Avon ZV7

The Avon ZV7 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Avon ZV7
80%[average]
Dry Grip
87%
Wet Grip
83%
Road Feedback
75%
Progressiveness
72%
Wear
78%
Comfort
83%
Buy Again
78%

Avon ZV7 Reviews

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,000 Average miles

Ford Mondeo

Fitted a new set of these tyres to my Mondeo 2.5 v6 in early 2017 and have done about 18,000 miles since. Wear - They are just about due for changing on the front but I can't complain at all about the wear as I tend to be a little more heavy footed. Back ones have around 1/2 left.
Handling - Amazing, the turn in is so direct and they grip all day long. In the wet they are fantastic, never had wheel spin or lack of grip even with the high power through the front wheels.
Noise - Well as far as i can say they're pretty much silent, I never hear any tyre roar.
Value for money - Spot on, can't complain when I paid £70 a corner at the time.
All weather - ironically i managed to get up a slope to my house in light snow no problem at all! I'm not for one minute saying they're winter tyres but they got me a small incline from flat standstill!
In the wet, I've read these tyres aren't quite up to the mark but in reality (certainly on my car) they are fantastic and you even feel the confidence through the wheel that they will grip exceptionally through sharp turns and when braking.
Performance off the line - I had some poor landsails on before and the difference was astonishing when I changed, the car felt so much more agile through bends and responsive. Excellent.

Overall I would 100% recommend these tyres and having experienced 'premium' tyres such as Continental or Pirelli, would say the price upgrade is not worth considering as they perform just as well in all conditions.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Volvo V40 D4 Cross Country

Had new set of 4 ZV7 to replace set of Continentals. Instantly noticed better handling in dry and in particular in heavy rain. They are more responsive on tight cornering also much quieter on road noise. Have not had them long enough to give opinion on wear. But they were recommended to me by friend who got 29,000 miles return from his set and replaced with new set of ZX7. But the best part is they are British made, and buying them is supporting British jobs.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 100 Spirited miles

Skoda Octavia vRS

Got these on my Octavia VRS mk2 FL after swapping out the Michelin Pilot sports. PS were ok but expensive. The Avon ZV7s are fantastic value, I’ve only tested in the current summer and dry but definately feels as equally as grippy as the Michelin’s. I also had the ZV5’s on my old Lexus IS250 and was happy then also but the Octy a
Is a different type of car.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 100 Spirited miles

Skoda Octavia vRS

Je les ai sur mon Octavia VRS mk2 FL après avoir échangé les sports Michelin Pilot. PS était correct mais cher. Les Avon ZV7 sont d'une valeur fantastique, je n'ai testé que dans l'été actuel et sec, mais je me sens certainement aussi grippy que le Michelin. J'ai aussi eu le ZV5 sur ma vieille Lexus IS250 et j'étais heureux aussi mais l'Octy un
Est-ce un type de voiture différent.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 100 Spirited miles

Skoda Octavia vRS

Habe diese auf meinem Octavia VRS mk2 FL nach dem Austauschen der Michelin Pilot Sport. PS waren in Ordnung, aber teuer. Die Avon ZV7s sind ein fantastisches Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis, ich habe es nur im aktuellen Sommer getestet und trocken, aber auf jeden Fall fühle ich mich genauso grippig wie der Michelin. Ich hatte auch die ZV5 auf meinem alten Lexus IS250 und war dann auch glücklich aber der Octy ein
Ist eine andere Art von Auto.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Vauxhall Signum 2.2 direct

Bought the Signum four years ago with 47000 on the clock. It came with a set of budgets all round. The critics when it was new had two main moans. The first was that road noise in the cabin was excessive and secondly it looked like a Vectra.
After about 15000 miles I was fed up with the noise in the cabin and decided to change the tyres to see if it would reduce the noise at all and settled on Avon ZV5's for the rear. Instant improvement. The noise in the cabin was noticeably reduced.
It also produced another surprise. I do a regular run (every couple of months) via the Chunnel and France to Belgium (400 mile round trip). When I bought the car it indicated an average of 36mpg. With the ZV5,s it went up to 38mpg.
Now to the ZV7's (At last I hear you all say - if you are still with me). It just carries on getting better. I still only paid £66 each for what has proved to be an excellent tyre. Mileage improved yet again to 41mpg and the cabin noise was reduced even further. The 5's are showing little sign of wear after 5000 miles and the 7's at 2000 miles still look brand new.
Overall I don't think it is possible to get a better value for money tyre than these Avons.
Still have one complaint - The Signum still looks like a bloody Vectra.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Volvo Volvo S80 D3 Geartronic

A superb touring tyre, great comfort and a huge improvement on previous Pirelli P7 and Continentals. A UK made tyre and it seems like they are making these for UK conditions, because all weathers the tyres inspire nothing but confidence. I've had Michelins, Pirellis and Continentals on the front this is certainly the best of the lot. It is a summer tyre of course but warms up very well in Winter, even sub zero so that you don't experience the 'skittiness' of summer tyres in the cold and the wet. Quiet in the cabin, smart looking, the rim protector decent and overall there is nothing not to like. I'm waiting until my rears wear down and will definitely fit these all round. Too soon to really talk about wear, only 2000 miles but overall this in a premium tyre at a mid price and a great choice.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-W
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI

Good tyres wet or dry, give plenty of feedback, also quiet running and so far the wear rate looks good, I will be buying these again.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI

De bons pneus mouillés ou secs, donnent beaucoup de rétroaction, aussi un fonctionnement silencieux et jusqu'à présent le taux d'usure semble bon, je vais les acheter à nouveau.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI

Gute Reifen nass oder trocken, geben viel Feedback, auch leise läuft und bis jetzt sieht die Verschleißrate gut aus, ich werde diese wieder kaufen.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.