Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2
82%[average]
Dry Grip
88%
Wet Grip
83%
Road Feedback
84%
Progressiveness
82%
Wear
81%
Comfort
82%
Buy Again
76%

Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 Reviews (2)

93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Renault Megane RS250 CUP

J'ai remplacé mes ContiSportContact 5P avec ces derniers. Très heureux jusqu'à présent. La voiture paraît plus réactive et plus calme. Je préfère ces pneus plus que les SportContact6s uniquement à cause de l'avantage du prix, mais ils ne paraissent pas être comme un mauvais choix à ce jour. Les protections de la jante, qui n'existent pas en 5P, sont biens aussi. Je viens de peindre mes jantes avant d'installer ces derniers et ces protections m'ont déjà épargnées de gratter les jantes une paire de fois.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Renault Megane RS250 CUP

Ich habe meine ContiSportContact 5P gegen diese getauscht. Ziemlich zufrieden damit bisher. Das Auto zeigt sich etwas reaktionsfreudiger und ist leiser. Ich habe diese Reifen den SportContact6 einfach wegen des Preisvorteils vorgezogen, aber bis jetzt fühlt es sich nicht wie eine falsche Entscheidung an. Der Felgenschutz, nicht vorhanden bei den 5P, ist auch nett. Ich habe meine Felgen vor der Montage gerade noch angemalt, und der Schutz hat mich schon ein paar Mal vor Kratzern auf den Felgen bewahrt.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Audi TT

Really happy with this. Replaced Eagle f1 2s and these feel like they grip better!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,300 Spirited miles

Mazda 3 MPS

Had Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 before and i decided to buy from its subsidiary company Dunlop. I had Dunlop long ago to a previous car and what i remember most is that they were very sticky in the dry. And yes i get this feeling again! I have much better info from the steering wheel and you must go beyond the laws of physics to get the car out of the road when cornering! As for the progressiveness i like an "airy" sound they do when you corner to the limit so you know what it's going on. You get no fear from these tires as in every driving mode spirited or not all happens in smooth way! Goodyear was very quiet and very comfort. Maxx RT 2 are one class down than Goodyear.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,800 Spirited miles

Mazda 3 MPS

Avais des Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 à l'avant et ai décidé d'acheter chez sa filiale Dunlop. J'ai eu Dunlop il y a longtemps sur une voiture précédente et ce dont je me souviens le plus est qu'ils étaient très adhérents sur le sec. Et oui j'ai à nouveau ce sentiment! J'ai beaucoup plus de retour au volant et vous devez aller au-delà des lois de la physique pour sortir la voiture de la route dans les virages! Quant à la progressivité j'aime le bruit "d'air" qu'ils font quand vous êtes à la limite donc vous savez ce qu'il se passe. Vous n'avez aucune frayeur avec ces pneus puisque dans chaque épisode de conduite fougueuse ou pas tout se passe de façon lisse! Goodyear était très calme et très confortable. Les Maxx RT 2 sont une classe en dessous de Goodyear.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,300 Spirited miles

Mazda 3 MPS

Ich hatte vorher den Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 und habe mich entschieden, bei deren Tochterfirma Dunlop zu kaufen. Ich besaß vor langer Zeit schon einmal Dunlops bei einem anderen Auto und woran ich mich am besten erinnern kann, ist, dass sie besonders gute Haftung auf trockener Straße hatten. Und ja, dieses Gefühl habe ich wieder! Ich erhalte eine viel bessere Rückmeldung durch das Lenkrad und man muss schon die Gesetze der Physik außer Kraft setzen, um das Auto aus der Kurve zu tragen! Was die Progressivität angeht, mag ich ihren „Luft-“ Sound, wenn man sie in der Kurve am Limit fährt, was einem etwas Orientierung gibt. Mit diesen Reifen hat man immer alles im Griff, zumal bei ruhigem oder sportlichem Fahren alles wunderbar geschmeidig läuft! Goodyear war leise und sehr komfortabel. Die Maxx RT 2 liegen nur eine Klasse darunter.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen passat w8 4motion

Y only can say very good y happy white my choice.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 500 Average miles

