Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2
83%[average]
Dry Grip
88%
Wet Grip
84%
Road Feedback
85%
Progressiveness
83%
Wear
82%
Comfort
83%
Buy Again
78%

Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 Reviews (3)

90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 500 Average miles

Ford Focus 2.0 TDCI Titanium

Switched to Dunlop Sport Maxx RT 2 on a 17 inch wheels from Dunlop Sport Maxx RT on 16.
Clearly the RT2 is a better tyre, with lots of dry grip. Actually didnt push to the end still but the feeling is that the chassi of the car is no match for the grip the tyres provide (bilsteins B12 kit installed). On the wet road the grip is again excellent as were with the previuos gen. RT. Very impressed by the resistence of aquaplaning as i drove in a hell of a rain and the contact with the road was lost between sbove 95 km/h. Progressivness is good but i still have not reached the maximum of the tyre so will comment on how the tyre perform when pushed to the edge later.
As the previous gen. RT was so poor with the wear i hope that this one last longer and acctually there is hope for that as the Treadwear rating is 300. The initial depth of the tread is 7.5 mm. (tyre weights 9.1 kg.)
Comfort is good but not perfect. As for the ride comfort of corse going from 16 to 17 make a difference and you start to feel all the imperfections of the road (given the sport suspension take its toll too). The tyres are rated 69 db. and on a good road pave they are really quiet, but once they hit bad passages with rough pavement the noise becoumes pretty annoying.
On the fuel economy RT2 performance is down in omparisson wirh RT as the rolling resistance is worst but that is expected from a UHP tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 500 Average miles

Ford Focus 2.0 TDCI Titanium

Je suis passé sur Dunlop Sport Maxx RT 2 sur des roues de 17 pouces depuis des Dunlop Sport Maxx RT en 16.
Il est clair que le RT2 est un meilleur pneu, avec beaucoup d'adhérence sur sol sec. En fait, ne les ai pas poussés au max encore, mais le sentiment est que le chassis de la voiture ne peut rivaliser avec l'adhérence que les pneus fournissent (kit Bilsteins B12 installé). Sur route humide, l'adhérence est à nouveau excellente, tout comme avec la génération précédente de RT. Très impressionné par la résistance à l'aquaplaning alors que je conduisais sous une pluie d'enfer et l'adhérence avec la route a été perdu au-dessus de 95 kmh. La progressivité est bonne, mais je n'ai toujours pas atteint le maximum du pneu afin de commenter la façon dont le pneu se comporte lorsqu'il est poussé au max.
Comme la précédente génération de RT était si pauvre avec l'usure j'espère que ceux-ci durent plus longtemps et en fait il y a espoir pour que le taux d'usure soit de 300. La profondeur initiale de la bande de roulement est de 7,5 mm (poids des pneus de 9,1 kg.)
Le confort est bon, mais pas parfait. Comme pour le confort de conduite, bien sûr, passer de 16 à 17, fait une différence et vous commencez à ressentir toutes les imperfections de la route (compte tenu que la suspension sport prend sa part aussi). Les pneus sont notés 69 db et sur une bonne route pavée, ils sont vraiment silencieux, mais une fois qu'on atteint de mauvais passages avec une chaussée rugueuse le bruit devient assez ennuyeux.
Sur l'économie de carburant les performances du RT2 sont moindres en comparaison du RT comme la résistance au roulement est plus grande, mais ce qui est attendu d'un pneu UHP.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 500 Average miles

Ford Focus 2.0 TDCI Titanium

Ich bin von Dunlop Sport Maxx RT auf 16-Zoll-Rädern zu Dunlop Sport Maxx RT 2 auf 17-Zollern gewechselt.
Natürlich ist der RT2 ein besserer Reifen, mit viel mehr Trocken-Grip. Habe ihn noch nicht ans Limit gebracht, aber vom Gefühl her passt das Chassis des Autos nicht zum Grip der Reifen (Bilstein B12 montiert). Auf nasser Fahrbahn ist die Haftung wieder exzellent, wie bei den vorigen RT. Ich war aber sehr beeindruckt von der Widerstandsfähigkeit gegenüber Aquaplaning, als ich in einen Wolkenbruch hineingefahren bin bei über 95 km/h den Kontakt zur Straße verlor. Die Progressivität ist gut, aber ich habe das Maximum des Reifens noch nicht erreicht. Ich werde noch über die Performance des Reifens berichten, wenn ich ihn später mal richtig ausgefahren habe.
Da der RT der Generation davor so schlecht beim Verschleiß war, hoffe ich, dass dieser Reifen länger durchhält und es besteht auch Grund zur Hoffnung - immerhin hat der Reifen einen Treadwear-Wert von 300. Die ursprüngliche Profiltiefe ist 7,5 mm (der Reifen wiegt 9,1 kg).
Der Komfort ist gut, aber nicht perfekt. Beim Wechsel von 16 auf 17 Zoll ändert sich aber ohnehin der Fahrkomfort und man merkt alle Unebenheiten der Straße (und die Sportaufhängung verlangt auch ihren Tribut). Die Reifen werden mit 69 Dezibel angegeben und auf einem guten Straßenbelag sind sie wirklich leise. Sobald man aber schlechte Abschnitte mit rauer Oberfläche befährt, wird die Geräuschkulisse ziemlich störend.
Was den Spritverbrauch angeht, schneidet der RT2 leistungsmäßig schlechter ab als der RT, vor allem wegen des schlechteren Rollwiderstands. Aber das war bei einem UHP-Reifen nicht anders zu erwarten.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Fiat Bravo

