Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2
82%[average]
Dry Grip
88%
Wet Grip
83%
Road Feedback
84%
Progressiveness
82%
Wear
81%
Comfort
82%
Buy Again
76%

Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 Reviews (4)

69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,900 Average miles

BMW 320d SE (e46) Saloon

I have bought 2 tyres , 225 40 18 92y, to fit on the front axle in my Bmw 320d E46. I have chosen them based on reviews and many tyres test found on the internet. Previously, i used to have Conti Sport Contact 5, so i will compare Dunlop with Conti. When i started to search for tyres, I tried to find a comfortable, quiet and a low mass tyre, because it can be a 1,5 kg difference between tyres brands. So i decided to buy Dunlop Sport MAxx rt2:
- dry grip is good, the tyre is sticky when it's getting hot, but the lateral walls are way to soft. It's good for ride quality, but not for high speed corners. The tyre simply can't hold the weight of the car in a sporty drive, even with 2,7 bar pressure.
- wet grip is ok, but the problem with softness still remains, so the car gets some understeer, both in dry and wet;
- road feedback is good, but not as good as Conti SC5. Sometimes, the car understeers, but i can't feel it in the steering wheel. With Conti, i knew better what;s going on with front wheels;
- wear is good i think, i've done about 3.000 km with these tyres , with some sporty drive, and they are as new;
- comfort is good, they are quiet and comfortable to drive;
- i will not buy them again, just because of the softness of the sidewalls. These tyres can't hold the car in high speed or tight corners, not because the grip, but because the deformation of the sidewalls;
I think they suit more for city driving, or cars with less mass, like Golf, Astra, Focus.
I would buy again Conti SC5, or Michelin PS4.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Mazda 3 Series

I bought these tyres last season and made about 20 000 kilometers with them. I expected a much higher performance, on wet surface are horrible. It's difficult even to start with them. During hot and dry wether these tyres are just above averege. I'm not buying this tyer again

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-W
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Easy Going miles

Audi A6 Avant 2tdi

I think I am unlucky with them. After 10000 miles start wearing on middle to the point I have to return them to garage and used warranty from Dunlop.Never see something like this before. Tyre pressure was checked ones a week and suspension, tracking and alligment is bang on. They wear in 10000 miles to 2.5 mm . Very disappointed . Audi A6 2.0 tdi 190 s tronic

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-17-W
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf mk6 GTD

Replaced bridgestone potenza tyres with these because of the good reviews, but i must say i'm quite disappointed. the Bridgestones are far better in handling and road feedback. The side walls of the dunlop's are way too soft in my opinion. Not sporty at all. They collapse under hard cornering, even with 2.8bar pressure. The only thing i like about them is the comfort level on highway. This tyre should not be presented as sport maxx performance tyre. Touring tyre suits better. Thanks you all for reading.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
46%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,500 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz C32 AMG

As I mounted the tires to my C32 AMG unfortunatly I had to replace in 3 weeks to Michelin Pilot Sports..The wet grip is horrible to the amount of money Dunlop charge for it.
The Michelins are a little more expensive in The Netherlands but give way more grip than the other Dunlops.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
39%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 2
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 5,000 Average miles

BMW 535d M Sport

These have moderate performance, but are blighted by two significant problems:
1. They are not round, so vibrate. This can be measured and confirmed on a road force balancer. I have bought 6 so far and still have a vibrating car. Dunlop customer services useless. The car is fine with a different set of tyres fitted, that are round.
2. They are a bit bouncy. It's an odd feeling, but not the end of the world.

In short, if you have a car that is sensitive to out of round tyres like a BMW, avoid these like the plague. I think I will probably have to end up putting them all in the bin (about a grands worth) and buying a different brand.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-W
30%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 2
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Passat 170 tdi

I bought the Dunlop tyres after reading all the reviews and the different tyre tests. Anything other than warm dry roads and the grip is very disappointing. Wheel spinning in first and second gear on typical British damp or wet roads. I have no confidence in the grip of these tyres and after 10k they have hit the wear band. If you want a quiet tyre with low rolling resistance go for the Dunlops. If you want a tyre for grip and decent wear avoid these.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,500 Spirited miles

Smart roadster

Had 11 year old BF Goodrich before I switched to these ones (Smart Roadster just does not eat the tyres, they had 7mm left!). So the previous tyres were really hard as they were old. Consider this for the rest of this comment.

These felt very soft compared to the older tires, meaning less feedback from the road. Dry grip in curves is just the same as the old tires or even less so I'm a bit disappointed. Also, if the tyres need to warm to grip well.

However they are rather comfortable and quiet and work well in the rain, but I would buy some other model next time at least for the Roadster.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
0%

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 200 Spirited miles

Volkswagen 1.8 20vT Sport

Replaced my front Bridgestone tyres as they were worn out, and immediately you can feel the comfort and grip on the road. I do a lot of motorway driving on the weekend in the U.K so there is a lot of rain, but these tyres grip just as well in the wet as they do in the dry. Very happy with the purchase so far also they are extremely quiet. I've also noticed I'm getting more miles to the gallon so even more of a bonus.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 14 Spirited miles

Jaguar 2.2 diesel saloon

Fitted these to my 55 plate X Type 2.2 diesel! This car has been fitted with Bilstien top spec gas shocks and lowered on performance springs! The car itself is tuned to 186 bhp approx and is very sporty!
On stock tyres Pirelli the abs was always kicking in, only seen the light once since upgrades and drives superbly! Like on rails even in the wet! Just ordered a set for my 2.7 Twin Turbo V6 S Type! Also tuned! 😎

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-18-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.