Avon WV7

The Avon WV7 is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Avon WV7
74%[average]
Dry Grip
81%
Wet Grip
83%
Road Feedback
89%
Progressiveness
76%
Wear
82%
Comfort
88%
Buy Again
80%

Avon WV7 Reviews

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 200 Average miles

Kia Motors ceed

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Subaru Forester sti

Bought these on a hunch that they might be better than a lot of winter tyres in the wet/dry (which compose 90% of British winter weather) and indeed they are. However they're also very good in winter conditions with excellent grip on fresh and frozen snow and ice, climbing a 1 in 6 hill in fresh snow was no problem, as was stopping on black ice. Their outstanding characteristic is the steering feedback, better than most winter tyres (Nokian, Vredestein) that I've run - though obviously won't be as good as a HP summer tyre, due to isolated tread blocks and loads of sipes - and the sidewalls are stiff enough to make the car feel controlled and give you confidence when pushing through the corners. And lastly they're suprisingly quiet for a winter tyre too, less high frequency noise than the previous summer tyres I ran. All in all a very competent tyre at a decent price to boot, and the folk at Avon are most helpful with information.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-17-V
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 1,500 Average miles

Volkswagen Sharan SE 2.0TDi

Limited review on the grounds that I have only completed 1500 miles to the Alps and back. Car was fully laden (5 people, roofbox and snowboard equipment/luggage. Road noise was not an issue, VW Sharan handled without issue throughout the trip and had no need for snow chains in resort while others all used chains!! We had plenty of snow in resort and the trip down from resort was cold and icy which these tyres dealt with just fine. Hard to comment on fuel consumption as we had the roofbox.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 5,000 Spirited miles

Volvo 2.0 T5 Saloon

I was very surprised at how good these tyres were in the cold wet and snow (snow once for about 20 miles), especially considering that they're classed as mid priced.

I drove from Kent to Glasgow and back once per month throughout the winter and found these tyres to be confidence inspiring in all weathers. I took them off when the weather turned fine again, just to save them for further winters although, I found them to provide excellent feedback and grip in the spring/warmish months too.

I was also surprised at how little they had worn over 5000 miles. They will be good for at least two more winters, maybe more.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,500 Average miles

Toyota Auris

Well, so far in the dry and wet these are pretty good and it will be good to see how they are in snow if we get some. They have been around towns, rural roads and motorways and you almost forget you have winters on as they drive so well and are pretty quiet. These Avon's were bought to do the job well, without fuss and last well. They are a new tyre this winter (although probably the Cooper WeatherMaster) so there were no reviews to check out beforehand. This probably contributed to the very good prices available. From what I have seen so far I would recommend them.
I have run various vehicles on various winters or all seasons since 2008 and this November I put these WV7 winters on the Toyota. I also put Pirelli all season self seal on the Seat and Toyo Celsius all weather on the mini.
So far I haven't been disappointed with any of them in the dry, wet and morning frost, although the Toyos and Pirellis really need another 500 miles or so on their tyres for to bed in fully.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-H
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 3,000 Average miles

Audi S3

Using these tyres on a 310bhp Audi S3 so a bit more power than your usual car. So far these tyres have been excellent to say how cheap they were compared to the premium offerings.

Grip in all weather conditions is good, launching the car full throttle traction is acceptable though you can expect some traction control kicking in. Noticed no problems braking and cornering in wet and cold conditions and the car doesn't feel alot different to the summer tyres I had on before (Pirelli P-Zero's)

For the price these are faultless, picked up a set of 4 fully fitted from ATS for £310. It would of been closer to £500 for a premium set. Would definitely recommend and would buy these again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

Skoda Octavia vRS

This is my second winter on these. Last winter with the mild UK weather they weren't worth the expendature. 10 Celsius & above my summer tyres out perform them in every respect. After just 1 season fronts were half worn already. With temps below 7 Celsius & the wet, they start to justify themselves. With this winter's recent cold snap and proper snow they have come into their own. I had no doubt I would make it to work on my early morning B road commute - the car bearly spun a wheel. Comparing these to previously owned Nokian WR A3, the Nokians were a much better all rounder and lasted 5 seasons. I doubt the Avons will make 3. All in all the Avons are best reserved to the worst of winter weather - not ideal for typical UK winters. I think I'll be spending a bit more & going back to Nokian when it's time to replace.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
36%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 4
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1
  • Trockenhaftung 3
  • Nassgriff 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Skoda SuperB II 4x4 3.6L DSG

Bought these for a Skoda Superb 3.6 V6 4x4 saloon and was sorely disappointed with their inclement weather grip. Comfortable enough to drive on, but traction control comes on a lot with these fitted! Have checked all tyre pressures and driving to the conditions.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.