Vredestein Ultrac Cento

The Vredestein Ultrac Cento is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Vredestein Ultrac Cento
80%[average]
Dry Grip
83%
Wet Grip
78%
Road Feedback
76%
Progressiveness
73%
Wear
86%
Comfort
82%
Buy Again
79%

Vredestein Ultrac Cento Reviews

99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 9,000 Average miles

Skoda Superb II combi 2.0 tdi cr

Excellent!!!! (if slightly noisy)

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Renault Megane

Good tyres!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 35,000 Average miles

BMW 318D

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 16,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Passat

Have these on 1.9 tdi vw passat....love them....got 25000 kms out of them with fast aggressive driving,hard cornering..... 3mm still remaining....have contisport contact 5 before and lasted only 12000 kms for me....so way better....dry grip is outstanding....progresivenes is excellent too....braking and acceleration on staright line is perfect.....slightly less grip on wet compared to dry...as per the wet braking C category but its not too bad...i would say good,not excellent...sound is ok....nothing disturbing your comfort.....will definitely buy them again and recommend to everyone especially with heavy cars....

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Volkswagen GT TDI 150 PD

Was after a set of Sessantas after they came so highly recommended, but they were unavailable from local stockist so took a punt on these instead and i can say i've never looked back! Worth every penny, handling and grip is outstanding in all conditions, road noise is extremely low and they have out standing durability, looking as fresh as they did the day the were fitted back in December 2010.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 20,000 Spirited miles

Audi 2.0tdi 140 sline sportback

Nice premium quality tires on a good price. Perfect summer all-rounders. Comfort is overall good. They are very good at high speed, also on wet, and in comparison to Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta they wear much less.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 3,000 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo 159

Did some research and compared these to the Bridgestone's I had on before. Bridgestone's were quite and grippy but £50 a tyre more expensive.
So I wanted the Sessantas but there are none suited to my Alfa. I was advised to give these a go. I cover a lot of miles and did 1000 in the first week on the new Centro's (design by the stylist for my car coincidentally).
The tyres took a while to bed in and as a result MPG suffered failing to get above 46MPG compared to the usual 50. Since then and in mixed conditions they have added an extra 4mpg (54mpg) compared to the Bridgestones.
The weather is getting worse and I read some other reviewers concerns about these tyres in snow and ice so will update when the weather reaches that stage.
Overall great tyres so far, would say slightly more road noise than Bridgestones but it's not too bad considering the cost saving

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-W
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 600 Average miles

MG ZR

I haven't driven many miles with these yet but so far i'm reasonably impressed with them. I've gone from Uniroyal Rainsport 2's (which i still have on another set of alloys) as i wanted a smoother ride over the amazingly sporty Rainsport 2's.
These Centos' are unbelievably quite.
It's a very smooth ride even in a MG ZR 160.
I'm not 100% confident of them in the wet (again, my only comparison are the rainsport 2's): i think there straight line characteristics are very good but i'm not yet so sure about cornering/handling characteristics. BUT, i need to do more miles.
So far i would say these are worth a punt: vredestein have a good reputation and this is a flagship product for them and so far i can see why. It's not, in my opinion, a sports tyre, more a saloon executive tyre. I could easily see these on Mercs & BMW's with lots of straight line speed, smooth cornering but not out & out sports cornering & aggressive driving. A pleasant compromise between smoothness & quite versus grip & handling (not that i've had a problem with either).
Will post more feedback after a few more thousand miles. Costs ?95 a corner.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-W
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 44,000 Average miles

Audi TT

Fitted to my 03 plate TT Roadster @ 34k mls. Just coming to the wear limit now @78k mls!! Brilliant all round.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 9,400 Average miles

Peugeot

Very good dry grip, when wet the fronts start wiggling a bit. Not as comfortable as michelin primacies but way more comfortable than the dunlops I had before. After 15.000km signs of excessive wear, very little wear in fact.
Good tyres with great pricetag!

Definetly recommend them and would buy them again. Also like to try out the ultrac sessanta´s though.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.