Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2
82%[average]
Dry Grip
88%
Wet Grip
83%
Road Feedback
84%
Progressiveness
82%
Wear
81%
Comfort
82%
Buy Again
76%

Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 Reviews (3)

90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Fiat Bravo

Dunlop has made a great tyre. I spent 80 euros each and I'm so happy about my deal. There is no reason to buy a cheap tyre when you have the opportunity to buy a premium tyre for this price. On the wet is great, and in every occasion I felt the tyre work hard to give the best response. I will buy it again because I think it's the best compromise between quality and premium tyres. I'm really sorry for my English, I tried my best. Best regards to you

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Mazda 6 Estate 2.2D Soport

Mazda 6 - 2012 2.2d Sport. Fitted these to the front in late June 2017. 4000 miles later Still showing over 7mm tread. Grippy and quiet. Track very straight wet and dry. Far nicer than Bridgestone Turanza ER300 they replaced. Cornering is assured and safe.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 0 Spirited miles

Honda Civic Type R

I've had these on a 2015 typeR, so plenty of power to chew the tyres up. i also upsized from factory 235/35r19 to 255/35r19 on the rt2.
i use these in warmer weather only and swap to winter tyres for the cold months so i've seen about 2.5 years/15k miles out of these, including two trackdays.
lasted far better than the conti CSC6's that needed replacing after 9month/4.5k however comparing rt2 to csc6, the rt2's do feel a bit numb with feedback. This does have benefits from a smoother ride on rough roads, but doesnt make it quite as enjoyable when pushing on. RT2 does give you confidence in the curves and you can tell when nearing the limit. near as damn-it doesn't matter for road dry grip and wet grip is far better than csc6.
for the cost of the tyre and reviews they get, it's hard to not seriously consider this tyre for the road. I'm torn between the cheaper price of the RT2 or performance of the PS4S for my replacement set...

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 20,000 Spirited miles

Volvo V40 D4 Cross Country

A good tyre all way around. It performs well on wet and dry. It is for sure better when they are warm, as cold they ate a bit noisy and not give best grip. When warm they are definitely good and perform well at high speed. After 20 thousand miles there is still 4 mm to go, better than other premium but not as good as the Michelin once.

I would try the Michelin pilot 4 or the continental 6 for my Volvo v40 cross country 150 hp.

I would recommend to buy them Dunlop makes good tyres

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-W
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,500 Spirited miles

Ford Fiesta ST180

I bought these tyres instead of Asy 3's or PS3's (PS4's wasn't available at the time of purchase), because they was slightly cheaper at the time of purchase and I was curious to see how they performed. In the Fiesta ST180 world, the majority of people tend to go for PS3's or Rainsports as a cheaper alternative however I didn't see the point in getting rainsports when they apparently don't last very long. Back to the Sport Maxx RT2. I am quite an aggressive driver in terms of late braking when safe to do so, typical spirited drive around country side etc. I am very impressed with how they handle. After a couple of thousand miles of typical commuting and the odd country drive, I went for a driving day with some friends around the lake district. The weather was typical beginning of summer / end of spring, and was a mixture of greasy roads and sunshine throughout the day. I gave the car some beans through the country roads expecting oversteer or a bit of a wobble, however the RT2's just kept me planted. Especially when they are warm they are superb handling in the dry and are very impressive in the wet. They give you a lot of confidence going into a corner and again with the braking and sort of let you know when your pushing a bit too much in the wet and give you a chance to sort yourself out. The wear rate so far is absolutely fine, I have had a unknown tracking issue which has lead one tyre to wear a lot faster however overall they have taken a beating and have plenty of life left. I'm hoping to take them on track soon. A potential downside for some but equally a good thing for daily driving is the side walls. They seem a little soft in comparison to say the PS3's and have a similar contrast to the Ays 3's in that respect. The road noise is minimal and as expected when you go over a poorly tarmac road and are very comfortable. I would most certainly buy these tyres again, however I am tempted to try PS4's further down the line to see if they are as good as people make out. But for a lesser popular tyre, I would most definitely recommend the Sport Maxx RT2. Well done Dunlop.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-40-17-W
82%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro

Bought 4 of these Dunlops to replace the previous PZeros. The Dunlops are much quieter & smoother for sure as the pzeros were quite hard and noisy.
Dry handling is good with no issues, but don’t feel as grippy as the pzeros. They are much better than the pzeros in the wet and cold weather though with less understeer.
Feedback is good but being softer they feel a bit more squishy than the pzeros.
They took a couple hundred miles to feel really bedded in and I’ve only done a thousand miles total on them so far so can’t say about wear at the moment. My pzeros as a comparison I got 3 1/2 years out of them and 30,000 miles and they still had 2mm all round.. somehow I don’t think the Dunlops will last as long as they seem softer.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-19-W
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Volvo V70 D5 185 Geartronic

Bought these to replace some Bridgestone RE050A that white lined like a cocaine addict in order to tame a big Volvo Diesel that was suffering torque steer, camber following, white lining and were some what noisy.

All the bad stuff is gone except under excessive acceleration when a small amount of torque steer is evident, but not surprising. Haven't tested in the wet yet, as the summer is upon us in driest Essex, but the dry running is as good as the Bridgestones and off the line under hard acceleration the traction control is noticeable by it's absence which is an improvement. White lining and camber following are not noticeable.

I have previously owned the original RT, 175 45 17 on a Citroen c4, and they were very good in the rain and and very quiet at speed, these (all be it pumped to Volvo ECO setting of 40PSI) are not so quiet (tyre fitter set them to 32PSI and they were quieter) and they smelt not so pleasant for the first 750 miles, though this was only when i got out of the car.
Fuel economy is the same which ever pressure you use, i will be off on a 350 mile round trip soon to verify.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 300 Average miles

BMW 325d M Sport

Mounted these on my bmw 325d e90, the tire walls are too soft even when inflated at 3,0 bar. I have take them down and sold them as I could not live with them. I recommend buying goodyear asymmetrics instead

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 6,000 Average miles

Mazda 3 2014

More than 6000 miles driven up and down hill on country roads.
OEM tyre was Dunlop maxx TT, very happy with them. Was a bit softer than those, did 40000 kilometers.
Dont know if is the size that make the different or the fact they made in different factory. Car must have 215/45/18 but they are hart to find so we go for 225/40/18. The car is only 120hp, so wheel spin is no issue, but now is no big problem, considering that traction control is on all times. Maybe is a harder compound.
Taking in consideration that they cost a good amount of money i have to wait until they show a good amount of wear to start thinking to replace them.
Over all not a bat tire, a good i may say, maybe the size or the compound make the difference, time will show.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Subaru Impreza

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.