Ford Focus 2.0 TDCI Titanium

Switched to Dunlop Sport Maxx RT 2 on a 17 inch wheels from Dunlop Sport Maxx RT on 16.
Clearly the RT2 is a better tyre, with lots of dry grip. Actually didnt push to the end still but the feeling is that the chassi of the car is no match for the grip the tyres provide (bilsteins B12 kit installed). On the wet road the grip is again excellent as were with the previuos gen. RT. Very impressed by the resistence of aquaplaning as i drove in a hell of a rain and the contact with the road was lost between sbove 95 km/h. Progressivness is good but i still have not reached the maximum of the tyre so will comment on how the tyre perform when pushed to the edge later.
As the previous gen. RT was so poor with the wear i hope that this one last longer and acctually there is hope for that as the Treadwear rating is 300. The initial depth of the tread is 7.5 mm. (tyre weights 9.1 kg.)
Comfort is good but not perfect. As for the ride comfort of corse going from 16 to 17 make a difference and you start to feel all the imperfections of the road (given the sport suspension take its toll too). The tyres are rated 69 db. and on a good road pave they are really quiet, but once they hit bad passages with rough pavement the noise becoumes pretty annoying.
On the fuel economy RT2 performance is down in omparisson wirh RT as the rolling resistance is worst but that is expected from a UHP tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 500 Average miles

Ford Focus 2.0 TDCI Titanium

Je suis passé sur Dunlop Sport Maxx RT 2 sur des roues de 17 pouces depuis des Dunlop Sport Maxx RT en 16.
Il est clair que le RT2 est un meilleur pneu, avec beaucoup d'adhérence sur sol sec. En fait, ne les ai pas poussés au max encore, mais le sentiment est que le chassis de la voiture ne peut rivaliser avec l'adhérence que les pneus fournissent (kit Bilsteins B12 installé). Sur route humide, l'adhérence est à nouveau excellente, tout comme avec la génération précédente de RT. Très impressionné par la résistance à l'aquaplaning alors que je conduisais sous une pluie d'enfer et l'adhérence avec la route a été perdu au-dessus de 95 kmh. La progressivité est bonne, mais je n'ai toujours pas atteint le maximum du pneu afin de commenter la façon dont le pneu se comporte lorsqu'il est poussé au max.
Comme la précédente génération de RT était si pauvre avec l'usure j'espère que ceux-ci durent plus longtemps et en fait il y a espoir pour que le taux d'usure soit de 300. La profondeur initiale de la bande de roulement est de 7,5 mm (poids des pneus de 9,1 kg.)
Le confort est bon, mais pas parfait. Comme pour le confort de conduite, bien sûr, passer de 16 à 17, fait une différence et vous commencez à ressentir toutes les imperfections de la route (compte tenu que la suspension sport prend sa part aussi). Les pneus sont notés 69 db et sur une bonne route pavée, ils sont vraiment silencieux, mais une fois qu'on atteint de mauvais passages avec une chaussée rugueuse le bruit devient assez ennuyeux.
Sur l'économie de carburant les performances du RT2 sont moindres en comparaison du RT comme la résistance au roulement est plus grande, mais ce qui est attendu d'un pneu UHP.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 500 Average miles

Ford Focus 2.0 TDCI Titanium

Ich bin von Dunlop Sport Maxx RT auf 16-Zoll-Rädern zu Dunlop Sport Maxx RT 2 auf 17-Zollern gewechselt.
Natürlich ist der RT2 ein besserer Reifen, mit viel mehr Trocken-Grip. Habe ihn noch nicht ans Limit gebracht, aber vom Gefühl her passt das Chassis des Autos nicht zum Grip der Reifen (Bilstein B12 montiert). Auf nasser Fahrbahn ist die Haftung wieder exzellent, wie bei den vorigen RT. Ich war aber sehr beeindruckt von der Widerstandsfähigkeit gegenüber Aquaplaning, als ich in einen Wolkenbruch hineingefahren bin bei über 95 km/h den Kontakt zur Straße verlor. Die Progressivität ist gut, aber ich habe das Maximum des Reifens noch nicht erreicht. Ich werde noch über die Performance des Reifens berichten, wenn ich ihn später mal richtig ausgefahren habe.
Da der RT der Generation davor so schlecht beim Verschleiß war, hoffe ich, dass dieser Reifen länger durchhält und es besteht auch Grund zur Hoffnung - immerhin hat der Reifen einen Treadwear-Wert von 300. Die ursprüngliche Profiltiefe ist 7,5 mm (der Reifen wiegt 9,1 kg).
Der Komfort ist gut, aber nicht perfekt. Beim Wechsel von 16 auf 17 Zoll ändert sich aber ohnehin der Fahrkomfort und man merkt alle Unebenheiten der Straße (und die Sportaufhängung verlangt auch ihren Tribut). Die Reifen werden mit 69 Dezibel angegeben und auf einem guten Straßenbelag sind sie wirklich leise. Sobald man aber schlechte Abschnitte mit rauer Oberfläche befährt, wird die Geräuschkulisse ziemlich störend.
Was den Spritverbrauch angeht, schneidet der RT2 leistungsmäßig schlechter ab als der RT, vor allem wegen des schlechteren Rollwiderstands. Aber das war bei einem UHP-Reifen nicht anders zu erwarten.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.