grip
65%
Road Feedback
60%
Progressiveness
58%
Wear
69%
Comfort
71%
Buy Again
52%

Goodyear EfficientGrip Reviews

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Easy Going miles

Holden Astra

Got all 4 tyres replaced with Goodyear Efficientgrip tyres. Cost a bit but very pleased with them. Haven't done 1000km on them as yet but they are quiet tyres and adds to the comfort of driving.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 60,000 Easy Going miles

Ford Fiesta

These tyres are fitted on my Ford Fiesta 1.6 TDCI and they are brilliant.
They run dramatically quieter at higher speeds >60mph than my previous tyres, and they have been no trouble at all in the snow and rain. I have yet to have any negative press for these.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-45-16-V
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Ford Mondeo

Third review of these tyres a further 6 months on. Definately the very best tyres I have ever had on a car. Avons, Continentals and Pirellis before. I am baffled at the negative comments in some reviews. I do not push my vehicle/ tyres anywhere near the limit, maybe that is why for me this is the perfect touring tyre. Also I have the XL version which are definately not "jelly like". I will buy again without hesitation.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-50-17-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Lexus IS250SE

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-17-
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Ford Mondeo

Third review having renewed the front ones at 2.5mm. Completed approx' 2000 miles and cannot fault these tyres on my car and my style of driving. They have never shown any sign of "letting go" either in the wet or dry and this "Jelly" feeling described by others is just not there. Maybe as I said before it is because I have to have the XL version. Try as I may I cannot see where all this negative stuff about these tyres comes from.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-50-17-W
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 35,000 Average miles

Skoda Octavia

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-H
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 35,000 Average miles

Citro├źn C5

The greatest tyre I have had so far.
I covered over 55000km in Citroen C5 (heavy luxury car) and they still have enough tread for another legal 10-15 k.
They have good grip overall and excellent stability for side wind etc
Highly recommended !!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-17-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Ford Mondeo estate

Firstly, some background. This isn't part of the review, but will provide some context. I don't use a single set of tyres. Instead I have summer tyres (the Goodyear EfficientGrip I'm reviewing) on the original alloys that came with the vehicle and winter tyres (Nangkang SV2) on a set of steels. It makes changing them a doddle (sub 1hr) and therefore makes sure that I do swap them over twice a year.

Due to my rotation of winter/summer, it also means I can rotate front/back tyres on both sets and get almost perfect even wear across all the tyres. I've found this is the best way with tyres as it means I'm always getting the best performance from the tread and I can replace an entire set of 4, not pairs and swap with the rears like I used to.

Another advantage is I can inspect each tyre very closely for uneaven wear, bulges, separation etc and make sure that when I drive the car, the stuff that keeps me alive is still at top performance. Now for the review...

Its very hard to give the exact mileage since I've swapped them for winters approximately twice a year (usually October/November and March/April). One thing I can say is I've had the tyres for a VERY long time. I can't actually remember when I last got the summers replace. I'm very impressed, therefore, with the wear overall - bearing in mind I regularly swap front/rear.

The performance of these tyres is very surprising - as is the car to be honest. Its a very boring standard Ford Mondeo Estate (diesel) but the handling of such a normal estate really surprises me sometimes if you push it! Especially with these tyres. Its literally like driving a train. My driving is mixed/modest most of the time (I have a family) but occasionally I travel to Wales and Yorkshire with lots of twisty windy roads and you really can feel the performance of the tyres. I've only started to notice a slight drop in performance down to the last 2-4mm - but that is because the centre treads really have lost most of their grip now - time to replace!

On the motorway, they are quiet as a mouse. I can't really comment on fuel economy as I only have the winters to compare to and it is to be expected there will be a significant difference between the two.

In the rain, I guess they could be a tad better if you push them but then again my driving style changes in the rain and I don't really push it. I've never had any issues with roundabouts, aquaplaning or emergency stops in the wet (defensive driving) - so can't ask for much more. If you try and push them in the wet then yes you will feel them losing grip. This is a positive comment - as you need a tyre to tell you when its losing grip so you can correct before its too late. So good for normal driving, but dont expect them to be like glue in the wet.

I'm so pleased with the tyres overall, I'll be replacing them with the same ones again. Even after some considerable research into what might have come on the market since.

This time I'm going for the EfficientGrip Performance as there is a slight improvement on economy and they are reinforced (estate car and uk potholes, enough said). With the label ratings of A A and under 70db, plus XL, and very high reviews on here and other vendors, its a no brainer for me.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-16-H
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 100 Average miles

Vauxhall Zafira 1.9 tdi


I commute in excess of 30K miles per year, 85% on the M5. The rest being on A roads and country lanes.

Mostly it is myself, alternate weekend up to full load of kids/adults. On holiday fully loaded. Run tyres at 32-33 psi (35 is a touch too hard)


The first pair of Continentals Contract 2(?140) (origal fitting) covered 17,585 miles. This I thought was not that good.Tried Mitchelins next that managed 21k miles.

Fitted first pair of Efficient grips in Jan 2010. ?140 fully fitted from Kwik Fit. Extremly impressed by tyre wear, performance and generally handling. Fuel economy is between 10-11 Miles per litre.

Changed them 16/10/10 having done 24,200 miles. They had between 2 and 1.6mm left but were getting a bit twitchy on some road surfaces and wet performance was deterioating but still OK.

Manged to get the replacement pair for ?124 have checked on line price and then haggled with local independant dealer. New tyes have average tread depth of 8.5mm.

Must say highly impressed with them on the front. Will consider pair of Bridgestones to go on the back when the two non branded tyres need replacement.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-V
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Peugeot 308

Have had these in place of michelin energy saver tyres, have now done around 2000 miles now and am very pleased with these tyres. Noticeable difference in drive, softer and more smoother than michelins, hard corning is noticeable in comparassion to the michelins, wet grip is as very good, as well as dry grip, no noticable wear yet or difference in fuel consumption. Subject to some reviews on these tyres i would deffinatly recommend these tyres to anyone.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.