Dunlop has made a great tyre. I spent 80 euros each and I'm so happy about my deal. There is no reason to buy a cheap tyre when you have the opportunity to buy a premium tyre for this price. On the wet is great, and in every occasion I felt the tyre work hard to give the best response. I will buy it again because I think it's the best compromise between quality and premium tyres. I'm really sorry for my English, I tried my best. Best regards to you

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Mazda 6 Estate 2.2D Soport

Mazda 6 - 2012 2.2d Sport. Fitted these to the front in late June 2017. 4000 miles later Still showing over 7mm tread. Grippy and quiet. Track very straight wet and dry. Far nicer than Bridgestone Turanza ER300 they replaced. Cornering is assured and safe.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 0 Spirited miles

Honda Civic Type R

I've had these on a 2015 typeR, so plenty of power to chew the tyres up. i also upsized from factory 235/35r19 to 255/35r19 on the rt2.
i use these in warmer weather only and swap to winter tyres for the cold months so i've seen about 2.5 years/15k miles out of these, including two trackdays.
lasted far better than the conti CSC6's that needed replacing after 9month/4.5k however comparing rt2 to csc6, the rt2's do feel a bit numb with feedback. This does have benefits from a smoother ride on rough roads, but doesnt make it quite as enjoyable when pushing on. RT2 does give you confidence in the curves and you can tell when nearing the limit. near as damn-it doesn't matter for road dry grip and wet grip is far better than csc6.
for the cost of the tyre and reviews they get, it's hard to not seriously consider this tyre for the road. I'm torn between the cheaper price of the RT2 or performance of the PS4S for my replacement set...

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 20,000 Spirited miles

Volvo V40 D4 Cross Country

A good tyre all way around. It performs well on wet and dry. It is for sure better when they are warm, as cold they ate a bit noisy and not give best grip. When warm they are definitely good and perform well at high speed. After 20 thousand miles there is still 4 mm to go, better than other premium but not as good as the Michelin once.

I would try the Michelin pilot 4 or the continental 6 for my Volvo v40 cross country 150 hp.

I would recommend to buy them Dunlop makes good tyres

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-W
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,500 Spirited miles

Ford Fiesta ST180

I bought these tyres instead of Asy 3's or PS3's (PS4's wasn't available at the time of purchase), because they was slightly cheaper at the time of purchase and I was curious to see how they performed. In the Fiesta ST180 world, the majority of people tend to go for PS3's or Rainsports as a cheaper alternative however I didn't see the point in getting rainsports when they apparently don't last very long. Back to the Sport Maxx RT2. I am quite an aggressive driver in terms of late braking when safe to do so, typical spirited drive around country side etc. I am very impressed with how they handle. After a couple of thousand miles of typical commuting and the odd country drive, I went for a driving day with some friends around the lake district. The weather was typical beginning of summer / end of spring, and was a mixture of greasy roads and sunshine throughout the day. I gave the car some beans through the country roads expecting oversteer or a bit of a wobble, however the RT2's just kept me planted. Especially when they are warm they are superb handling in the dry and are very impressive in the wet. They give you a lot of confidence going into a corner and again with the braking and sort of let you know when your pushing a bit too much in the wet and give you a chance to sort yourself out. The wear rate so far is absolutely fine, I have had a unknown tracking issue which has lead one tyre to wear a lot faster however overall they have taken a beating and have plenty of life left. I'm hoping to take them on track soon. A potential downside for some but equally a good thing for daily driving is the side walls. They seem a little soft in comparison to say the PS3's and have a similar contrast to the Ays 3's in that respect. The road noise is minimal and as expected when you go over a poorly tarmac road and are very comfortable. I would most certainly buy these tyres again, however I am tempted to try PS4's further down the line to see if they are as good as people make out. But for a lesser popular tyre, I would most definitely recommend the Sport Maxx RT2. Well done Dunlop.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-40-17-W
82%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro

Bought 4 of these Dunlops to replace the previous PZeros. The Dunlops are much quieter & smoother for sure as the pzeros were quite hard and noisy.
Dry handling is good with no issues, but don’t feel as grippy as the pzeros. They are much better than the pzeros in the wet and cold weather though with less understeer.
Feedback is good but being softer they feel a bit more squishy than the pzeros.
They took a couple hundred miles to feel really bedded in and I’ve only done a thousand miles total on them so far so can’t say about wear at the moment. My pzeros as a comparison I got 3 1/2 years out of them and 30,000 miles and they still had 2mm all round.. somehow I don’t think the Dunlops will last as long as they seem softer.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-19-W
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Volvo V70 D5 185 Geartronic

Bought these to replace some Bridgestone RE050A that white lined like a cocaine addict in order to tame a big Volvo Diesel that was suffering torque steer, camber following, white lining and were some what noisy.

All the bad stuff is gone except under excessive acceleration when a small amount of torque steer is evident, but not surprising. Haven't tested in the wet yet, as the summer is upon us in driest Essex, but the dry running is as good as the Bridgestones and off the line under hard acceleration the traction control is noticeable by it's absence which is an improvement. White lining and camber following are not noticeable.

I have previously owned the original RT, 175 45 17 on a Citroen c4, and they were very good in the rain and and very quiet at speed, these (all be it pumped to Volvo ECO setting of 40PSI) are not so quiet (tyre fitter set them to 32PSI and they were quieter) and they smelt not so pleasant for the first 750 miles, though this was only when i got out of the car.
Fuel economy is the same which ever pressure you use, i will be off on a 350 mile round trip soon to verify.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.