Avon ZX7

The Avon ZX7 is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a SUV and 4x4.

Avon ZX7
75%[average]
Dry Grip
88%
Wet Grip
85%
Road Feedback
82%
Progressiveness
77%
Wear
55%
Comfort
79%
Buy Again
61%

Avon ZX7 Reviews

98%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Volkswagen 2.0 TDI 4Motion 16V

Just completed the first 1000 miles on these tyres. I'm very impressed with every aspect of these tyres. These are quieter, more comfortable and provide a fantastic feel whilst driving, very smooth.
The feed back whilst steering is superb, incredibly precise and sharp to the point where I actually over steered for the first few miles until I got used to the fact that they were so precise with no roll or wallow round corners or roundabouts.
These have a slightly older fashioned pattern on the tread so if that's your kind of thing then your going to be disappointed as they don't have nice swirly patterns like some other tyres, but if that's your criteria when buying a tyre then your buying tyres for the wrong reason, although they do have a nice touch of having the brand and model mounded into the tread.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-50-18-
98%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 300 Average miles

BMW X3 3.0dA

I recently replaced the BMW-spec (but non-runflat) Pirelli P7s on my X3 with these Avons. My first impressions are that the Avons are a fair bit quieter and give slightly better feedback in the dry. I haven't had the chance to do many miles in the wet on the Avons, but they do seem to have better grip on damp roads compared to the Pirellis.
As it stands at the moment (only done 300ish miles) I find them better in all aspects than the Pirellis.
Some reviewers have said they thought the Avons don't last very long. As long as I get 15000 miles from mine, I'll be happy - I value wet grip and all-round feedback above longevity. The Avons are 80% of the cost of a set of Pirellis or Dunlops, so anything less than 20% reduction in tyre life is acceptable in terms of "bang for buck".
Based on these impressions, I would definitely buy them again. If I should happen to change my mind before they need to be replaced, I will report back.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-60-17-V
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 10,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz ML

VERY GOOD TYRES FOR MY ML.
GRIP IS WELL IN DRY ,NOISE LEVEL LOW,WET GRIP CONTROL IS VERY GOOD.VERY COMFORTABLE ON MY ML.
WILL BUY THE SAME AGAIN.
THANKS TO AVON TYRES.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-55-17-V
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 6,000 Average miles

Land Rover Range Rover Vogue SDV6

I bought these for my L32 Range Rover Vogue to replace the Pirelli Scorpions which didn’t last long and to me didn’t feel very grippy. The Avons - which are made in Britain - have been a revelation. Dry and wet grip is excellent. They are quiet. And I get 10% better economy too. I got one puncture days after having them all fitted which was irritating but which was able to be repaired. I have had one tyre deflate rapidly but which seemed to be ok in reflating so am not sure what happened there. Shall definitely buy these again and shall fit them to my P38 too and possibly my 5 series. Very impressed and good to buy British. So far have done 6000 miles with no significant sign of wear so they are lasting well too.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-45-19-W
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Hyundai ix35

The car had done 46k 3rd set of tyres, first and second sets oem Hankook Optimum and so noisy..
Funny my wife researched and spotted these,. My given apprehension was what happens in winter conditions.
A1 near Berwick about 2" had fallen dual carriageway was down to one lane except Discoverys etc...
Stopping distance was huge. Ex ambulance driver, if I had not had the skid pan training etc, I would never avoided having a rear end collision despite decent braking distance.

I'm a firm believer that low profile tyres are killers in winter for average driver.
Having driven an old Ford Cortical rear wheel drive with skinny budget tyres as a young man I never got stuck.

Avon.. Tyres are excellent up to a point, but the ABS works overtime even in snow.
I use the A82 a lot, now I pick long term weather forecasts to drive to Glasgow or Newcastle upon Tyne.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-18-H
88%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 500 Average miles

Toyota RAV4

After 36K on the original fit Bridgestone Dueler's I was looking for 2 front tyres for a 2014 RAV4 2ltr diesel 4WD. First impressions of the Avon's are very good. A noticeable reduction in road noise which is very welcome. Steering weight which was always on the heavy side immediately felt lighter. Steering response is very good and as previous reviewer mentioned for the first few miles I was turning in too much. Very stable and grip in both wet and dry is very good. Tread is less "offroad" than the original tyres and will have to wait and see how they do if we get any white stuff. Don't know if the wear rate will be as good as the original Bridgestone tyres which were very long lasting at 36K (front, rears still approx 3mm) but in all other aspects these tyres are a lot better than the Bridgestones. Would definitely recommend as these tyres have made a real difference to the drive of the car. Bought through Blackcircles at under £200 for the pair fitted which saved £50-60 over the Bridgestones.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-18-H
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Nissan Qashqai

Having a recent MOT with low tyre tread advisories I decided to renew all four corners. The tyres already fitter were Bridgestone Duellers, which were excellent. Owing to low funds I was unable to purchase replacement Bridgestones, but the guys at the tyre centre I use offered a good deal on four Avon ZX7's, and as I have Avon tyres on my motorbike I though ok, give them a try.
First thing I noticed was they were quieter than the Bridgestones, and they felt good through the steering. So far I have done about 1000 miles and have no complaints, they feel secure and reassuring in both dry and wet conditions. I have cornered hard and given them a good workout on roundabouts with no dramas.
As it stands I would buys these again and would recommend them to anyone looking for a top end mid range tyre from a well known and trusted tyre make.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Honda CRV

Have recently put a set of Avon ZX7 225 60 18 onto my 2012 Honda CRV after finding that my Michelin Latitudes had perished sidewall after 3 years of low mileage use. Not wanting to buy the michelins again for obvious reasons I stumbled upon these and found them to be a revelation, instantly finding road noise had reduced. Two days after purchasing them I found myself checking the tyre pressures as the roads that I travel daily seemed smoother. I have also found that wet weather grip is very good. Early days to say about how quickly they wear. Based on them so far I would definitely purchase again, especially when you can pick them up for just over £100 a corner fitted. Did experience difficulty buying them from Halfords even though they list them, salesman didn't want to sell them to me for some reason. I think that he just wanted me to buy something more expensive, which I didn't, I just went elsewhere and got a price match.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-60-18-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Honda CRV

Had these fitted a couple of months ago, good all round summer tyres & very quite, down side very poor in light snow/slush has a tendency to slide very easily. If you want a tyre that will cope with the occasional slush/snow wouldn't recommend.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-65-17-H
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 30 Average miles

Lexus RX 400h

I find this tyre very good in the dry and the wet giving good grip and predictable handling however I also find the tyre quiet noisy unless the road is smooth Tarmac, if it was quieter I would be 99% happy with it.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.