Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D

The Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D
80%[average]
Dry Grip
80%
Wet Grip
85%
Road Feedback
81%
Progressiveness
78%
Wear
76%
Comfort
79%
Buy Again
82%

Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D Reviews

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 0 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf Plus 2.0 TDI GT

I thought driving in snow was only for people with big 4x4's until I discovered "WINTER TYRES" these Dunlop 3D's are just amazing, it should be law to have them fitted in the UK as it is in many other countires during the winter months.
I have followed 4x4's up hill and down hill in my Golf Plus, today a car coming in the opposite direction slowed down to say there was no way through "ONLY 4x4's are getting through, I said I have winter tyres on and he laughed, I said just watch and see how they work.....I was away up the hill and gone, I would have loved to see his face, I bet he tells everyone!!
Fit Winter Tyres you will be amazed!!!!
Kent UK 1st December 2010

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 5,000 Spirited miles

Volvo C70 D5 LUX

Amazing tyres - Using these in conditions below 7'c is where they come into their own element. Surprised to hear people are using them in the summer - they are not all season....

Ice, Rain (no snow yet) these tyres grip. below -3 and the rubber is still soft making the ride much softer than the all-seasons I had previously.

They are expensive but for the levels of grip and braking performance, they are more than worth it to protect my car and passengers.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-W
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Average miles

BMW 118d

top tyre superb in the snow

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 40,000 Average miles

Nissan Almera Sport+ 1.8

Very good in winter. I was the only car that climbed a mountain on a officially closed road for about 15 km and i have a 2wd. Not the best in summer as the ABS goes in very often. Brilliant also on wet! They have about 50.000km and i must change them as they dont work very well in winter anymore. Would buy them again for sure

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Average miles

Audi A4 Avant 2.0T Quattro

These tyres are excellent in snow and very good on cold wet roads. It is possible to accelerate uphill with confidence on snow, as long as your not acting the goat! This gives you that feeling of getting one over on the British winter which makes me smile! Most important though is the stopping ability. Braking quite firmly downhill on snow is an ABS free experience. You really won't believe the improvement until you experience it. Like others, I cannot see myself ever driving in winter without appropriate tyres again. I only wish everyone had to have them by law as it would make me less nervous about the safety of my rear bumper! My wife's GTi is getting a set of the same tyres in two days time, so definitely am buying again... My only criticism is that fast corners (think motorway roundabouts) are not as solid as with my summer continentals; at the start of the turn you can feel the car creep sideways slightly and then it grips firmly. I understand this is a common characteristic of winter tyres though.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Opel Astra H CDTI

I bought this tyres according to Auto Bild's excellent mark. And now I can say this tyres are incredible. They are really good at dry roads and in snow. I have no problems to go wherever I want in winter. It's my second year with those tyres and they have a lot of grapple at this moment. I highly recommend them as one of the best winter tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Skoda Octavia

Great tires

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-H
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 1,000 Average miles

BMW 123d

These tyres are brilliant. Granted I don't have any other winter tyres to compare against, but in Snow/Slush/Ice/Standing Water they really inspire confidence.

These have transformed our BMW 1 Series from a Snow no-go, to a Snow Hero.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-V
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

Renault Scenic

Superb tyres. Great grip in all conditions, will plough through fresh snow, slush and frozen snow with ease. Enjoy 60 mph in the fresh snow in outside lane whilst the rest of the traffic crawl along at 20-30 :)

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-H
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Audi A6

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.