Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S
90%[average]
Dry Grip
95%
Wet Grip
91%
Road Feedback
89%
Progressiveness
90%
Wear
88%
Comfort
89%
Buy Again
88%

Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S Reviews

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

BMW Alpina B5 2006

Compared to my previous 19" rims and Continental SportContact 6 tires, these Michelin tires are more comfortable (despite lower tire profile) and more silent. Very satisfied with these tires.

Tyre size reviewed: 285-30-20-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

BMW M3

Replaced the Pilot Super Sports on my F80 M3 and it's better in every way. The wet grip is insane, it's like you're driving in the dry. Best tyre on the market.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-35-19-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,500 Spirited miles

Audi RS3 8V

I replaced the front tyres with these just a few months ago.
I'm absolutely amazed by them - they grip at a level I didn't think was possible. In the dry they seem to hook in and never let go and apparently are just as good in the wet as I've yet to find their limit. Launching the car, the slip at the front is vastly reduced, and braking performance is amazing.
In terms of feedback and cornering, where on previous tyres I would have found understeer easily enough if I had pushed hard in the bends, this has now completely gone now matter how ham fisted I try to be. Even in the wet, the rear is stepping out long before the front does. As with most Michelins, they have great positive turn-in and decent feedback through the wheel. I can't talk of how they act at the limit as, like I say, I have struggled to reach it on public roads, but you can feel the tyre loading round corners and get a good idea of how the grip is being used. I suspect at the limit, these will be progressive and easily modulated.
These are not neccessarily quieter in absolute db than other tyres I've had on, but the actual pitch of the noise is relatively low and so they appear much less intrusive and subjectively are pretty quiet. They ride well on the roads and have good compliance and comfort - better than anything else I've had.

In case I wasn't clear enough - these are amazing. They are brilliant all round and you compromise nothing in the process. The only downside is the price, but frankly, they're worth it.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf GTI MK7

I got the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S to replace the PIrelli P Zero that came with the car and what a difference. Quieter, better steering and loads more grip. So happy with them!!

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

BMW M3

Replaced conti 5p's with these and more than happy. Seem a better tyre all round especially in the wet. Not as important but like how the tyre wall lettering is black highlighted like the sport cup 2's. I'd say they feel almost like the cup 2's in the dry but with more grip in the wet.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-35-19-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Jaguar XF

This tyre is a revelation! My XF never did feel quite right of Dunlop Sport Maxx tyres, these are totally different. Responsive, excellent road feel, much quieter than the Dunlops, good fuel consumption.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-20-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Jaguar XF

Dieser Reifen ist eine Offenbarung! Mein XF hat sich bei den Reifen von Dunlop Sport Maxx nie ganz richtig angefühlt, diese sind völlig anders. Ansprechendes, ausgezeichnetes Straßengefühl, viel leiser als die Dunlops, guter Kraftstoffverbrauch.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-20-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Jaguar XF

Ce pneu est une révélation! Ma XF ne se sentait jamais tout à fait à propos des pneus Dunlop Sport Maxx, ceux-ci sont totalement différents. Réactive, excellente tenue de route, beaucoup plus silencieuse que les Dunlops, bonne consommation de carburant.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-20-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Audi rs3

Better than the OE PIrellis

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

BMW F11 M550d xDrive

Absolutely Brilliant. They are one whole step better than the PS4 which I have driven in size 245/40R18 on a RWD 530d E61. The dry grip is outstanding. Very comfortable and quiet. The M550d touring comes stock with Dunlop runflats and these PS4s are just on a whole different playing field. Not to mention that the rear Dunlops both failed catastrophically by delaminating from the steel beads and bursting at 240km/h and with an age of the tyres just one year old with 4mm still left on the tread. Very happy with this tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-30-17-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.