Continental Cross Contact UHP

The Continental Cross Contact UHP is a Summer Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a SUV and 4x4.

Continental Cross Contact UHP
72%[average]
Dry Grip
86%
Wet Grip
79%
Road Feedback
75%
Progressiveness
73%
Wear
55%
Comfort
73%
Buy Again
65%

Continental Cross Contact UHP Reviews

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 16 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz ML350

I put these on my ML350 over a year ago and have done 16K and these tyres have hardly worn, are very quiet and inspire confidence! The best tyres I've ever had by far!!!

Tyre size reviewed: 275-55-17-
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz ML

I have used these tyres on my ML 320 for the past two years - I have managed to get about 25k out of them during this time. Having also used Pirelli’s, the UHP’s are by far a better wearing tyre. At around £160 per tyre, cost and wear is obviously a primary concern.The driving has been mostly around towns is Wales, so quite hilly, but we’ve done some seriously long haul runs too. I can’t praise these tyres enough.

As far as performance is concerned, I have no quibbles, wet , dry,snow, they perform very well.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 31 Average miles

Land Rover Range Rover Vogue Westminster

These tyres were original equipment on my Range Rover Westminster. They have done 31,000 miles, mostly on country roads at no more than 70 mph, so far and I am advised that there is sufficient tread for another 2 or 3,000 miles on the rear tyres, more on the front. Contrary to the comments above, I found that mileage disappointing as I got more than 50,000 miles on Goodyear Wranglers on my last Range Rover. For slick-looking tyres, the Continentals coped surprisingly well in muck when I went across fields and plough during the shooting season; and also the snow and ice in the English 2010/11 winter

Tyre size reviewed: 255-50-20-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz ML

Got these at the front of my Mercedes ML. Seems pretty good and very quiet but it might be more to do with the car than the tyres. Compared to what I'm used to before when I used to change tyres every 10k with my previous E Class. If these will last 15K, I would be absolutely delighted.

Aquaplaning seems its best point.

So far so good. No complaints.

Tyre size reviewed: 250-50-19-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 21,000 Spirited miles

Volvo XC90 D5 185 HP

I have had Continental tyres before and they were great but seemed to wear a little too quickly (maybe 16000 miles on the front of a 2.0TDi Audi A6) but these are the first I've had on an SUV (XC90 2.4TDi) and they have done very well - 21000 miles on the front and I still have 4-5mm of tread on the back pair. Very impressed with the quality from all perspectives :-)

Tyre size reviewed: 235-65-17-V
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40 Average miles

Volkswagen Tiguan Sport 2.0 TDI 140hp

Very happy all round tyres, that do all conditions very well. Over 40k miles from a complete set of 4, which were rotated to balance the wear. Originally had a set of Goodyear performance tyres beforehand, which were excellent in the dry, very good in the wet, but dangerous in mud, snow and on grass - due to their diagonal treads. So, now about to buy another set of the Conti Cross Contacts UHPs.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-50-18-V
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Land Rover Discovery 2


I live in France. I run a late Landrover Discovery 2 TD5 amongst other vehicles. I have been using Continental Cross Contact UHP 255 50 R19 tyres for some years. I must admit that these tyres have proved excellent in most if not all weathers. I believe they are summer tyres but on the French west coast we rarely see any ice or snow. Prior to these I ran Goodyear F1 tyres of the same size and they were also excellent and eve better the the Continental tyres in the wet. I have to admit at this point I used to race cars so I know where the limits are and the differences between understeer and oversteer and how to cope with them.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-50-19-W
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 70,000 Average miles

Volvo XC90 D5 (163bhp)

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 63,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Amarok permanent 4x4

63000 miles on my Amarok before they needed changing

motorway and A roads

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-19-H
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Mercedes Benz MB GLK 220 CDI 4 matic

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 235-50-19-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.