Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2
84%[average]
Dry Grip
89%
Wet Grip
85%
Road Feedback
85%
Progressiveness
83%
Wear
83%
Comfort
83%
Buy Again
77%

Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 Reviews

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Ford Focus 2.0 TDCI Titanium

After 15 000 km. it is time to share my opinion again. The wear is absolutely fabulous in comparisson with the previous gen. RT. In all other areas Dunlop Sport Maxx RT 2 scores perfect 10 too.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

BMW 320 d

Excellent grip on wet and dry weather conditions, both on the highway and ...
All recommendations for this tire. I still have not brought them to the limit, even at speeds of 170km/h

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 1,000 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen GOLF MK5 R32 3.2 V6 4MOTION

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-35-19-V
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 0 Spirited miles

Volvo V40 D4 Cross Country

Great tyres I put on my Volvo V40 cross country. Excellent gip on both wet and dry. Great control of the car in any conditions. Fantastic wear after 25K miles still 5 mm left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Toyota Caldina GT 4

Bought these tyres after toasting through a pair of Pirelli Dragons, had them on a whole year and they have worn really well compared to the Pirelli. In the wet It is possible to break grip under boost turning, but otherwise had no traction issues. Emergency stopping grip is amazing, when combined with EBC greenstuff.

They turn in better and roll better than the older tyres, requiring steering adjustment to driving over the old tyres. No noticeable increase in road noise, very confident in the tyres performance. Would absolutely recommend for any performance AWD vehicle and will purchase them again unless the RT3 is released.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-W
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10 Spirited miles

BMW 325i

I've had these tires for about 10.000 km now, and the rears are at about 6 mm and in good condition.
I drive spirited and very sporty often on backroads through italy and france and germany...
These tires feel absolutely great, alot of steering feedback and no sloppy stuff.
The tires were noticeable lighter than my worn conti cs5's! when i had them off the rim i compared both tires and the Dunlop was about 1.2kg lighter.
This reduces unsprung weight and makes evyething better.
Grip is excellent, even in wet pretty good. I got a 25% limited slip on the rear and can break out the rear to oversteer if i intend to.
Due to this the perceived level of comfort might be a bit lower for some... But i don't mind that since my car is harsh and full of polyurethane anyway.

For this price it's better than alot of other big names i tried.
The bridgestone potenza's i found mediocre, the conti's and goodyear eagle's .
I think this tire is a great combo of everything included price.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz A180 CDI W176

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Mazda Mazda3 1.6dTRS

Excellent tires.

Very durable, excellent traction.
In the dry, they are superb, in Wet, they have never failed me even though I also have some extra care.

I made about 100000kms with a set of SportMaxx RT. I hope to achieve the same goal with the Sportmaxx RT2

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Renault Megane RS250 CUP

I have changed my ContiSportContact 5Ps with these. Quite happy so far. The car feels like more responsive and quiter. I have preferred these over SportContact6s purely because of the price advantage but it doesnt feel like a wrong choice so far. The rim protectors, which dont exist on 5Ps, are also nice. I have just painted my rims before installing these and these protectors have already save me from scratching the rims couple of times.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,300 Spirited miles

Mazda 3 MPS

Supplementary to the previous review: When i wrote that SportMaxx RT2 are one class down than Goodyear Asymmetric 2, i meant about comfort and noise and not in general. Also i forgot to say that these tires need more air because they are soft. I put 2.6 bar in front and 2.3 bar in rear.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.